~* Sugar Gliders *~ V3, Marsupials with character

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 11:38 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

I was also a worrying mom at 1 time... but after so long now, I understand Kiah's routines... so not that worried hahah.... it's good to be worried sometimes coz it makes us do more research.

Crickets need to be kept in a container with a mesh lid. It needs good ventilation.... the mesh also has to be small so the crickets don't get away.
RM1 of crickets is normally like 25 to 30 crickets hahaha.... to keep them alive, in the container it has to have tissue, newspaper and box cardboard scraps.... every 2 to 3 days, leave a piece of leafy vegie or a thin piece of carrot. It has to be big enough to feed all the crickets. You can also place stale dried bread and dry catfood too. Everyday about a few crickets would die naturally.... it would stink so you should check, take and throw the dead ones.... Smelly ones would attract fruit flies and later maggots appear.

Crickets would get their water from the vegie that you feed them.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 11:51 AM

12,047 posts

Yes, those plastic aquariums with lids can also.... I also use them. Do get the RM7 or RM8 size... coz if its too small, the crickets may eat each other up.

Hahaha... they will jump. So you must be alert. I use either my hands or tweezers. Oh yah, becareful not to use your fingers to catch the head... coz crickets do bite hahahah...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 12:03 PM

12,047 posts

Eeee... Kiah don't like Superworms... and I don't mind mealworms but superworms are ugly to me.

You can dry your own crickets mah.... You got a toaster oven? You can bake the crickets till chrispy. Then seal it in an air tight container and keep in the freezer...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 01:23 PM

12,047 posts

Hahaha... of course must kill the crickets first.... erm... crushing their heads would do.... or freezing them 1st before baking.... I got the baking idea from a show I watched before.... chocolate chip cricket cookies... sounds yummy hahaha.

Also, gliders eating crickets may make a small mess... leaving limbs and wings and guts behind haahha...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 02:06 PM

12,047 posts

Superworm my hamster and gerbil also makan.... but Kiah.... she was like "What the???" hahaha... chew a bit then she buang.... anyway, she prefers crickets to mealworms. I got no problem coz everyweek I buy RM4 crickets coz feed leopard geckos, tarantulas, scorpions and my gerbils.... gerbils love crickets.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 02:47 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Apr 19 2007, 02:38 PM)
Gerbils also eat crickets?? I gave mealworm they eat half only...

Hun you got so many to feed, can lar keep crickets stock everyweek. Mine even the mealworms, RM1 can last me a whole month blink.gif

Okay, pix time... This was taken quite a while ago, now cannot even share my cage new set up and proof of all the exoterra leaves that Iggy has destroyed (yeah, habis all my lovely leaves mad.gif ) cuz my camera got stuck and have to send for service one whole month cry.gif

KP
Yah,... so that is why i suggest you bake them hahahaah....

QUOTE(suiteng @ Apr 19 2007, 02:39 PM)
My gliders are so smelly cry.gif
come come, I give them a "bath" for you tongue.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(arraille @ Apr 19 2007, 02:42 PM)
if diarrhoea is the common sickness for rabbits... what's for suggie...?
Sugar gliders are hardy.... but then young joeys are prone to diarrhea caused by high protein food and honey. But glider hide sicknesses easily.... the only way to know if it is sick is studying it's daily routine... if something goes wrong like not eating often or sleeping longer than usual and is less active, then it could be sick.

I treat diarrhea with a Bengy Vitamin Supplement, so far it works everytime for me.

Added on April 19, 2007, 2:50 pm
QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Apr 19 2007, 02:44 PM)
Have you tried any odour eliminator product?

Look for those natural ones that can be sprayed around the cages and not harm the animal...

I know PureAyre is the best, but we don't have it here sad.gif

Heard of the Delikate small animal odour and stain eliminator is also 100% natural and is available here, but haven't tried yet...

Hmmm, since we're in this odour thingy topic, anyone here has used an odour eliminator for pets that you find works the best???

KP

Added on April 19, 2007, 2:46 pmCommon sickness for suggies that I know is HLP (Hind Leg Paralysis) and UTI (Urinary Tract Infection).

KP
I tried before Fido odour eliminator.... wasted my money.... no effect at all....

oh yah, HLP and UTI is also common.... HLP is due to the lack of calcium intake i think.... ahhh.... can't remember already.... must read again to refresh.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Apr 19 2007, 02:50 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 02:57 PM

12,047 posts

1st page got some details on a few common sicknesses.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 03:50 PM

12,047 posts

Ohhh... I guess takes some time to get used to it hahahaha....

Hmmm... I got a toaster oven which I am scared to use coz once my garlic caught fire inside.... so imagine... instead of toasted crickets it will become charred crickets LOL.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 04:35 PM

12,047 posts

Rambutan tree is poisonous to gliders.... and I think ciku trees too.... not sure about guava...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 05:40 PM

12,047 posts

1 year is not old.... I would say 7 years is old hahaha.... the bald spot, I think every male will develop it at its own pace... like what KP said, see how often they musk....

but are you sure Frodo is a male? Can see his 2 little things or not?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 06:41 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Apr 19 2007, 06:13 PM)
oh...then frodo must be some spoiled pamperd SG....but i noticed after seeing him mixing with gollum.his bald spot is starting loh..

he is definitely a male lah..got that little dangling thing..hahah...
Hahaha... then I bet you are one of the very few where your male gliders do not fight... really rare. tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2007, 08:36 PM

12,047 posts

Wahhh... Kiah went out of my room and got lost in the house.... suddenly I heard her barking very loud and long, go search for her. Once see me stopped barking and she looks calm now.... my goodness, so naugthy hahaha....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 20 2007, 01:47 PM

12,047 posts

HAhah... you guys really want me to try roasting crickets? Hmmm... I can try.... ahahaha...

Careline Litter dekat cat section hehehehe.... The pack is like green and black.

Aiyah, normal lah for people to ask for help around here hehehh....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 20 2007, 02:35 PM

12,047 posts

Dunno will explode or not hahaha.... I'm wiling to try since I don't use the toaster oven anymore hehehehe...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 20 2007, 06:39 PM

12,047 posts

This morning Kiah went into my cricket bucket (no cover) and she ate all the left over crickets.... I think got 6 to 10.... LOL... no wonder this morning when I gave her the mix she tak mau lah....

Wah... crunchy toasted crics! See how lah LOL.... see berjaya or not.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 20 2007, 06:56 PM

12,047 posts

What to do? Kiah already experience too much freedom, too many people and too much fun hahaha.... she doesn't even know she is a glider since she will lick people like a puppy.... pampered pet liao.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 20 2007, 07:39 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Apr 20 2007, 07:20 PM)
I can still remember her trying to clean my ear. Bleh
Yah.... she will try to clean everything.... bellybutton, nose lah.... you wanna try? Free grooming service by lil Kiah. No extra charge for odd places LOL....

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Apr 20 2007, 07:23 PM)
Yea, and i'm deeply poisoned by her somemore... doh.gif

Anyway, whave fun with your kiah and good luck on the fried crickets, dont fry until l become cricket bakar.
Since when must I fry you to become cricket bakar? HAhahah.....

Added on April 20, 2007, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(suiteng @ Apr 20 2007, 07:38 PM)
Or cricket berapi tongue.gif
Eh, that one I scared loh.... coz one time I go and bake garlic in that stupid oven, then the garlic terbakar!!!! Fire!!!! I almost take fire extinguisher to put it out but somehow instinct kicked in and I splash a cup of water into the oven.... but it was sooo scary.... imagine nice fire start in such a small oven.... can give heart attack sweat.gif

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Apr 20 2007, 07:42 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 20 2007, 08:13 PM

12,047 posts

Yah... the damn oven survived... but my garlic died.... LOL.

From that day onwards, I never use the oven already ahhah. Collecting dust like antique.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 20 2007, 08:23 PM

12,047 posts

So far that oven makes damn good garlic bread, crispy bacon and sausage hahah... but I decided to make roast garlic... mana tahu stupid garlic can terbakar inside.

So yah, I'm gonna take a guess that the crickets will be crackle and pop and flames will jump about. That time i must get ready fire extinguisher liao LOL.

The things I would do for you guys punya gliders hahahah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 21 2007, 09:26 PM

12,047 posts

Pictures of darling Kiah hahahah....

Mama forced me to pose....

But I look more natural this way lah

Mama says I have to be a good....

So I will always say a prayer once awhile....

So do you think I am a good girl?

why you pinch my hand?

And why you show me that finger?

Ohhhh.... wahhh.... I know now, that finger is good for massage

Eh! Not too hard please...

Hmmm.. your finger taste nice too