General Vista Discussion - V2, Welcome to the vista-tiam

RokXIII
post Apr 18 2007, 01:01 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(Oly @ Apr 18 2007, 11:56 AM)
any good aftermarket software?..give example la...
Firewall I'm using PC Tools firewall, but seems like not so good to be used, still waiting for Zone Alarm. laugh.gif

Disk Defrag - I'm using Diskeeper 2007 professional. Easy to be used, more features than the build-in 1, at least it show us how many percentages is already defragment during the process. Included Automatic defragmentation and Boot-time Defragmentation.

Spyware Scanner - Using Spybot Search & Destroy, not bad. But I believe thr still got others good spyware scanner but just incompatible in Vista like AVG Anti-Spyware and Ad-Adware....
Oly
post Apr 18 2007, 01:03 PM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Apr 18 2007, 01:01 PM)
Firewall I'm using PC Tools firewall, but seems like not so good to be used, still waiting for Zone Alarm. laugh.gif

Disk Defrag - I'm using Diskeeper 2007 professional. Easy to be used, more features than the build-in 1, at least it show us how many percentages is already defragment during the process. Included Automatic defragmentation and Boot-time Defragmentation.

Spyware Scanner - Using Spybot Search & Destroy, not bad. But I believe thr still got others good spyware scanner but just incompatible in Vista like AVG Anti-Spyware and Ad-Adware....
thanks for ur info bro... rclxms.gif
shumaky
post Apr 18 2007, 02:02 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Apr 18 2007, 11:49 AM)
When doing windows update, it gives me this error code. 80070020. Im on a Dell machine.
What gives..?
Lol.. Im quoting myself. Anyhow, found the culprit.. its BitDefender 10. Just disable the real time scanning.. n do the update.. walla.
Hope this helps.
Cheers
deric88
post Apr 18 2007, 04:19 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

wrong place to post sry

This post has been edited by deric88: Apr 18 2007, 04:33 PM
hihihehe
post Apr 18 2007, 09:42 PM

13,781 posts

i heard tht when we install genuine vista but install "ahem" software/games,vista will block it every 1 hour.every 1 hour will b pop up "VISTA"(or something like tht)u need to reinstall back the vista only can solve the problem.is it true???
intune
post Apr 18 2007, 10:26 PM

LOWYAT 1ST MALAYSIA 2nD
879 posts

Im a video editor and currently using XP for my main OS. Is there a benefit for using vista for video editing as for now..?

RokXIII
post Apr 18 2007, 11:52 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 18 2007, 09:42 PM)
i heard tht when we install genuine vista but install "ahem" software/games,vista will block it every 1 hour.every 1 hour will b pop up "VISTA"(or something like tht)u need to reinstall back the vista only can solve the problem.is it true???
No such thing! smile.gif
Mine is Ori Vista, but all the softwares are "ahem" 1, so far, doesn't encounter the problem u mentioned above. Don't worry la, I dun think M$ will able to detect whether the software u using in ur computer is original or not, unless is those M$ Office la..... laugh.gif
deric88
post Apr 19 2007, 01:41 AM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Apr 18 2007, 11:52 PM)
No such thing! smile.gif
Mine is Ori Vista, but all the softwares are "ahem" 1, so far, doesn't encounter the problem u mentioned above. Don't worry la, I dun think M$ will able to detect whether the software u using in ur computer is original or not, unless is those M$ Office la..... laugh.gif
yea MS won't give a damn if u using ahem stuff from other companies, they're even happier when u use ahem quicktime pro lol
J-Slade
post Apr 19 2007, 01:44 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

WHats the best firewall for Windows Vista available in the market? (besides the windows firewall of course laugh.gif )
wewa25
post Apr 19 2007, 02:14 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 18 2007, 09:42 PM)
rumours.
hihihehe
post Apr 19 2007, 02:20 AM

13,781 posts

thts wat i heard from 1 of the microsoft malaysia ambassador... n i also hope this is not true...
Connexiionz
post Apr 19 2007, 04:23 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(kotak @ Mar 29 2007, 10:42 PM)
is there anybody in here running vista in their turion64 lappie??i notice the processor driver for vista isnt here yet and the battery draining very fast...1hour++ only...previously in xp got a driver to decreze the proc speed...but cannot find the driver for vista...could anybody help?
Kotak,

Is it a dell or HP? If HP, then call HP Support. They have the program u need. My wife's lappie is turion64 and she had to get it from HP after I, the gatai one, went install Vista Business on her machine ... hehehe

Added on April 19, 2007, 4:26 am
QUOTE(WingKalimdor @ Mar 31 2007, 06:31 PM)
Something weird happening today, when I install my Windows Vista at my second pc , and I try activate the key that I already use in other pc and it works.
I thought only can register for once per key. smile.gif
Thatz because the MS servers didn't find ur product key combo there meaning ur other PC was off the network ....

Added on April 19, 2007, 4:30 am
QUOTE(Are_keem @ Apr 1 2007, 01:35 PM)
thx 4 da link mate..
but it seems did not build for vista..
sigh..
vista wont work for me..

-adios-
The trick is to update the device driver with XP driver from device manager itself. Thats how I got my Soundmax Drivers to work under Vista ...

This post has been edited by Connexiionz: Apr 19 2007, 04:30 AM
adriankhoo153
post Apr 19 2007, 10:34 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

XP always ask for validation once a while. I as a genuine xp user felt that it's like u go to a hypermarket, buy a groccessies and at the exit door, a guard will check your resit. It nv stop there. It's like after checking the receipt, the guard will go to ur house monthly to check wheather u have any stolen thing in ur house.
Hope that Vista need only one time validation.
cwd8769
post Apr 19 2007, 12:00 PM

Scott
927 posts

i use vista ultimate currently, but i have no internet access at home. therefore i can't update directly my window extra to ultilize the "DreamScene" function. somebody can let me know where can download this s/w? thanks....
wewa25
post Apr 19 2007, 12:57 PM

134 posts

huh..if u got no access..then 2 bad lo..jz bring ur cpu 2 frenz house la..

it is a machine specific download...

not available as a stand alone installation file..

Added on April 19, 2007, 1:00 pmbtw, for laptop users..just select power saving mode in the power options..it will 100% guarantee to extend battery life..built in speed and battery control management api..

n if u type winsat aurora..THATS one helluva kickass aurora..too bad default aurora screensaver sux!!

This post has been edited by wewa25: Apr 19 2007, 01:02 PM
psikotikz
post Apr 19 2007, 02:58 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(intune @ Apr 18 2007, 10:26 PM)
Im a video editor and currently using XP for my main OS. Is there a benefit for using vista for video editing as for now..?
only if there's a vista version of the editing software available. i'm using pinnacle studio and avid liquid both are beta for vista right now and right now I don't see a difference yet. maybe later versions....
linkinstreet
post Apr 19 2007, 03:20 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 19 2007, 02:20 AM)
thts wat i heard from 1 of the microsoft malaysia ambassador... n i also hope this is not true...
*sarcasm*yeah, it's true. it will also delete all of your pirated MP3's and reformat all of your HDD if it detects you are using Bittorent*/sarcasm*
J-Slade
post Apr 19 2007, 03:31 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Errr... okay my question again

WHats the best firewall for Windows Vista available in the market?

ANyone?
linkinstreet
post Apr 19 2007, 03:45 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Norton 360 maybe?
RokXIII
post Apr 19 2007, 05:09 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Apr 19 2007, 03:31 PM)