124 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

~* Sugar Gliders *~ V3, Marsupials with character

krynzpeaches
post May 22 2007, 02:29 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Jon, check your post. Pls delete any double post.

Okay, let me ask you, the dog kibble, cat food & baby cereal in where???

Look at the amount used and the brand also. You cannot simple use any type cuz some dog kibble contains onion and such. It's in a mix and the amount is very little. It's blended with a lot of other stuff.

Little amount like this blended together should be okay. NOT given by it's own. This is what everyone here is saying about.

Do you know that gliders cannot take too hard food? It can lead to acondition called Lumpy Jaw which will be extremely painful to them. So feeding them dog kibbles and such is not only bad for their health and diet but can cause Lumpy Jaw because it it hard.

It is best to avoid the stuff if you cannot find it. It doesn't mean that the mix "tak jadi" because lack of one or two things. It can be modified accordingly. That's why we leave the mixing stuff to Hun.

Haihhh, if you are not sure, then simply don't do it lah. Wait til you get a fridge and has a way to get Hun's mix, it would be so much easier and less hassle like this.

Try and get in touch with tleilexu, he gets the mix from Hun, and he's in Malacca.

KP

coldfusionpower
post May 22 2007, 02:35 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ May 22 2007, 11:13 AM)
wanna know why we cant get a fridge yet? we are shifting to a new apartment this weekend. and after shifting we are going back hometown for 3 weeks. do u think the fridge we are getting a fridge and putting there for 1 month without using it? i doubt so. also, as u know, shifting into a new apartment for a student, renting a house with no furniture, and i mean totally no furniture, we have to come out a large sum to get many things.
see . can't wait till u moved first ar ? i know u bought the sg coz sumi said that was his last one. come on ... wait for a month or two just to get u settel in first, prepare the suggies stuff first. why rush everything ? they are living animals .

i nvr mad at u coz not having a fridge. i mad at ya coz u put two gliders in the same cage. which u only will be using for another 4 years. after that ? what happend ? they still hv 8 years to lives. read KP explanation about keeping em both . u hvn't told me ur reason about that yet right. just about the fridge.

and did u see urself ? we already said dog-food is a nono .. u give us recipes that includes dog food. u trying to proof that u are right and we are wrong . u ask, we answer, u don't agree and try to be smarty pants, we angry laa . and u want us to be nice to u ar ? u nice with us, u are much nicer with u .

and now u accusing me just research on the 1st page only ? wtf ... like i said .. it it's aint there, i wouldn't even try it ! why i even trying to giv sumthing that i'm not sure ? beside the name said it all .

DOG FOOD = FOR DOGS LAAA .U HV NO BRAIN IZZIT .

WE ALL ALREADY SAID THAT DOG FOOD IS A NO-NO .. AND U STILL TRYING TO PROOF U ARE RIGHT . WTF WEI ..

JonYeap
post May 22 2007, 02:43 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

wat i am trying to proof is, that, u scolded me saying i dont do research and u said, if i do research, sure didnt see the word dog food. well i do agree that, that time i didnt do much research yet. i only read the 1st page, and i didnt see dog food in there, but some ppl did feed them with dog food, thats why i asked u all bout it. but all i got was flamed. now i am trying not to prove myself right, but also, want to say that, through research, there are many websites that uses dog food, even if its in small portion, i know, but there is. bout the fridge, i will try my best to get a mini one. as well as another cage. now mine and kubiz glider are seperated.
wat i am pissed is that, u guys suddenly flame me bout the dog food.
remember bro, u said this?

coldfusion : if u did ur research, sure didn't mention about any dog food right ?

i did my research coz u all asked me, but i did found few websites mention bout dog food. and like i said, i am clarifying things. not trying to argue or wat... u want me to start a scene again after all this? well, i did write nicely bout asking for clarification, but if u wanna scold me or wat, dont have to be so rude. i didnt ask u in a rude manner if u can see that.

This post has been edited by JonYeap: May 22 2007, 02:52 PM
krynzpeaches
post May 22 2007, 02:58 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

STOP!!!

No more flaming! I'm waiting for Hun to settle this.

Jon, CFP was refering to the fact that there is no mentioning about giving the dog food direct as glider food/staple diet.

You do not need to prove you are right about that there are places that mentioned about dog food, furthermore saying that other ppl say that they feed dog kibble to their glider. Dog kibbles is just plain wrong, altho other ppl do it, we don't, because we only give the best.

Hun where are you?

KP
JonYeap
post May 22 2007, 03:07 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

well, i'll accept it if u tell me like this. i do know and i wont use dog food, but wat makes me unpleasant is the fact that i got blasted and flamed when i asked wat type of dogfood, catfood or baby cereal should i feed to them.
ok, i get wat u all trying to say. and i didnt mentioning feeding them as staple also. well, just forget it. u guys know wat u did said to me and i know wat to do. some of u may wanna think back wat u replied also and how u replied. thanks KP. hehe... politeness is the way to break through my head i guess.

Added on May 22, 2007, 3:13 pmwell, i also wanna say sorry to those who assume i feed dog food to them. i wanna make things clear here. i only planned to feed them with dog food or baby cereal coz i didnt know. and also, i asked here b4 i did anything wrong. thats why i asked here. sorry for all the scene. thanks

Added on May 22, 2007, 3:20 pmSorry for all the misconduct, the misword, the misunderstanding and ego. Sorry to all of u. Hope u can explain to me nicely coz, i will get things if it is told in a nice way. Thanks to those who said nicely to me and sorry to those who get offended by me.
Sorry.

This post has been edited by JonYeap: May 22 2007, 03:20 PM
snowcandy
post May 22 2007, 03:22 PM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

Sighs.. like I said, Malaysia's dog food would never be suitable for suggies, even given in small amounts. Those recipes you have there are most likely good brand that will cost a bomb.

Enough with the flaming already ler guys. It wouldn't help the glider at all. Can we just settle this calmly? At least for the sake of little Felix.

And yeah, Hunnnnn! Where are youuu? sweat.gif
JonYeap
post May 22 2007, 03:24 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

I already say sorry le. Well, hope they accepts it and stop flaming.
I do get wat u wanna say. I also not using them as food. WILL NOT USE DOG FOOD. i get it la. ish... hehe... snowcandy, u so fast name my glider felix hor? well, since u already name it felix, not good to change it. hehe... so i will call it felix then. kaka...
akachester
post May 22 2007, 03:32 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ May 22 2007, 03:24 PM)
I already say sorry le. Well, hope they accepts it and stop flaming.
I do get wat u wanna say. I also not using them as food. WILL NOT USE DOG FOOD. i get it la. ish... hehe... snowcandy, u so fast name my glider felix hor? well, since u already name it felix, not good to change it. hehe... so i will call it felix then. kaka...
Apologies accepted here. My last advice to you is that you need to listen and learn from past mistakes. Ask and you will be given an answer. Listen and you will know what to do. Always remember, take the advice of the experts here in taking care of the glider and people here are willing to help..

Advice : Always listen to what people advice you if you ask for them.

This post has been edited by akachester: May 22 2007, 03:33 PM
snowcandy
post May 22 2007, 04:56 PM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

Nope. That name wasn't intended to name him. It was his original name.

Since you have not chosen a name for him, I figured I'll just use Felix until you come up with one. It's a lot easier than saying 'the glider' all the time. Lols.
sangterap
post May 22 2007, 05:19 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Jon,

Please allow me to have the last say.

It matters not whether you are rich or poor to have pets.

It matters if u take good care of the pets that u are keeping.

It is about making the right choices. Sugar Glider thread has been here for so freaking long and a lot of information has been shared. But be ignorant and suddenly asking the most fundamental question about the diet is not acceptable.

It is not that I discourage newbies from asking questions as that is how we grow. But, what u asked initially is a total shock to me as well.

Everyone is here to help but you must first help yourself.

Whether you have a fridge or not, u must provide some sort of mix due to the reason that in the WILD, SGs thrive on eucalyptus sap which WE DO NOT HAVE here. We have a closer variation of it which is the mix most of the forumers here are so willingly to provide their service of making them if you are not taking the pro active step to make it your own.

If you have made enough research, you would have known how to make the mix yourself and I believe you can make daily servings without the need of a fridge. It does not cost a lot.

Good luck!!!!
JonYeap
post May 22 2007, 06:15 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(sangterap @ May 22 2007, 05:19 PM)
Jon,

Please allow me to have the last say.

It matters not whether you are rich or poor to have pets.

It matters if u take good care of the pets that u are keeping.

It is about making the right choices. Sugar Glider thread has been here for so freaking long and a lot of information has been shared. But be ignorant and suddenly asking the most fundamental question about the diet is not acceptable.

It is not that I discourage newbies from asking questions as that is how we grow. But, what u asked initially is a total shock to me as well.

Everyone is here to help but you must first help yourself.

Whether you have a fridge or not, u must provide some sort of mix due to the reason that in the WILD, SGs thrive on eucalyptus sap which WE DO NOT HAVE here. We have a closer variation of it which is the mix most of the forumers here are so willingly to provide their service of making them if you are not taking the pro active step to make it your own.

If you have made enough research, you would have known how to make the mix yourself and I believe you can make daily servings without the need of a fridge. It does not cost a lot.

Good luck!!!!
thanks bro. i appreciate ur words. and yeah, i am thinking and searching for ways to get the mix done myself, coz its kinda hard to get from hun, although its the best one. hmmm.... i even asked my mum to buy the blender already. its already bought. so now is time for a little research on wat to add into it. hehe... thanks bro.
Reanne
post May 22 2007, 07:21 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Hun's Mix. Estimated nutrition content.

Fiber
Vitamin C
Vitamin D3
Vitamin A
Calcium (Non dairy source)
Omega 3 & 6
Protein
Beneficial bacteria
Beta-Glucan
Honey
Trace fat

Will add more when process the nutritional stuff more intently.

Canned Baby food has low nutritional value, barely enough to cover a glider's nutritional needs per day. It's low in fiber, high in sugar and doesn't even have much protein. Most of it is water.

Apple is high in phosphorus, which is bad for gliders if fed too much. Phosphorus leeches on calcium, which is what they need. Though containing vitamin C, a diet of only apples or mostly apple is not recommended.

Lettuce, especially iceberg lettuce, is not good as it's mostly water content.

The few dog foods recommended are Innova Evo, Origen and other corn-free super premium quality soft dog/cat foods. Even so, small amounts only. Not as staple.

Will add more in this post later.

JonYeap
post May 22 2007, 07:47 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ May 22 2007, 07:21 PM)
Hun's Mix. Estimated nutrition content.

Fiber
Vitamin C
Vitamin D3
Vitamin A
Calcium (Non dairy source)
Omega 3 & 6
Protein
Beneficial bacteria
Beta-Glucan
Honey
Trace fat

Will add more when process the nutritional stuff more intently.

Canned Baby food has low nutritional value, barely enough to cover a glider's nutritional needs per day. It's low in fiber, high in sugar and doesn't even have much protein. Most of it is water.

Apple is high in phosphorus, which is bad for gliders if fed too much. Phosphorus leeches on calcium, which is what they need. Though containing vitamin C, a diet of only apples or mostly apple is not recommended.

Lettuce, especially iceberg lettuce, is not good as it's mostly water content.

The few dog foods recommended are Innova Evo, Origen and other corn-free super premium quality soft dog/cat foods. Even so, small amounts only. Not as staple.

Will add more in this post later.
i still have the innova cat food u gave to me. left around 1 container of tau fu fa. and the inova kitten one. well, not planning to feed them coz later get flamed. errr... i know canned food are a no no to them. according to a website, gerber baby food has high protein and also recommended. but i not sure now, guess its not in the 1st page, its a no no again rite.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 22 2007, 09:08 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Goodness... looks like everything has been said.

Anyway, last say from me. The diets that you quoted are used by zoos or big time breeders who must find a way to give a high protein diet without the need of a mix. So they get the protein from the dogfood or kittenfood.

It is possible to give dogfood or catfood but only 2 brands that are suitable, which is Orijen or Innova Evo, which I don't think you can get in Malacca since it is one of the high end expensive dogfood and catfood. but the kibble should never be given more than 2 pieces. Why? Gliders teeth are not like rats..... their teeth is built by nature to chew bark and eat sweet sap. And why I mention those 2 brands? Coz they are softer than normal dogfood but I can easily say, gliders do not like the smell of the Innova Evo or Orijen. So conclusion, no dogfood for them. Why we are all saying to get a decent mix is coz the mix is the best substitute to tree sap.

Commercial breeders in Malaysia have a very basic diet that can cause a lot of damage to the health of the gliders but it saves cost for them and saves time. Suppliers only feed their gliders dogfood, apples, sunflower seeds.... only some will go to the extent of boiling eggs for them and mealworms. This indeed will produce fat gliders but not healthy ones..... so that is why most commercial breeders will say dogfood and apples.

Another note. Grapes and apples and pears, all seeds should be taken out.

The 1st page is already a good basic guide. Following what can be given and what to avoid is good enough already.

About the mix.... it cannot last long without a fridge, it will go sour in half a day. So if you are thinking to make it daily, then it will be a slight waste for you but if you got no choice, then just do it.

I won't share my recipe but I will give you a guide of what can be used.

Nestle baby cereal, Only the Wheat and Honey can be used.
Heinz babyfood is better than Gerber babyfood
Oatbran and wheatgerm
Hardboiled egg

Joeys should not be given honey since some joeys are allergic and can get diarrhea after eating alot of honey.

As for the calcium powder, only Repti Cal can be used. I don't trust commercial breeders or suppliers coz what they use like the diet and nutrition is quite wrong so what they give can cause harm. You may not see the effects in a few years but the glider may not live up to 15 years.... maybe 6 years then up to heaven.

I will clean the thread a bit but will leave some of the informative postings. The lesson is researching fully first, if something is not right then only ask. Not every breeder knows what is good since commercial or supplier breeders do not follow through with glider nutrition from proper websites. Even me, the recipe for the glider mix did not fall from the sky. It took a lot of research till the correct mix is achieved.

Added on May 22, 2007, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(JonYeap @ May 22 2007, 07:47 PM)
i still have the innova cat food u gave to me. left around 1 container of tau fu fa. and the inova kitten one. well, not planning to feed them coz later get flamed. errr... i know canned food are a no no to them. according to a website, gerber baby food has high protein and also recommended. but i not sure now, guess its not in the 1st page, its a no no again rite.
Gerber babyfood... let me list down what it contains.... then you will only get the picture since Gerber babyfood in Malaysia is different from overseas since not all of Gerber products are Halal.

Gerber 2nd foods, Pear flavor as example:

Fat= 0g
Fiber= 2g
Sodium= 5mg
Sugar= 13g (more sugar than in 1 can of cocacola)
Potassium= 140g
Carb= 20g
Protein = 1g(is this high in protein?)
No Vitamin A
45% Vitamin C
0% calcium
0% Iron

The high protein is Gerber Chicken babyfood but it is non-Halal so Malaysia doesn't sell it. It is not pork, just that they chicken used is not slaughtered in the proper way, that is why it is not imported here.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: May 22 2007, 09:17 PM
JonYeap
post May 22 2007, 09:31 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

finally, a nice explanation. thanks hun for it. really appreciate it. well, if someone were to explain to me like this instead of wat i got, things wont be a scene in here. well, thanks again. will try doing some mix research and will talk to u in msn when i get the list and ask for ur opinion. thanks again.
coldfusionpower
post May 22 2007, 10:13 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

bleah ... u ask for a scene, u get one .. u want everybody to be nice to you ? move inside a private hospital such as Southern Hospital ..
JonYeap
post May 22 2007, 10:29 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

oh thanks for the scene. enjoyed it really. and i dont need ppl to be nice, coz i not here to brush ur shoes. so u can take ur shoes and lick them urself. i think u experience being in such a nice private hospital. haha... wonder wat happen in there.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 22 2007, 10:34 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Ok lah... enough already.... let's get back to glider discussion....
Reanne
post May 22 2007, 10:36 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

AHHH!!! That food is so long already! Do keep in mind that Innova Evo uses raw chicken, so not advisable to keep for so long after opening.

This post has been edited by Reanne: May 22 2007, 10:38 PM
JonYeap
post May 22 2007, 10:37 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ May 22 2007, 10:36 PM)
AHHH!!! That food is so long already! Do keep in mind that Innova Evo uses raw chicken, so not advisable to keep for so long.
ok got it reanne. wont use it anyway. haha...

This post has been edited by JonYeap: May 22 2007, 11:08 PM

124 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:00 PM