124 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

~* Sugar Gliders *~ V3, Marsupials with character

Vio
post May 13 2007, 12:39 PM

829 posts

oo i see. i have a pair of gliders but everyday i will only take mine out and let him out from noon till night, during that period he will always be with me . so if this still can't make him bond with me, should i separate his gf?

This post has been edited by Vio: May 13 2007, 12:40 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 13 2007, 04:17 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ May 13 2007, 12:39 PM)
oo i see. i have a pair of gliders but everyday i will only take mine out and let him out from noon till night, during that period he will always be with me . so if this still can't make him bond with me, should i separate his gf?
No, separating the male and female will make things worst.... if they are always with you, means what? In the same room? That won't help much. They have to be on you.
Vio
post May 13 2007, 05:06 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 13 2007, 04:17 PM)
No, separating the male and female will make things worst.... if they are always with you, means what? In the same room? That won't help much. They have to be on you.
nope what i mean is i will take mine out which is a male n the other will be with my sis. and btw their cage is outside . usually i will take him out with from 2p.m till 11++p.m .
coldfusionpower
post May 13 2007, 07:59 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

cage is outside ?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 13 2007, 08:59 PM

12,047 posts

SG is outdoors? No wonder, this is not the right way to keep SG because outdoors got night predators.... who knows, if escape how? Also, 2pm to 11pm... that is not the right time to bond with a glider since it is their sleeping time. Gliders become active at night which is around 11pm to 5am... on and off there are small naps in between and during the day they also will get up on and off a bit to drink or eat.

Normally, the day time is for pouch bonding and during the night is to handle and play. Changing their natural timing can cause stress too.

Anyway, to train it to know its name... it depends on the glider. Not all gliders will answer their names since they do have a mind of their own. I associate name calling with food and treats so this makes my glider aware that her name means good things....

As long as your glider is tame, then enjoy and be satisfied with it.
snowcandy
post May 14 2007, 12:25 AM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

Ahhh. Love my Shurie so much. She likes climbing onto my shoulders and just stay put there while her eyes dart around my room. wub.gif

Btw Hun, how do you play with Kiah? I don't really know how to play with Shurie when she's awake. blush.gif
coldfusionpower
post May 14 2007, 12:33 AM

3,158 posts

Hun , ur mix ar .. how u give to the gliders ? wait till the mix turn to liquid or take them when it get soft enough to take with a spoon ?

now only left 1/4 .. chika barking a lot these days .give mix , then he goes back to sleep .

and i also wondering about the playing thing . how do u play with kiah ?

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: May 14 2007, 12:35 AM
suiteng
post May 14 2007, 12:42 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 14 2007, 12:33 AM)
Hun , ur mix ar .. how u give to the gliders ? wait till the mix turn to liquid or take them when it get soft enough to take with a spoon ?

now only left 1/4 .. chika barking a lot these days .give mix , then he goes back to sleep .

and i also wondering about the playing thing . how do u play with kiah ?
As I know, the whole room is Kiah's playground sweat.gif
kubiz
post May 14 2007, 12:58 AM

74 posts

hmm other than getting calcium from suppliments is there any food that gives calcium? dont tell me chicken egg .. haha
coldfusionpower
post May 14 2007, 01:17 AM

3,158 posts

mine like both hard boiled chicken egg and boiled chichen .. in small pieces laa ..
snowcandy
post May 14 2007, 01:20 AM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

Mine doesn't like chicken at all. Haha. She'll spit it out everytime I feed her the mix. She's one picky glider. wub.gif
JonYeap
post May 14 2007, 02:53 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

hmm... kelvin(kubiz) next time ask victor go get the Mix for Hun then post to us lor or ask victor bring it up here. Hehe... then can try whther the glider like it or not.
krynzpeaches
post May 14 2007, 10:17 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Bonding with one glider at a time is definitely the best way. But even if you got 2, it is possible to bond with both of them with the right way. Either you do it one at a time or spend more time with them together.

It does not matter which one do you get first, male or female. With right amount of time and technique, any male or female glider will bond with as fast. REMEMBER, you cannot force a glider to do anything, you have to follow their flow, it takes a lot of patience and time.

NO female do not crab less than male. It all depends on how the owner takes care and bond with them. I have read and seen for myself such cases.

Yes, male glider tend to smell, but with the right diet and hygine care, this will not be a problem. Even a female with improper care will smell too. Do you know that we need to clean their cage and toys weekly and do a thorough cleaning (prefereably with hot water) on everything monthly??

Daytime is bonding time. Night time is play time. You can carry them around during their sleep. Make them feel that they are safe with you. You can talk to them and massage them during this time. They will be accustom to your voice and touch this way. Make sure you do not bump them or accidently hit something on them. This will scare them and make them feel unsafe with you.

Keeping gliders outdoor makes it difficult to tame or bond with them because they are exposed to too much outdoor disturbance. If they do not feel safe in their own cage, how will they feel safe with you? With our kind of wheather and noise summore, it is not good to keep them outdoor, unless you do want to bond with them.

A glider will know their name. But to response to it, is entirely up to them. DO NOT expect your glider to be like a dog, they will never be. Different glider has different personality. One glider will not always be like the other, each one is unique. You will have to learn them and adapt to them as well. You can train them a little to your preference, not all, but it takes a lot of time and patience.

As for playing with your glider, one thing for sure, it is not like playing with a dog or cat. Letting them out to jump around you is also considered playing. Some glider likes tease feather, some glider likes to jump from you to another place then back at you, some glider will chase your feet when you walk and some would even just go off exploring by their own.

Finally, for the above mentioned is why a glider is such a special creature and you should love one for all these smile.gif

KP

---

Snowcandy, as far as I know they don't spit out their food. It's the pulp of what they have eaten that comes out. They do this for every food they eat.

Hun, I soooo missed out on the gathering cry.gif I have lots to ask and talk about sad.gif Sighhh... But seems like the food did not go to waste after all smile.gif

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: May 14 2007, 10:23 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 14 2007, 10:49 AM

12,047 posts

krynzpeaches
post May 14 2007, 12:02 PM

2,047 posts

Haha, sorry for the lengthy explanation, all the result from owning a suggie and the dizzying research.

I really want people to understand suggies better, it's not easy, but it's possible smile.gif

I don't want people to abandon their suggies if little things go wrong. You also know a few cases rite...

Yeah, disturbing their sleeping habit is not good. Suggies are nocturnal, and we cannot change that no matter what. However waking them up for short periods should be okay, but if they want to go back to sleep, we cannot stop them from doing so.

Haven't gotten around to tossing Iggy yet, tried, but he just hold on tongue.gif

Ooo finished very fast smile.gif Good, good, I hope I'll not miss the next gathering smile.gif

KP
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 14 2007, 12:22 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ May 14 2007, 12:02 PM)
Haha, sorry for the lengthy explanation, all the result from owning a suggie and the dizzying research.

I really want people to understand suggies better, it's not easy, but it's possible smile.gif

I don't want people to abandon their suggies if little things go wrong. You also know a few cases rite...

Yeah, disturbing their sleeping habit is not good. Suggies are nocturnal, and we cannot change that no matter what. However waking them up for short periods should be okay, but if they want to go back to sleep, we cannot stop them from doing so.

Haven't gotten around to tossing Iggy yet, tried, but he just hold on tongue.gif

Ooo finished very fast smile.gif Good, good, I hope I'll not miss the next gathering smile.gif

KP
Yah... all experience and research. Pity coz many gliders are sold off when their owners tire of them... the unlucky ones are then set free into our jungles or forest, I wonder how they are gonna find food only.... sad....

Kiah does what she pleases, just now at around 11am she went back to sleep... for sure around 12am she will be active and will have her dinner tongue.gif

You need to hold Iggy in a way where his claws are not clinging on to you.... hmm... your palm grabbing him from the back, then fling and toss.
krynzpeaches
post May 14 2007, 12:52 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 14 2007, 12:22 PM)
You need to hold Iggy in a way where his claws are not clinging on to you.... hmm... your palm grabbing him from the back, then fling and toss.
That's why, all gliders have a mind of their own, so different each and every glider has their own mind and act one smile.gif

Ohh, like that... Dunno whether can be done or not cuz like I've told you, I've never held Iggy this way, he doesn't like it. I always let him climb on my hand or arm, or I cupped him slowly from underneath him. His feet always need to hold onto something...

See, how different our gliders are smile.gif

Takpela, I think I let him climb onto the curtain and glide from there la smile.gif

Haihh, it seems that Iggy really likes to nibble2 me to show his love tongue.gif When he wakes up, I put my arm near him, then he does his "konon2" cute stretch, grab my arm, then nibble2 at the same time doing stretching doh.gif Haihhh, habis my arm got love bite tongue.gif When I tell him to stop, he stop kejap, still holding my arm and stretching2, then nibble2 back again... When I try to move my arm, he'll hang there strecthing... I'm his tree, so he thinks I got barks ahh shakehead.gif

KP
cheaka
post May 14 2007, 02:07 PM

407 posts

I had posted up some pictures in the gathering thread...enjoy....

It was nice to see miko kissing frodo....frodo so happy got new friend..as he knows eowyn don't want him...eowyn want gollum...hahhahhah
Vio
post May 14 2007, 05:33 PM

829 posts

rclxms.gif thx guys really appreciate it.if I can't take in the cage then maybe i can make my room as their home and maybe can earn back some money by selling the big cage by getting a smaller one icon_rolleyes.gif . oh btw lucky got you guys, i did't know that playing with them during the day will make them stress. i thought doing that will make the bonding process faster. beside how often u guys giv calcium supplement to the gliders?
coldfusionpower
post May 14 2007, 05:36 PM

3,158 posts

owh wanna share sumthing.. u guys wanna hear chika bark at 3.58am 3rd May 2007 ? . here u go !

and just now, chika very active la . woke up, suddenly bark, i took him out, and go downstairs give sum fruits. when i want to put him at the curtain, he jump before i reach the curtain. about 3 feets apart.

then i show my hand, he come back to my hand, then jump again .. ahahh ! it's look like chika wanna practice his jumping technique. now sleeping edi. tired i guess.

124 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:16 AM