Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

PhantomLance
post Aug 20 2013, 01:14 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 19 2013, 05:39 PM)
I bought from cdjapan (http://www.cdjapan.co.jp/) also.

I used fedex for all 3 purchases because my first purchase with shipping via fedex was satisfactory.. good tracking + fast..

here's the breakdown of the items i bought..

Purchase 1 (with free gifts of 3 posters):
3 singles (all w/DVD) - 1429yen x3 = 4287 yen
shipping (fedex) - 1940 yen
Total: 6227 yen
Final total after redeem points: 5927 yen
Tax/duty @ MS custom: MYR 0

Purchase 2 (with free gifts of 3 posters):
5 singles 1 album (3 w/ DVD) - 8366 yen
shipping (fedex) - 2100 yen
Total: 10466 yen
Final Total after redeem points: 10349 yen
Tax/duty @ MS Custom: MYR 60.35

Purchase 3:
1 single 2 albums (2 w/DVD 1 w/magazine cover) - 7474 yen
shipping (fedex) -  2100 yen
Total: 9574 yen
Final Total after redeem points: 9574 yen
Tax/duty @ MS Custom: MYR 56.40

This is the breakdown of details of my purchases le.. it's less than RM 500, but dunno why they charge me 10% duty (as per written in that receipt).. they randomly add some figures then take 10% off from it.. sad.gif

later if i can, after my class, i go take picture of the receipts and attach here..
Hah....coz this is why https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2863345
I order for CDJapan and with Fedex's help they i got the tax fee brakdown
PhantomLance
post Aug 21 2013, 03:32 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(astraeus @ Aug 20 2013, 04:27 PM)
Erk... like that ah?

Last March, I bought 2 music CDs (both albums) thru CDJapan, but shipped them using EMS.

No tax. So does that mean if EMS no tax imposed? Since EMS will be delivered by Pos Malaysia?
No sure for your case hmm.gif , based on the letter it says "BAGI DAGANGAN YANG DIHANTAR MELALUI SYARIKAT-SYARIKAT KURIER KE MALAYSIA"
Pos Malaysia not considered as SYARIKAT KURIER?? blink.gif Or could it be after they charge the KOS TAMBANG DAGANGAN your parcel still below RM500?
Or because your shipping detail stated all the fees breakdown with shipping fees and tax all those stuff?? hmm.gif
PhantomLance
post Aug 21 2013, 03:38 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 21 2013, 09:32 AM)
Seems like this is what happened for my case. any way to avoid getting charged that kos tambang dagangan? cause if they charge like that, very very easy to get tax.. cause the kos tambang dagangan minimum edi RM 322.. means my package + shipping cannot exceed RM 178.. -.-
FedEx.. why?
Well, theoretically is either you make your parcel ABOVE 500KG rclxm9.gif
or stay safe with parcel not exceed RM178.
Still needs more people to confirm hmm.gif

This guy says
QUOTE(cheeho04 @ Jun 27 2013, 07:19 PM)
Never have such problem with dhl so far. Didn't you have included the FedEx cost on the shipment paper works? If not, the customs would calculate it based on the mentioned rate which is very high. Cheers
So far i haven't have anyone confirming this nod.gif
PhantomLance
post Aug 21 2013, 03:56 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(aimil7 @ Aug 21 2013, 03:40 PM)
Well good luck to me. I'm gonna post my experience later once my order arrived. CHEERS
QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 21 2013, 03:42 PM)
i not sure wor.. the receipt in my car. later i check. very hard to read cause they using some cheap paper (60gsm i think) and the printed ink is kinda faded like that wan.. no column labeling.. only see numbers.. -.-

i forgot fedex got list out the shipping cost or not.. but my shipping fee edi 2100 yen.. which is like RM 70 liao.. sad.gif

if i split my parcels, my shipping fee going to kill me before the custom duties.. i might as well bundle till big big and let them take 10% off my purchase.. sad.gif cause i should be purchasing again in another month or 2.. huhuhu
Well i've just put an order from yahooJapanAution for an action figures toy. I ask the seller to put in shipping fees in the paperwork and declare the item with around xxxxYen rclxm9.gif . Shipping itself cost 1900+Yen. Let's just wait and see yawn.gif

This post has been edited by PhantomLance: Aug 22 2013, 11:43 AM
PhantomLance
post Aug 22 2013, 11:26 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Aug 21 2013, 06:11 PM)
falsifying declaration is an offence... do not do it.. i suggest you amend your post.. you might get us all in trouble next time with our private small imports
Haha, yes of course falsifying declaration is a crime! But then again, if you have an official receipt attached with your shipping paperwork, or you have the price labeled at your goods, or your goods/parcel is a big box with expensive electronics inside, and you go and declare it with an unreasonable value, i would say you are STUPID indeed ohmy.gif For my case, toys is just a piece of plastics which can range from RM10 till RM1000, its all depends on how you value it. Just like the McD Minions. It was priced RM3 at McD, but at lowyat.NET it's RM30, then if it's from SG it's RM80. How would you say and clarified who is falsifying declaration?? Pandai2 lan sendiri... thumbup.gif
PhantomLance
post Aug 22 2013, 11:41 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Aug 21 2013, 06:16 PM)
they should have called you before you accept the charges.. did they?
Yes they should. But like mine, most of the time they will just show up in front of you, With your parcel, together with all the paperworks of the tax done with a receipt. You can either
1. Pay the bloody hell tax and receive the goods
2. Reject the goods and return it to your seller (extra charge might apply)
3. Refuse to pay and go KLIA and argue with the Custom Officer your self.

Yes you can complain and argue with Fedex's "Custom Duty Consultant", but in the end she/he will only clarified with you how the tax was taxed. As i said, they were charged by Malaysia Customs and what they did is just transfer the charges to you. If you want your money back you still have to go head-to-head with Custom Officers at KLIA. sweat.gif
PhantomLance
post Aug 28 2013, 04:55 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Aug 23 2013, 04:03 PM)
cool2.gif
tongue.gif We live in gray world. Get on with it
PhantomLance
post Aug 28 2013, 05:05 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 26 2013, 06:03 PM)
haiz.. i have another purchase coming in..

i really dun get that system la~~~

why my first purchase (RM200~), if add that kos tambang dagangan (RM 322), it should exceed RM 500, yet they didn't tax me..

but 2nd and 3rd purchase (RM 330~), they add that kos tambang dagangan, then total amount to RM 650~, then they tax me RM 65~.

so inconsistent..

and now i got another purchase coming in at RM 680~ how will they calculate the tax this time?

somemore fedex de shipping is attached with the parcel.. how they calculate wan~~ sad.gif so lost..
One thing that is possible is that the conversion rate at Custom's side is different with yours. Like my case with CDJapan the price i pay using paypal was 2.8+ , but at custom side they use 3.2+ and calculate my parcel based on the declared value in yen. So the value that i pay was actually different with the one they calculated. Maybe you got lucky and when they calculate your parcel it did not exceed RM500? hmm.gif

0.0314sec    0.46    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:39 AM