Hardware Installed 4GB (Only 2GB Usable)

TSchicaman
post Jun 22 2017, 10:55 PM, updated 7y ago

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,651 posts

Any Sifu?

CPU-Z shows dual channel 4GB but the memory only 2GB usable even in BIOS also show 2GB.

This post has been edited by chicaman: Jun 25 2017, 11:02 AM
bobowyc
post Jun 22 2017, 11:08 PM

You are who you are.
1,888 posts

Check in CPU-Z under the SPD tab. There will show more details. Most probably because you are running 64bit windows..? lol. But even then it will show about 3.8/3.6GB RAM.. lol

Could be your ram faulty.

This post has been edited by bobowyc: Jun 22 2017, 11:08 PM
WebWalker
post Jun 22 2017, 11:31 PM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

Newly install RAM?

Provide us the RAM specs and your motherboard brand/model.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 22 2017, 11:36 PM

PeACe~~
21,509 posts

show the SPD tab.
might be the ram not compatible so only run 1 ?
netmatrix
post Jun 23 2017, 01:12 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,491 posts

It might be correct. If you used integrated graphics like Intel HD, you can assign fixed memory for graphics up to 2GB in BIOS. Try Load Setup Defaults in BIOS to reset the graphics memory.

The other way to tell is go to display Properties and look at the graphics memory. See how much is assigned to dedicated memory. That is where your memory went.
TSchicaman
post Jun 23 2017, 01:24 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,651 posts

I tried swapping the RAMs and MOBO got red LED light and cannot boot when the suspected Faulty RAM is on the first slot.

netmatrix
post Jun 23 2017, 01:30 PM

6,491 posts

So your ram is 2GB + 2GB or 4GB +2GB? Do remember that this processor generation motherboard is very very picky to get correct ram.
TSchicaman
post Jun 23 2017, 01:31 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,651 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 23 2017, 01:30 PM)
So your ram is 2GB + 2GB or 4GB +2GB? Do remember that this processor generation motherboard is very very picky to get correct ram.
2GB + 2GB

Bro, can eleborate picky?

I called up Kingston just now via Toll Free and they told me ssame thing.

If I want to get replacement, should I just look for DDR3 1333 10600?
netmatrix
post Jun 23 2017, 01:36 PM

6,491 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jun 23 2017, 01:31 PM)
2GB + 2GB

Bro, can eleborate picky?

I called up Kingston just now via Toll Free and they told me ssame thing.

If I want to get replacement, should I just look for DDR3 1333 10600?
I show you my CPUZ spec and my ram card spec. My Pc spec is intel core i3 530 and Intel H55 Desktop board. I have 4 of these 2GB in my setup. All the ram i bought used. 2 from a member here. And 2 more from lowyat second hand shop. All the rams card are DUAL SIDE memory chip. Worked for more than 3 years without problems. My board will not take 10600 or PC1600 ram or PC1333 single side memory chip. I tested new gen 4GB and 8GB also. Does not work.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Jun 23 2017, 01:42 PM
TSchicaman
post Jun 23 2017, 02:00 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,651 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 23 2017, 01:36 PM)
I show you my CPUZ spec and my ram card spec. My Pc spec is intel core i3 530 and Intel H55 Desktop board. I have 4 of these 2GB in my setup. All the ram i bought used. 2 from a member here. And 2 more from lowyat second hand shop. All the rams card are DUAL SIDE memory chip. Worked for more than 3 years without problems. My board will not take 10600 or PC1600 ram or PC1333 single side memory chip. I tested new gen 4GB and 8GB also. Does not work.

My existing is KVR1333D3N9/2G and is dual side memory chip also

I see another brand non kingston is D3N9 also, so basically need to find RAM with this model D3N9?
casseylim001
post Jun 23 2017, 02:04 PM

35 posts

Better use same brand and same type RAM... Try not to mix with different brand if you want to avoid problems.
netmatrix
post Jun 23 2017, 05:24 PM

6,491 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jun 23 2017, 02:00 PM)
My existing is KVR1333D3N9/2G and is dual side memory chip also
I see another brand non kingston is D3N9 also, so basically need to find RAM with this model D3N9?
My PC originally had 2GB Kingston (in picture). I bought another 2GB with same spec from a forumer here. The other 2 piece of 2GB is the Gotech (In picture) brand i found at Lowyat second hand (Pakistani/ Bangla) shop. Like you said, i matched the part number that corresponds to the Kingston one. It worked without any problem. I cannot get those single sided 4GB DDR3 PC1333 10700 to work with my board. No display. 8GB DDR3 PC1333 10700 single sided also does not work. I got try those newer PC1600 4GB & 8GB also does not work. If you can find specific the same one as yours it might work.

Last time some forumer also had same problem. One said he managed to get a Corsair brand 4GB DDR3 single sided PC1333 10700 that worked in this Intel processor generation motherboard. He posted his CPUID before. But i never seen those ram being sold before.
TSchicaman
post Jun 23 2017, 05:32 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,651 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 23 2017, 05:24 PM)
My PC originally had 2GB Kingston (in picture). I bought another 2GB with same spec from a forumer here. The other 2 piece of 2GB is the Gotech (In picture) brand i found at Lowyat second hand (Pakistani/ Bangla) shop. Like you said, i matched the part number that corresponds to the Kingston one. It worked without any problem. I cannot get those single sided 4GB DDR3 PC1333 10700 to work with my board. No display. 8GB DDR3 PC1333 10700 single sided  also does not work. I got try those newer PC1600 4GB & 8GB also does not work. If you can find specific the same one as yours it might work.

Last time some forumer also had same problem. One said he managed to get a Corsair brand 4GB  DDR3 single sided PC1333 10700 that worked in this Intel processor generation motherboard. He posted his CPUID before. But i never seen those ram being sold before.
How much did you bought for the Gotech Ram?

0.0125sec    0.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:19 PM