General Vista Discussion - V2, Welcome to the vista-tiam

dualshock
post Mar 31 2007, 01:36 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(leepast @ Mar 29 2007, 04:16 PM)
Just wanna ask one question at the moment:

1)How to share folder in a workgroup?I found it kinda hard to set.I can view shared folder in WinXP pc.But from WinXP,I can't view shared folder in Vista  cry.gif

icon_question.gif
if u want to share a folder in vista, try the following steps. (before that, you MUST be able to see your vista pc from your winxp pc eg. both of them must be in the same workgroup)

1. go to control panel > network and sharing center
2. make sure file sharing is turn on and password protected sharing is off
3. right click on the folder that you wanted to share
4. click on share
5. on the drop down menu, choose Everyone (if you don't have that, create one), then Add
6. then click share
7. right click on the same folder, click properties
8. go to the tab Sharing
9. click Advanced Sharing
10. tick on Share this folder
11. click on Permissions
12. you should be able to see Everyone in the group and usernames box
13. tick full control for that group
14. then apply

it should work...post any problems you may find...
dualshock
post Apr 1 2007, 01:38 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

try using the 51.3 driver found here. this will be your best bet.

Can Daemon Tools run on it? I've got tons of programs on iso...

i'm using daemon 4.08HE now...no prob...

This post has been edited by dualshock: Apr 1 2007, 01:39 AM
dualshock
post Apr 1 2007, 03:20 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Apr 1 2007, 02:44 PM)
ur audio codec is which model? realtek got many kind of it... but only the recent 7.1 HD codec will have vista support by default
his are not realtek...his are cmedia...so far no vista driver yet...
dualshock
post Apr 1 2007, 09:42 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(Are_keem @ Apr 1 2007, 04:29 PM)
u are lucky liao..
mine said 'no audio devices installed'..
haizz..

-adios-
u should try to do like wat linkinstreet did...the page that i gave u contains an old xp driver for your on board audio...try and install that...
dualshock
post Apr 2 2007, 01:51 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Apr 2 2007, 12:33 PM)
I'm want to trying Vista but anybody can recommend for me what Vista suitable for my rig especially notebook Aspire 5020. sweat.gif
by looking at your siggy, your amount of ram may not be sufficient to run vista smoothly. as for vista version, it's pretty much up to your requirements and needs. if you want the aero interface you can opt for any vista version except the home basic PROVIDED your graphic card can support it...

This post has been edited by dualshock: Apr 2 2007, 01:52 PM
dualshock
post Apr 4 2007, 06:05 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Apr 4 2007, 01:46 PM)
thanks, but what i meant was to view the files and folders shared among a wireless lan group. not share among the same com. last time in xp i can view those folders in "My Network Places" but now in vista i duno where to view them. in "Network" also dont have.
QUOTE(williamwong @ Apr 4 2007, 02:50 PM)
oh uhh..so this doenst apply? hmm..who else who have wifi at home with a few coms of xp + vista and no prob viewing files among them?
i know what u meant...sharing files between 2 or more comps...i know...

i'm sharing my files between my comp and another winxp comp also...through wifi

those are the steps i follow and no problem so far...

and you will be able to view each other's shared files via the comp name shown in either my network place in xp and network in vista

you wouldn't need to locate the address of the other comp if all the settings between comp are correct.

This post has been edited by dualshock: Apr 4 2007, 06:07 PM
dualshock
post Apr 16 2007, 01:08 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Apr 16 2007, 01:02 PM)
so do we just download and install to use with the windows media player version included in Vista?
yups...media player will automatically detect the required codec and load it as necessary...
dualshock
post Jun 9 2007, 04:35 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

Technodude94,

right click on the WMP, click View, Enhancement, Show Enhancement

all the crossfading and equalizer stuff are there...

hope that helps...can't give u the screenshot...lazy to take...

This post has been edited by dualshock: Jun 9 2007, 04:42 PM
dualshock
post Jun 13 2007, 09:52 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(oldfox @ Jun 13 2007, 04:58 AM)
hhmmm....anyone using flashget at window vista???
how the speed??? bcs the speed seem a bit slow...dunno can do some setting make it faster ma tongue.gif
flashget works fine with vista...the speed i think it's because of TMNUT...not because of vista...
dualshock
post Jun 13 2007, 01:21 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

great news for all vista users using Audigy 2 or Live! soundcard...

previously, there is no EAX support for both cards...now there is a solution available...

downloads and discussion are in this thread...

direct download are available here

i've yet to try it but will definitely give it a go tonight...

This post has been edited by dualshock: Jun 13 2007, 01:24 PM
dualshock
post Jun 14 2007, 09:22 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

i've tested the workaround for the ALchemy and i must say it worked great...

EAX is back on WC3 and CS:S...

mp3 sounds better too now...
dualshock
post Jun 16 2007, 09:33 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

dualshock
post Jun 22 2007, 10:30 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Jun 21 2007, 05:47 PM)
I just changed my harddisk, coz my harddisk was spoilt, i cloned back everything into the new harddisk, now windows requires another activation, when i click on activate online, it says that this key has been activated already, what can i do? using vista business.
called up microsoft on their hotline...tell them what you have done...they should be able to help u reactivate...

0.0171sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:55 AM