> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

owikh84
post Apr 15 2012, 01:01 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(melpower @ Apr 14 2012, 03:04 PM)
Hello can someone please help me? I'm really bad at all these taxes and stuff...
Just wondering how much it would be if i bought this?
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...69#ht_721wt_700
It says postage $11.21 around RM34 so if total up would be RM92... but what about if shipped here and all? (read seller T&C)..

P.S he disabled pms -.-
ANY goods cheaper than RM500 will NOT be taxed
melpower
post Apr 16 2012, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 15 2012, 01:01 AM)
Thank you rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
dansar
post Apr 17 2012, 10:58 PM

hi...i'm newbie here..need some answer here....my friends from perth want to send me an iphone 4s that cannot use overthere as a gift to me .. but the problem for me now.. i read many other thread from lyn.. many xcuses.. many procudere... so.. i confuse now.. is it can arrive here to me? without kastam or sirim approved ,tax ,etc.. can someone explain to me... how my friend can send the iphone 4s safely ariive in malaysia to me? what procedure i need to do.. the simpliest way .. PLZ!! PLZ!! HELP ME OUT!!

This post has been edited by dansar: Apr 25 2012, 05:38 AM
cloudchng
post Apr 18 2012, 12:49 PM

287 posts

hi, anyone can help me clarify the status of my register mail from HK, its a tablet I bought from HK and the declared price is $60. Will I get tax?

Date Remark foreign office
18 April 2012 Send item to customs HONG KONG
18 April 2012 International Acceptance(MYKULA) KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA HONG KONG
Sham903n
post Apr 19 2012, 02:01 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 15 2012, 01:01 AM)
any goods PLUS postage = RM500 and lower will not be taxed..

Added on April 19, 2012, 2:03 am
QUOTE(melpower @ Apr 14 2012, 03:04 PM)
Hello can someone please help me? I'm really bad at all these taxes and stuff...
Just wondering how much it would be if i bought this?
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...69#ht_721wt_700
It says postage $11.21 around RM34 so if total up would be RM92... but what about if shipped here and all? (read seller T&C)..

P.S he disabled pms -.-
no tax/duty charge.. you can order

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Apr 19 2012, 02:03 AM
Harddisk
post Apr 20 2012, 07:52 AM

2,959 posts

Is there any recommendation for a reliable forwarded service in US.

Would love to get something, but they don't ship to Malaysia. sad.gif
billytattertons
post Apr 20 2012, 12:38 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Apr 20 2012, 07:52 AM)
Is there any recommendation for a reliable forwarded service in US.

Would love to get something, but they don't ship to Malaysia. sad.gif
some forumers offer this service. can check it out in the service noticeboard.

Harddisk
post Apr 22 2012, 12:32 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(billytattertons @ Apr 20 2012, 12:38 PM)
some forumers offer this service. can check it out in the service noticeboard.
Celestee
post Apr 24 2012, 02:27 PM

Hi How about nail polishes? Do you usually have problems with shipping nail polishes from the US?
dansar
post Apr 25 2012, 05:39 AM

hi...i'm newbie here..need some answer here....my friends from perth want to send me an iphone 4s that cannot use overthere as a gift to me .. but the problem for me now.. i read many other thread from lyn.. many xcuses.. many procudere... so.. i confuse now.. is it can arrive here to me? without kastam or sirim approved ,tax ,etc.. can someone explain to me... how my friend can send the iphone 4s safely ariive in malaysia to me? what procedure i need to do.. the simpliest way .. PLZ!! PLZ!! HELP ME OUT!!
ch_leong
post May 3 2012, 02:48 PM

439 posts

You need to ship by courier or insured post. Handphone is a high risk lost item thus the insurance will be about 2% - 5% of the face value of the item.
Shipper will need to fill declaration form. You may ask him/her declare as gift but whether it attracts tax or not purely subject to custom inspection.

QUOTE(dansar @ Apr 25 2012, 05:39 AM)
for_fun
post May 5 2012, 12:48 PM

I can anyone tell me is there any tax or duty for tennis racquet?
billytattertons
post May 5 2012, 12:54 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(for_fun @ May 5 2012, 12:48 PM)
I can anyone tell me is there any tax or duty for tennis racquet?
Should be nil. can check from here ---> tariff
suang
post May 5 2012, 05:51 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(jeci1999 @ Mar 3 2012, 08:47 PM)
Hey, think for those want to buy clothing and cosmetic should buy it thru spree. No extra charges on the tax. They kau tim all the things & send it to you.

Added on March 3, 2012, 8:48 pmElectronic, i have no idea.
Yeah, I agree! I was so confused about shipping charges, taxes, customs until a fren introduced me to this link.
no so convenient-order, pay in RM n items arrive at my doorstep!
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry47231874

thistle
post May 6 2012, 06:04 PM

321 posts

Are cosmetics taxed? I bought a 50 ml jar of soap from the UK. It costs less than 2 GBP. Seller posted it on 23 April.

Shouldn't I have received it by now? How do you know whether your shipment is held by Customs due to tax?
electronicfly
post May 6 2012, 06:15 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(thistle @ May 6 2012, 06:04 PM)
Are cosmetics taxed? I bought a 50 ml jar of soap from the UK. It costs less than 2 GBP. Seller posted it on 23 April.

Shouldn't I have received it by now? How do you know whether your shipment is held by Customs due to tax?
Item so cheap, and only one jar, impossible kena tax. What sort of postage was used? Unless it's expedited mail, be prepared to wait longer. It's been barely 2 weeks, so if used normal mail it can take about another 2 weeks or more. My parcels from UK (treated like normal mail one, no tracking, not expedited) usually take about 5 weeks to reach me.
thistle
post May 6 2012, 07:42 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(electronicfly @ May 6 2012, 06:15 PM)
Item so cheap, and only one jar, impossible kena tax. What sort of postage was used? Unless it's expedited mail, be prepared to wait longer. It's been barely 2 weeks, so if used normal mail it can take about another 2 weeks or more. My parcels from UK (treated like normal mail one, no tracking, not expedited) usually take about 5 weeks to reach me.
Don't need to get pharmacy approval for the Customs, right? Normal Royal Mail International Small Packets. Magazines that I buy off eBay reach me in 10 days. I think my ASOS parcel took 20 days?
netdrive77
post May 7 2012, 09:53 AM

Dear esteemed forumers who helped answer so many of our question!

I want to know if there's custom imposed on Diamonds (loose diamonds) or diamond jewelery? and Gold stuff.

Many thanks!!
ar_zaem
post May 7 2012, 12:47 PM

402 posts

i intended to buy things from korea... can anybody guide me to buy things.... what is the first thing that i need to know in buying oversea product.... let me know the procedure...
af_1993
post May 7 2012, 04:37 PM

108 posts

i bought some kpop albums from korea worth RM300++ plus shipping..when i checked on pos malaysia website, it said Item held by custom for inspection. High - value goods PPL Butterworth..
i havent received any notice from them..

so is that mean i have to go to PPL and declare the item?

134 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:16 AM