Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

Sham903n
post Feb 23 2012, 05:56 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Feb 23 2012, 07:15 AM)
You may get tax, but note that the way to calculate whether you exceed RM 500 is slightly different. The way customs calculates whether you exceed RM 500 is as below:

value of item + freight charges + insurance

value of item = converted to RM
freight charges = based on their table, not what you paid
insurance = 1% of the converted value of the item

In my case, I ordered something from the states, which I paid RM 270 for (including shipping). But based on customs calculations, the total value came up to RM 570+, so I already exceeded the limit.

To add salt to wound, the shipper declared the item as plastic materials instead of toys, so I am being taxed RM 180+ (30% instead of 10%) for the shipment.
thats last part you could have negotiate with the officer.. 30% ouch

Added on February 23, 2012, 5:58 pm
QUOTE(DallasToler-Wade @ Feb 21 2012, 12:04 AM)
I am thinking of buying a Lego model, costs around RM1k with shipping. Is it a 10% tax?
yes

Added on February 23, 2012, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(nycdist @ Feb 22 2012, 02:00 PM)
what items can or cannot import from other countries? i am looking to importing container of broken electronics like lcd, computers, handphones to malaysia to repair. will Malaysia allow Clearance and tax free? if charge tax, how much? what should avoid and do first? need your professional help.
you declare under electronic parts you'll get taxed...
you declare under computer used parts you dont get taxed...
phone is a different story...i donno that story

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Feb 23 2012, 05:59 PM
naith
post Feb 23 2012, 09:24 PM

158 posts

I don't think so. The way it works (at least when I order from the Blizzard Store anyway) is that the shipping company has already paid for the tax, so they are asking me to pay them back essentially.

Anyway, I have already told them I refuse the package and told them to ship back to Blizzard. The shipper (FeDex) says they will charge the tax and shipping fee back to the sender (Blizzard)
HiT-AbLe
post Feb 24 2012, 02:22 AM

866 posts

I want to buy some PC water cooling stuffs from US, are those water cooling stuffs tax free? Can I declare it as computer item?
Sham903n
post Feb 25 2012, 09:08 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Feb 24 2012, 02:22 AM)
I want to buy some PC water cooling stuffs from US, are those water cooling stuffs tax free? Can I declare it as computer item?
yes, just mention computer..

Added on February 25, 2012, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(naith @ Feb 23 2012, 09:24 PM)
I don't think so. The way it works (at least when I order from the Blizzard Store anyway) is that the shipping company has already paid for the tax, so they are asking me to pay them back essentially.

Anyway, I have already told them I refuse the package and told them to ship back to Blizzard. The shipper (FeDex) says they will charge the tax and shipping fee back to the sender (Blizzard)
fedex will call you upfront and tell you the amount of Malaysia Tax you have to pay.. which they will bill you later when cod.. if you agree to receive delivery..

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Feb 25 2012, 09:15 PM
directxs
post Feb 26 2012, 08:25 PM

sifoo2 here mau tanya la
saya ade angkat satu unit satellite receiver dari china.
agak2 kene sirim fee tak kalu saya request vendor
tulis dekat CN22 "RETURN FOR REPAIR"?
konon2nya saya ni penjual la.

Added on February 27, 2012, 12:08 pmso has anyone tried b4?
does it work?

This post has been edited by directxs: Feb 27 2012, 12:08 PM
Sham903n
post Feb 28 2012, 08:04 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(directxs @ Feb 26 2012, 08:25 PM)
sifoo2 here mau tanya la

does it work?
no comment la bro... this item is not legal in malaysia
davidsjhoh
post Feb 29 2012, 10:59 AM

31 posts

Hey i order a rm 700 swimwear from europe. what tax charges will there be & how much. Pls Help
redjol
post Feb 29 2012, 03:02 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(davidsjhoh @ Feb 29 2012, 10:59 AM)
Hey i order a rm 700 swimwear from europe. what tax charges will there be  & how much. Pls Help
must be 10% from the price includes shipping and insurance
ikki9394
post Mar 2 2012, 11:28 PM

NexT
582 posts

Are there any tax charges on these items from overseas?

Badminton racquet - Singapore

Headphones - Sweden / UK / US / HK / Singapore

Thanks in advance ! biggrin.gif
AndersonNeo1989
post Mar 3 2012, 07:48 AM

I import a roll forming machine from China how much will it be charged duty all that ?

limhongwoon
post Mar 3 2012, 08:39 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

If Computer Power Supply, it count as Computer Part or Electronic ?

If Computer Part then tax free ?

Any idea whether got taxed or tax free ?
jeci1999
post Mar 3 2012, 08:47 PM

17 posts

Hey, think for those want to buy clothing and cosmetic should buy it thru spree. No extra charges on the tax. They kau tim all the things & send it to you.

Added on March 3, 2012, 8:48 pmElectronic, i have no idea.

This post has been edited by jeci1999: Mar 3 2012, 08:48 PM
Sham903n
post Mar 5 2012, 10:49 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Mar 3 2012, 08:39 PM)
If Computer Power Supply, it count as Computer Part or Electronic ?

If Computer Part then tax free ?

Any idea whether got taxed or tax free ?
if its for computer.. yes, tax free... for other electronic device, tax
make sure your sender states computer power supply..

Added on March 5, 2012, 10:50 am
QUOTE(AndersonNeo1989 @ Mar 3 2012, 07:48 AM)
I import a roll forming machine from China how much will it be charged duty all that ?
what category is this? roll forming...? textile..? construction..? agriculture ??

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Mar 5 2012, 10:51 AM
AndersonNeo1989
post Mar 5 2012, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Mar 5 2012, 10:49 AM)
if its for computer.. yes, tax free... for other electronic device, tax
make sure your sender states computer power supply..

Added on March 5, 2012, 10:50 am
what category is this? roll forming...? textile..? construction..? agriculture ??
I think is treating metal? The machine that formed & shaped the metal sheet into the factory's rooftop. HS 8479?

Machine like this one http://www.samco-machinery.com/samco-purlin-roll-former.html

This post has been edited by AndersonNeo1989: Mar 5 2012, 06:11 PM
Sham903n
post Mar 7 2012, 08:23 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(AndersonNeo1989 @ Mar 5 2012, 06:09 PM)
I think is treating metal? The machine that formed & shaped the metal sheet into the factory's rooftop. HS 8479?

Machine like this one http://www.samco-machinery.com/samco-purlin-roll-former.html
looks like no duty or import tax on these but there is a 10% sales tax...
you might want to confirm again with a Customs Officer
Starscream666
post Mar 12 2012, 11:17 AM

230 posts

Guys, need some views here, im gonna buy a musical instrument, specificity a guitar stomp box, the size is like slightly bigger the iphone and fat la offcourse something like a boss pedal if u know what im saying

item cost $159
USPS express mail: $24

roughly everything would be rm553, now in this i dont know wether i kena tax or not cuz the item can fit at the palm of your hand, so guys let me hear your views, cuz im stressed now taking panadol mix with coke to sleep kinda stress sad.gif
tvknight
post Mar 12 2012, 12:17 PM

Just to share my first experince here . Bought item on Ebay from Hong Kong and the whole process time line :

29/02 - Item purchased on ebay/paypal (paypal transaction at 15:52:04)
29/02 - Email from seller : Confirmation on payment received for item
01/03 - Email from seller : dispatched item (sent via hongkong post registered airmail)

Hong Kong Mail tracking system:
05/03
- The item (RCXXXXXXXXXHK) left Hong Kong for its destination on 5-Mar-2012
06/03
07/03

Pos Malaysia PosDaftar tracking system using same tracking id RCXXXXXXXXXHK:
05/03
- None
06/03
- None
07/03
- 6 March 2012 Domestic Dispatch HONG KONG
- 6 March 2012 Internal Process at (MYKULA) KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA HONG KONG

Pos Malaysia PosDaftar tracking system using local pos malaysia id RFXXXXXXXMY (the id requested by emailing them) :

07/03(Tue)
- 6 March 2012 Domestic Dispatch
- 6 March 2012 Internal Process at (MYKULA) KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA
08/03(Wed)
- 6 March 2012 Domestic Dispatch
- 6 March 2012 Internal Process at (MYKULA) KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA
09/03 (Fri)
- 9 March 2012 Dispatched at (433000) CAWANGAN SERAHAN SERI KEMBANGAN
- 9 March 2012 Internal Process at (433000) CAWANGAN SERAHAN SERI KEMBANGAN
- 9 March 2012 Undelivered at (433000) CAWANGAN SERAHAN SERI KEMBANGAN
- 9 March 2012 Attempt to Deliver at (433000) CAWANGAN SERAHAN SERI KEMBANGAN
- 8 March 2012 Internal Process at (433000) CAWANGAN SERAHAN SERI KEMBANGAN.
10/03 (Sat)
- Received notification on item to be collected from POS Malaysia in my mail box.
12/03 (Mon)
- item collected from Post office.

No tax smile.gif smooth all the way.

This post has been edited by tvknight: Mar 12 2012, 12:24 PM
World_of_Julie
post Mar 12 2012, 12:23 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(directxs @ Feb 26 2012, 08:25 PM)
sifoo2 here mau tanya la

does it work?
Bos... Itu Satelite Dish tak boleh eh...

Tak ada lesen kena saman starting RM 50,000 kalau installed dan adapt tahu.

Bukan Sirim fee... Memang 'haram' di sisi undang.

XzuLLX
post Mar 13 2012, 08:23 PM

$$$$$$
517 posts

apparell import duty and tax how much?
Saggitario
post Mar 14 2012, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(bbjslee @ Jul 9 2008, 03:24 PM)
It is RM200/kg
so if your's is 500gm, it is RM100 lor.
hi guys, can you please help me understand how exactly Malaysian Customs charge us on importing tobacco (cigars). Last week I was charged RM395.94 for the cigars that I bought from overseas.

Here's the details:

I was charged under the 2402.10.000 (tariff code) which says:

Import Rate (RM200/KG) + Sales Tax 5% + Excise Duty 20% and 150 p.u. (per unit)

How do they calculate the unit? Mine was 1526.46.. I wonder where did they dig the figure from..

The total weight was 0.45 kg (which is 450g) - it was 45 sticks of cigars.

I bought the cigars for RM686.91 (it was 2 boxes of cigars and 2 sample packs of 5 cigars).

In the form, they said this:

Duti+Eksais+Cukai Jualan = Jumlah
RM90 + 254.38 +51.56 = RM395.94

by right, the excise duty is RM 137.39 (coz, 686.91 x 0.2 (which means 20%) = 137.39).. why is it 254.38??

and sales tax.. by right it should be just RM686.91 x 0.05 (which means 5%) = RM34.35, but they charge me RM51.56..

I am perplexed la.. BTW I attach the photo of the document here..

Can you guys please help?

Thanks a gee!

134 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:04 AM