Tarik cable for unifi port, Port at jalan full so can take others?

TSAladin1
post Jun 26 2017, 08:04 AM, updated 9y ago

Hi guys, my port at my road is already full and have request for a unifi port a long time a go. But like always lah. Need wait and wait and wait.

So like the title said, is it possible to tarik cable from other dp or pole from other nearby road? Because there is 1 dp that is unoccupied at that road.

If possible, does additional fees are added for the standard unifi installation?

If possible also, how to make this happen? By unifi agent or unifi installer or what?
westlife
post Jun 26 2017, 08:31 AM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(Aladin1 @ Jun 26 2017, 08:04 AM)
Hi guys, my port at my road is already full and have request for a unifi port a long time a go. But like always lah. Need wait and wait and wait.

So like the title said, is it possible to tarik cable from other dp or pole from other nearby road? Because there is 1 dp that is unoccupied at that road.

If possible, does additional fees are added for the standard unifi installation?

If possible also, how to make this happen? By unifi agent or unifi installer or what?
No. They dun do that. Once full. No more new subscription to unifi until they add ports. Each pole or each green box serves certain cluster of houses within the same street. Even there are free ports at the same street from other pole or other green box, they dun pull cable from other pole or box that does not belong to yr house cluster to install for u.

last time I installed my parent house time left two ports. After installed few months now, check address again no more port, even my parent house Neighbour unit also no port, because they shared the same pole.

Alternatively, actually what u can do is to subscribe to maxis. Unifi no port, does not mean maxis no too.
Because somehow they seems to have reserved port for maxis.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 26 2017, 08:54 AM
@POTUS
post Jun 26 2017, 10:52 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Aladin1 @ Jun 26 2017, 08:04 AM)

U can try to appeal, my friend's lorong don have unifi. But he requested to pull from other lorong which is 5 pole away. After 4 months, installer come to his house to install.
nexona88
post Jun 26 2017, 03:07 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,585 posts

Well I think can do some "adjustment"
U Needs to "slow talk" them...
It's case on case basis..
TSAladin1
post Jun 28 2017, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 26 2017, 08:31 AM)
No. They dun do that. Once full. No more new subscription to unifi until they add ports. Each pole or each green box serves certain cluster of houses within the same street. Even there are free ports at the same street from other pole or other green box, they dun pull cable from other pole or box that does not belong to yr house cluster to install for u.

last time I installed my parent house time left two ports. After installed few months now, check address again no more port, even my parent house Neighbour unit also no port, because they shared the same pole.

Alternatively, actually what u can do is to subscribe to maxis. Unifi no port, does not mean maxis no too.
I thought so too, but the thing is that I have already applied for maxis before. They called me and the same answer was given to me. Still full port cry.gif

QUOTE(@POTUS @ Jun 26 2017, 10:52 AM)
U can try to appeal, my friend's lorong don have unifi. But he requested to pull from other lorong which is 5 pole away. After 4 months, installer come to his house to install.
Mine is about 4 poles away. 4 months? That is quite a long time to get TM for approval. Where did he appeal from. TMpoint or agent? I need to know notworthy.gif

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 26 2017, 03:07 PM)
Well I think can do some "adjustment"
U Needs to "slow talk" them...
It's case on case basis..
What kind of adjustment? Who should i confront or slow talk? any contacts?

In a few days back, I already went to TMpoint near my house. Before this I've applied for a unifi port from the worker there. Then after reading from someone here in LYN which said that his house can use this 'Tarik cable' method for unifi (cant remember which post). I ask the worker to check other roads near my road for unifi ports. Luckily there is 1 port just beside my road and i ask him if he can 'tarik cable'. He said 'Sorry, no can do', because he don't want to risk his name la, TM will find him la, blah3.....'

So, I cant do it through him but anyone here can? Any agents here in LYN that can be recommended to make this 'tarik cable' happen or any agents here willing to do it? Btw I live in Selangor

This post has been edited by Aladin1: Jun 28 2017, 03:07 PM
zhihao4456
post Jun 29 2017, 03:31 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 26 2017, 08:31 AM)

Not really~ When the installer came saw the pole behind my house no more port so went to check the next pole on the same street got 1 more, they just tarik only and I did not pay any additional charges~ Distance was about 10 meter away...
westlife
post Jun 29 2017, 03:51 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(zhihao4456 @ Jun 29 2017, 03:31 PM)
Not really~ When the installer came saw the pole behind my house no more port so went to check the next pole on the same street got 1 more, they just tarik only and I did not pay any additional charges~ Distance was about 10 meter away...
this is totally different case, when u can register in the first place and an appointment can be made for u. it means in the first place, their side had claimed that ur side has port. that's why u can even register.
when they come to install time and realize no port, then it is their matter that they have to fix it because this is the error at their side. that's why they probably bother to 'fix' this by going against the 'normal' practice.

for those who have no port, when they register online time or go to tm point register time, they are informed that there are no port for their house. if there is not even a registration can be done in the first place, no matter physically there got port or not, or they can pull from somewhere or not, it does not matter in the first place.

typically, each pole or each green box (both refers to distribution points), from what the installer or tm 100 or tm point staff told me, one such pole or green box can support 8 units of houses. so depending on the density of the area. for typical terrace house, the ports may not be even enough for all units, if u count the pole/green box per street vs the units of houses per street can tell. it means in the first place, tm always under supply the available ports according to the house units, that's why there are ppl house area got unifi but cannot subscribe. when u register that time, the system checks against the pole available port against ur house unit to see if it is available in the first place.
obviously, their records in the system may not match the records at the physical site, thus, it is possible to have discrepancy in the end.

unless ur area is cluster house/semi-d/bungalow area, due to the lesser no of units per cluster, maybe less competition. for typical terrace house, the available ports vs the no of units are always unbalanced.

if u test the address on the system u can tell, same street address but different unit no, even few digits difference, u will see that the case, one got coverage one got no coverage also.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 29 2017, 03:52 PM
abubin
post Jun 29 2017, 05:08 PM

10,429 posts

try get other neighbors to apply also. Once they have enough applications they will add the port. This I think is fastest cause got more business means things will speed up
westlife
post Jun 29 2017, 06:05 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 29 2017, 05:08 PM)
try get other neighbors to apply also. Once they have enough applications they will add the port. This I think is fastest cause got more business means things will speed up
Not easy also, they need Super High percentage of subscribers before they will do the infra.
abubin
post Jun 29 2017, 06:23 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 29 2017, 06:05 PM)
Not easy also, they need Super High percentage of subscribers before they will do the infra.
not that hard if the area still have lots of demand. You try to get as many people as you can. But you cannot cover the whole area. You never know..maybe that area already have 50% people waiting. With your work of adding like 3 more...it's enough for them to go ahead with the project. If not mistaken, they need only certain percentage of requests. No need 100%.
westlife
post Jun 29 2017, 07:03 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 29 2017, 06:23 PM)
not that hard if the area still have lots of demand. You try to get as many people as you can. But you cannot cover the whole area. You never know..maybe that area already have 50% people waiting. With your work of adding like 3 more...it's enough for them to go ahead with the project. If not mistaken, they need only certain percentage of requests. No need 100%.
Not easy.

The demand to allow them to install the infra, is not such Low as 50%. It is as high as more than 80%.

You may think that demand is high, u will be surprised to know that it is not the case.
It is extremely hard to even persuade such amount of residents to even agree on something.
crusher
post Jan 20 2018, 11:37 AM

1,345 posts

Hi guys, for my case. Its a new area where behind my house there is this green box installed, however called up TM saying there is no coverage or planned project to open up the ports.

Gathered my area of neighbors, many of them still waiting. A dealer in that area actually informed us it will be available but this month while tm saying otherwise which is on april.

Sigh, anyone have this experience in new area before? Is it true must above 80% of the resident applied or occupied only start?
darachan
post Jan 12 2024, 07:30 PM

87 posts

May I know which website is the most reliable port checker currently? Is it accurate?

0.0224sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:40 PM