Technical PlayStation 2 Community & Tech Talk | V4, PS2 Community & Technical Discussion

TheUndead
post Mar 22 2009, 09:35 PM

177 posts

hi guys, is this a good deal or not?

was quoted RM460 with the following:
1 x PS2 console w/ all the cables
1 x original controller
1 x non-original controller
1 x memory card 8mb
15 x dvd games
TheUndead
post Apr 7 2009, 05:39 PM

177 posts

Different mod chip, different method to play ps1. Try pressing the restart button twice. Or ask for assistant from your local gameshop.
TheUndead
post Apr 7 2009, 07:27 PM

177 posts

Bro,

I have 90006 model too. And to play ps1 games, heres what i do:
- Switch ps2 on.
- Dont insert CD.
- Wait till the browser finish loading.
- insert PS1 cd.
- Press the power/restart button TWICE in quick succession.
- PS1 game loads.

It plays just fine. smile.gif

p/s: Though, mind you I tested using my MGS cd1 (original NTSC/UC). Dont have any of the games you mentioned above.
TheUndead
post May 1 2009, 11:39 AM

177 posts

^ have you tried other discs? or this only happens with your FF XII disc?

this is ori or ahem disc?

Added on May 1, 2009, 11:44 am
QUOTE(SkYY @ Apr 29 2009, 12:29 AM)
will there be any new game coming out for PS2? it seems really cheap to get one for a budget console. for its big library of games available(although some not selling anymore), and its stunning price of RM500+-

its tempting for me to get one as PS3 and x360 is definitely out of my range. is it still worth to get one now?
motorstorm is coming out for the ps2. if you didnt try it on the ps3 yet, its one of the ps2 titles to look forward to.
http://media.ps2.ign.com/media/143/14324832/imgs_1.html

definitely worth it if you havent owned 1 yet. i just got the slim last month at RM450. Now maybe can get more cheaper now. below 400+

This post has been edited by TheUndead: May 1 2009, 11:44 AM
TheUndead
post May 5 2009, 09:11 AM

177 posts

i think both no prob as long as you make sure ur mod chip can detect it
TheUndead
post May 13 2009, 10:21 PM

177 posts

er.. dunno.. maybe that's how to activate the ps1 modchip inside the modded ps2 laugh.gif
TheUndead
post May 20 2009, 12:58 PM

177 posts

Looks like a good deal..

But wow... You're willing to pay Rm600 for that?

Respect: notworthy.gif
TheUndead
post May 20 2009, 01:24 PM

177 posts

At first, I thought it was kinda steep but i just noticed u put 2xcontrollers (ori) sweat.gif

nonetheless, just for comparison, i bought a ps2 not too long ago for rm450 at Holiday Plaza.
1 x console (scph-90006CB)
1 x original controller
1 x original memory card 8mb
10 x copy games

an additional ori controller shouldn't make the price go over RM550.
and, those "games" should be free.

maybe the shop already counted the tshirt? sweat.gif

AND do you really need the bag? for travel i assume? laugh.gif

Try nego some more. Where is the shop? if you dun mind me asking smile.gif
TheUndead
post May 20 2009, 02:16 PM

177 posts

So this shop is in Batu Pahat la then? hmm.gif

If it is, then I really don't have any experience with them because the price I got my PS2 was from a shop in JB.

Maybe BP shops sell higher than here in JB.

Whatever it is, I feel RM600 is kinda high la. Even for an extra ori controller + bag. And those games should be free.

Try and nego some more. Good luck! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by TheUndead: May 20 2009, 02:21 PM
TheUndead
post May 20 2009, 04:04 PM

177 posts

Yup, really made in china. Even PS3 also. They're all manufactured there. Perfectly fine.

Why? Worried about the H1N1 har? laugh.gif
TheUndead
post May 23 2009, 11:20 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ May 23 2009, 08:37 PM)
I din have component cable.. how much it would be?
RM15 - Sony ciplak wan
TheUndead
post May 24 2009, 12:59 AM

177 posts

Hmm.. hmm.gif

Not too sure.. RM50 - RM80 maybe?

But difference is little to none
TheUndead
post May 25 2009, 11:22 PM

177 posts

Go and ask all gameshops available here
TheUndead
post Jun 16 2009, 08:23 AM

177 posts

correct me if i'm wrong but mgs2 doesn't need dual layer dvd, single layer is enough
TheUndead
post Oct 20 2009, 12:49 PM

177 posts

Component cable improve PS2 graphics a lot. I bought one recently for RM20 (Sony copy wan) and pair it with SDTV. I notice graphics in MGS2 is far more sharp and brighter. Especially during the plant chapter.

But if you pair it with an HDTV, make sure to adjust it to 4:3 resolution or else you will get blocky and squished down graphics.
TheUndead
post Oct 25 2009, 10:44 PM

177 posts

It seems pricing in the northern region still not drop yet.

In JB, PS2 + 2 controller (local) + 10 games (roughly) + 1 mem (unsure ori/local) RM399 only.

This post has been edited by TheUndead: Oct 25 2009, 10:44 PM
TheUndead
post Nov 10 2009, 03:23 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(malach_hamaves83 @ Oct 28 2009, 10:00 PM)
hi guys, do u know where i can get a good quality of component cable for ps2/3  around kl ??
Hi bro, just to suggest for you, Play-Asia also has component cable for PS2/PS3. They're cheap and good with free shipping summore! smile.gif
TheUndead
post Dec 20 2009, 09:43 AM

177 posts

To improve graphics quality on the PS2, you should really connect it to your 50" LCD TV using component cable.

The cable looks like this

Component cable improve PS2 graphics a lot. I bought one recently for RM20 at a local gameshop (Sony copy wan) and pair it with my SDTV. I notice graphics in MGS2 is far more sharp and brighter. Especially during the plant chapter.

But if you pair it with an HDTV, make sure to adjust it to 4:3 resolution or else you will get blocky and squished down graphics.

If you want the best (and cheapest) component cable, I suggest you buy it online right here. They are with free delivery some more smile.gif

This post has been edited by TheUndead: Dec 20 2009, 09:49 AM
TheUndead
post Dec 20 2009, 10:47 PM

177 posts

That's a really good bargain bro! Go for it! nod.gif
TheUndead
post Dec 21 2009, 04:09 PM

177 posts

That's the spirit bro, never too late to play PS2 games! nod.gif