Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

tammy
post Jul 18 2010, 01:34 PM

103 posts

hey,

I bought a table cloth from china. and just now the KLIA custom called me said it kena tahan at the custom there and ask either I want to go there to claim or appointed pos laju malaysia to settle it for me. I never face such problem before. Then I asked how much if I pos laju settle it for me, they said RM49.50 like tat. I said ok, then they ask for my IC number and give me my parcel reference number. I have doubts that:-

- sunday got custom working?
- I called back to the number called to me, 03-87872020, is KLIA custom. But they said operator only work on weekdays, and saturday. Why sunday got ppl call me one?
- I only give them IC number, will I risk?
- This is stated as GIFT on the parcel, but why they still tax me? They said wanna tax me and ask me how much is the parcel. I told them is 2nd hands and below RM150.

Anyone who experience this please clear my doubts, help! I was worry I get tipu ler.....HOW?
tammy
post Jul 20 2010, 09:50 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(Stephen Hong @ Jul 20 2010, 08:53 AM)
the phone number is correct.they call u for 2nd time?
yes now I confirmed is correct one. Now waiting for them to tell me how much the tax. I told them is RM150 value, but will they simply tax me?
tammy
post Jul 21 2010, 01:17 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(RzaX @ Jul 20 2010, 12:40 PM)
I think you need an invoice to show them the price you paid for it. If ebay, I think got invoice you can print and show the total you win. But how come kena tahan? Very big package? shipping expensive?
I not sure why also...I also wish to know. Sunday till now everyday call them to ask how is the status but they SLOW LIKE HELL!!!! anyway i can speed up the process?
tammy
post Jul 21 2010, 02:53 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(RzaX @ Jul 21 2010, 01:39 PM)
Actually Pos should send you a letter/notice saying your item is held at Kastam. It will state there all the things to do like pay Pos to settle it for you for a fee (so total is tax + 49.50(Pos's service charge fee) or go to the LCCT to settle yourself. Any letter or notice received yet? If not better wait for it first. You called for status of the item what did Pos say? Did you already pay?
I called and they keep saying passed to department to decide the tax fee.....4days to decide meh? haiyo...

mine product is long dress....what is the tax rate ya?

Added on July 21, 2010, 3:11 pmnormally need how many days to clear the parcel from custom ar? sunday till now still the same....will it be faster if I go direct to the custom?

This post has been edited by tammy: Jul 21 2010, 03:11 PM

0.0213sec    0.53    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:02 PM