kirakracus's Fitness Journal, lose weight, get fit & ripped

musclemass
post Apr 11 2007, 12:09 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Apr 11 2007, 09:47 AM)
How's this program?

Workout 2 - Beginner Upper/Lower

"This routine can be done on a Monday-Wednesday-Friday schedule, with the next workout being "floated" into the next week (so that one week Monday would be lower body, the next Monday would be upper body), OR on alternating days (1 day of workout, 1 day of rest, 1 day of workout, and so forth), OR 4 days a week on a Monday-Tuesday-Thursday-Friday schedule. Don't do this workout more than two days in a row. Rest 1 to 2 minutes between sets (you might want a little longer between squat sets)."

day 1 - lower body
  1. Squat or Leg press 2 x 12-15
  2. Stiff-legged deadlift 2 x 12-15
  3. Calf raise 2 x 12-15
  4. Back extensions 2 x 12-15

day 2 - upper body
  1. Lat pulldown 2 x 12-15
  2. Standing overhead shoulder press 2 x 12-15
  3. One-arm dumbbell row 2 x 12-15
  4. Bench press 2 x 12-15
  5. Ab crunches 2 x 12-15
Substitute one-arm db row with bent-over barbell row. Otherwise it looks solid enough.
musclemass
post Apr 12 2007, 01:25 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Apr 12 2007, 08:57 AM)
Thanks musclemass and jones.

I checked out pendlays yesterday - information and videos .. and tried them out. My weights were very light though - 15kg total .. and I used the same weights for the whole lower body program. Right? Wrong?

day 2 - upper body
  1. Lat pulldown 2 x 12-15
  2. Standing overhead shoulder press 2 x 12-15
  3. Bent-over barbell row 2 x 12-15
  4. Bench press 2 x 12-15
  5. Ab crunches 2 x 12-15

Another question - what do I substitute for a lat pulldown? Think one needs to use a machine for that.
Don't use the same weight for all exercise. Lat pulldown can be substituted with chin/pull ups.
musclemass
post Apr 13 2007, 01:09 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 13 2007, 01:07 AM)
I think chins/pullups very hard to do alone leh sweat.gif
If you have access to assisted chin/pull ups machine it should be ok.
musclemass
post Apr 13 2007, 12:37 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Apr 13 2007, 11:33 AM)
I don't have a pull/chin up bar and putting one in at the house is out of the question at the moment - moving again soon .. plus it's just in my room and not a dedicated workout room.

I'll go check out the park for those ... bar crossing thingies which may work ... but think they have a huge sign there that says only kids below 12 can play in the park .. ha ha. Who says adults can't play on the swing or the see-saw ..

Can't wait for the weekend .. time to go shopping for fitness equipment (weight plates especially so I do heavier stuff)
You can try buying the doorway chin up bar. Since it's fixed onto the frame of the door, it's not really high and therefore you could kick yourself up from the ground if you can't pull yourself up.
musclemass
post Apr 13 2007, 01:43 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Apr 13 2007, 01:07 PM)
i'm also interested in that... how much and where?
You can get it in most fitness shops. I think they have it in Studio R too... About RM30 I guess.

musclemass
post Apr 29 2007, 07:04 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Apr 29 2007, 12:08 AM)
Full-body workout
** may need modifications, so input welcome .. tried it out this evening.

Barbell [reps - 2 x 8-12]
1. Squats (not full squats, parallel + hold for a beat)
2. Military Press
3. Stiff-legged Deadlifts
4. Pendlays

Dumbells
5. Bicep curls [concentrated] - 2 x 10-12
6. One-arm bent over dumbell rows [6,6,4,4 -- 4,4,2,2 -- switch= direction palm facing] 2 sets
7. Tricep curls (behind head) - 2 x 10-12

Abs [2 x 15]
8. Medicine ball Sit-up (full? hands reach to ceiling)
9. Medicine ball Crunches
10. Rope climbing (legs up straight, alternate sides) 2 x 12
11. Medicine ball "pass" (technical name? Legs str8, ball between knees, bring knees to chest, take ball with hands and pull over head, then bring back and place between knees before straightening again) - 2 x 10

Dynamic Warmup
50 front kicks
50 side-to-side kicks
20 roundhouse kicks
50 deep knee-up kicks
** repeat 2x
[Note - kicks reach chest-shoulder high, hands always in "guard" position, kickboxing inspired. These are very very good for your legs and gets your heart rate up quick]

---------------------
To add?
1. Moving lunges w/dumbells OR Reverse lunges
2. Upright rows
3. Dumbell flys
4. Calf raise

Missing anything?
I don't see any compound chest exercise in there
musclemass
post May 13 2007, 07:11 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ May 12 2007, 02:39 PM)
Just an update ..

Think I hurt my left arm last week. It has symptoms of tennis elbow from what I can gauge so I have to rest it. Today is the 2nd day with it and it has not gone away. I have to cut back my strength training - or not lift at all. Not sure what to do.

The flipside is that because of this .. I got an iPod Nano and the Nike + kit and shoes .. so will be doing loads of running.
Try cutting back on pushing movements especially triceps extension.

musclemass
post May 14 2007, 12:22 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ May 13 2007, 11:26 PM)
Thanks for the tip. So that means .. I can still do stuff with the arm and not just do a complete 100% rest? I'm just afraid it'll be permanent i.e. aggravate the tendons past a certain point.
Try doing light weights and see how things go. If it still hurts, it's wise to stop for a week or two.

musclemass
post May 18 2007, 12:28 AM

934 posts

If you take whey, try mixing oats with whey. It ain't that bad

0.0211sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:14 PM