1,116 posts

Gonna put a cover on anyways
ftan
post Jun 25 2017, 11:35 AM

2,473 posts

1. Space grey.
2. Prefer dark colors. Prefer not to see the bazel area if can.
avrilmae
post Jun 26 2017, 10:57 AM

1,039 posts

1. Silver
2. I like the white faceplate.
Baconateer
post Jun 26 2017, 10:59 AM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

Im surprised Apple still yet to introduce matte black for iPad..
TSwestlife
post Jun 26 2017, 11:11 AM

12,298 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jun 26 2017, 10:59 AM)
They will leave it to next ipad refresh, because next refresh they will unlikely to redesign but likely just speed bump or thinner or lighter. So they can easily add on new Color to attract new buyers. Same like car facelift.

Same for the Budget 2017 9.7 inch ipad they can just add in rose gold option next year.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 26 2017, 11:17 AM
attw
post Jun 26 2017, 11:13 AM

32,264 posts

I used to prefer having white as a de facto color for all my iDevices, but since Apple introduced Black and Jet Black with the iPhone 7, I have now moved towards black. That said, my iPad Air 2 is still gold, heh heh...
attw
post Jun 26 2017, 11:14 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jun 26 2017, 10:59 AM)
Actually there's been quite a lot of complaints about paint chipped off for the matte black on iPhones... dunno if Apple is quietly addressing this issue or not...
Baconateer
post Jun 26 2017, 11:17 AM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jun 26 2017, 11:14 AM)
Actually there's been quite a lot of complaints about paint chipped off for the matte black on iPhones... dunno if Apple is quietly addressing this issue or not...
my gf matte black 7 plus still going well..

probably bcs she keep it in a case all the time..
sou12b810
post Jun 26 2017, 11:19 AM

147 posts

pu$$y pink

attw
post Jun 26 2017, 11:20 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jun 26 2017, 11:17 AM)
my gf matte black 7 plus still going well..

probably bcs she keep it in a case all the time..
Ya, my matte black 7 Plus is also still in good condition, but there's been quite a number reported especially near the grilles and charging port.
TSwestlife
post Jun 26 2017, 11:21 AM

12,298 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jun 26 2017, 11:13 AM)
I used to prefer having white as a de facto color for all my iDevices, but since Apple introduced Black and Jet Black with the iPhone 7, I have now moved towards black. That said, my iPad Air 2 is still gold, heh heh...
Previously I was buying all the white faceplate ipad or iphone. Now starting to move to black one.

But somehow I find that black front looks a bit more 'dirty' while white one gives a 'clean' look.
attw
post Jun 26 2017, 11:23 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 26 2017, 11:21 AM)
Previously I was buying all the white faceplate ipad or iphone. Now starting to move to black one.

But somehow I find that black front looks a bit more 'dirty' while white one gives a 'clean' look.
Ya same. Also black more prone to fingerprint smudges...
TSwestlife
post Jun 26 2017, 11:26 AM

12,298 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jun 26 2017, 11:23 AM)
Ya same. Also black more prone to fingerprint smudges...
Yes, the fingerprints really make the screen looks more dirty.
avrilmae
post Jun 26 2017, 01:24 PM

1,039 posts

Yeah...a black faceplate is prone to showcase smudges and fingerprints which indeed does make d screen look dirtier which I'm experiencing with my gen 3 iPad, hence now my preference is the white bezel.
TSwestlife
post Jun 26 2017, 01:37 PM

12,298 posts

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Jun 26 2017, 01:24 PM)
Yeah...a black faceplate is prone to showcase smudges and fingerprints which indeed does make d screen look dirtier which I'm experiencing with my gen 3 iPad, hence now my preference is the white bezel.
yes, happened on my space grey iphone se also.

Also the ipad 9-inch 2017 space grey.
avrilmae
post Jun 26 2017, 03:19 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 26 2017, 01:37 PM)
yes, happened on my space grey iphone se also.

Also the ipad 9-inch 2017 space grey.
My 2017 ipad, the screen looks 'cleaner' compared to my gen 3 one biggrin.gif
The only 'eyesore' for me is the air bubbles (or pockets?) at the 4 corners. I think the guy at d store didn't clean the screen properly before applying the sp. I have taken off my cover and pushed out the air but only a small air bubble at one corner remained. After putting back the cover, the bubbles came back. dry.gif

Have u got a cover and sp for yours yet?

This post has been edited by avrilmae: Jun 26 2017, 03:36 PM
TSwestlife
post Jun 26 2017, 06:57 PM

12,298 posts

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Jun 26 2017, 03:19 PM)
My 2017 ipad, the screen looks 'cleaner' compared to my gen 3 one  biggrin.gif
The only 'eyesore' for me is the air bubbles (or pockets?) at the 4 corners.  I think the guy at d store didn't clean the screen properly before applying the sp.  I have taken off my cover and pushed out the air but only a small air bubble at one corner remained.  After putting back the cover, the bubbles came back.  dry.gif

Yes, I had installed the powesupport sp screen protector clear one on it before passing to my parents. The result is gold. No bubbles at all. The lady at the store had done a decent job.

Not easy to find a decent brand like power support, Moshi in bolehland Apple shop.
So far, I only can accept these two brands.

Find very long time only can find the power support one at machines. They have both clear and anti glare matte one. Of course I choose clear one, as installing any anti-glare screen protector is a waste of the Retina display.
So far so good for the power support one, it does not degrade the display but in fact even better beautify it.
Price wise actually the PS brand is not more expensive than those unknown brand selling at machines.

Yesterday went lion city shopping time, saw there is Moshi ivisor screen protector selling at one of the Apple shop. Kind of regretted, should have bought the Moshi one since I like Moshi more. Price is same as PS some more. But it has anti-glare effect though, dun know will degrade the Retina display or not.
TSwestlife
post Jun 26 2017, 06:57 PM

12,298 posts

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Jun 26 2017, 03:19 PM)
My 2017 ipad, the screen looks 'cleaner' compared to my gen 3 one  biggrin.gif
The only 'eyesore' for me is the air bubbles (or pockets?) at the 4 corners.  I think the guy at d store didn't clean the screen properly before applying the sp.  I have taken off my cover and pushed out the air but only a small air bubble at one corner remained.  After putting back the cover, the bubbles came back.  dry.gif

Anyway, after applying PS SP, the fingerprints and smudges do significantly reduced a lot.
Wanted to get tempered glass one, but totally no my favourite brand can be found, if buy from overseas will be god damn expensive. Also worry if added the tempered glass, dun know will the air GAP gets more obvious or not since the screen is not laminated. But after all, I bought the cheapest ipad wifi 32gb version is meant for my parents use, also a bit reluctant to buy so much accessories as it adds up the total cost spent.

Wanted to get a case one, but cannot find my Favourite Brands, but if can find also will be very expensive. ipad 2017 accessories are really too little. So in the end, I asked the lady to use the plastic of the SP to cover the back Apple logo. As it is the only part that is prone for scratches very easily. So far so good, a bit awkward but it really protects it. tongue.gif

Overall, the ipad 2017 is really heavy to hold on the hand. And one gets tired easily after Long hour of use. For me I am all time iPad mini user, I really cannot tahan the weight. But for my parents, as they are first time Apple product users, they quite like it. Someone their mobile phones are lousy and small in screen, and they do not use computers at home. This ipad can really allow them to do a lot more things. As they have unifi 30Mbps at home now. But they mostly just use WhatsApp and only casting YouTube video to the Sony smart TV at home. Kind of waste for the bandwidth. So I bought them the ipad to better use of the unifi (although they are the one paying the unifi monthly)

0.0392sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:20 AM