134 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

naith
post Jan 25 2012, 02:11 PM

158 posts

I ordered 2 action figures from the states, totaling up to USD 60. And when the shipment arrived earlier, my mum said the tax was RM 180. She refused to pay it and asked the FeDex to clarify why the tax was so high. Is customs allowed to tax us for 100% of the value of the items?
orenzai
post Jan 26 2012, 11:36 AM

3,114 posts

I'm looking to bring in some bottles of cosmetic cream. Will I be taxed? or is it safer to hire a forwarder to handle it? Im only bringing in about 10 bottles. should amount to about RM1k+
RzaX
post Jan 26 2012, 12:12 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Jan 25 2012, 02:11 PM)
I ordered 2 action figures from the states, totaling up to USD 60. And when the shipment arrived earlier, my mum said the tax was RM 180. She refused to pay it and asked the FeDex to clarify why the tax was so high. Is customs allowed to tax us for 100% of the value of the items?
If it is from Fedex you have to add their agent fees for tax payment which would be very high plus your tax. Usually figures will get 10% or 15% tax but seems you need to ask Fedex how much the tax was and how much is their "processing fee". Was the shipping plus cost of figures amount to more than RM500? Seems fishy that lower than RM500 figures would get taxed..
naith
post Jan 26 2012, 01:43 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(RzaX @ Jan 26 2012, 12:12 PM)
If it is from Fedex you have to add their agent fees for tax payment which would be very high plus your tax. Usually figures will get 10% or 15% tax but seems you need to ask Fedex how much the tax was and how much is their "processing fee". Was the shipping plus cost of figures amount to more than RM500? Seems fishy that lower than RM500 figures would get taxed..
Nope. The figures were USD 60, and the shipping was USD 25. which is roughly around RM 270

But my previous shipment which was also taxed was of lower value around USD 70 including shipping. Previously the tax for that was RM 54, because they calculated RM 150 (which was the converted value of the item) + RM 384 (Freight charges, assigned by customs depending on origin of country), so by their calculation, the total + shipping was RM 534, which exceeds RM 500.

I was surprised that it was RM 180 this time. Still waiting for FeDex to get back to me.

This post has been edited by naith: Jan 26 2012, 01:45 PM
kittyme
post Jan 29 2012, 08:32 AM

24 posts

hi, could anyone pls help me?

i plan to send a electrical appliances for kitchen use from UK to Malaysia,
same model and same kind, same thing

3 units x 30 pounds each = 90 pounds
(it will be about RM 450 NOT including postage)

will I be taxed?
should i send them separately or it is ok to send together?
do i need SIRIM AP?

the shipping is already very high, so i need to consider the other possible charges

OlgaC4
post Jan 29 2012, 03:59 PM

5,292 posts

Nice info
whatsayyou
post Jan 29 2012, 11:36 PM

525 posts

if bringing back rams, put in luggage, will get taxed?
say 5 sets of 2x4gb rams
kyoupiruchi
post Feb 9 2012, 05:42 PM

17 posts

Hello, not sure if this was asked or not. I've tried looking online and calling various numbers like Pos customer service, Royal customs etc etc. But to no avail. The royal customs lady even gave me a bogus number to call when I asked about the Pos Custom office at LCCT.

I want to know what is the opening hours for that office? Especially on a Saturday.

I have a small business and I make jewelry and sell them online, recently I bought some sterling silver supplies (sterling silver is 92.5% silver) from US that amounts to $270 excluding shipment. It's not my first sterling silver purchase, but it's my biggest in $$$ so far. Are they declared under 7106 or 7107? The supplies are mainly jewelry chain, loose chains in meters use to make jewelry.
vinnnz
post Feb 9 2012, 10:04 PM

I would like to ask for Computer or phone accessories, do i need to apply import licence and what do they tax me for those product?
csng
post Feb 11 2012, 02:34 PM

106 posts

My friend in uk is going to send me a used speaker. The speaker was Made in Malaysia.
Do you think i will kena custom?

ZeneticX
post Feb 16 2012, 08:45 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

anybody bought from razer store before? faced any problems with tax or custom here?

http://ap.razerzone.com/store/
Sham903n
post Feb 17 2012, 04:06 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 16 2012, 08:45 PM)
anybody bought from razer store before? faced any problems with tax or custom here?

http://ap.razerzone.com/store/
computer stuff tax free
redjol
post Feb 18 2012, 06:45 PM

224 posts

may i know. are the accessories like wallet and belts also entitle for tax if the price exceed rm500?
Sham903n
post Feb 18 2012, 06:53 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(redjol @ Feb 18 2012, 06:45 PM)
may  i know. are the accessories like wallet and belts also entitle for tax if the price exceed rm500?
yes
Woll3ane
post Feb 19 2012, 05:32 PM

Hi, im wondering if i buy , maybe 20 pieces of bateries from ebay, will it be tax by kastam? will it held by them or anything?

1st time import stuff from oversea country, need some useful info from u all. =)
Sham903n
post Feb 20 2012, 01:42 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(Woll3ane @ Feb 19 2012, 05:32 PM)
Hi, im wondering if i buy , maybe 20 pieces of bateries from ebay, will it be tax by kastam? will it held by them or anything?

1st time import stuff from oversea country, need some useful info from u all. =)
air freight more than >RM500 (item+postage) will be tax
by surface/sea >RM250 (item+postage) will be tax

computer items are tax free, but even thou expensive stuff need to be declared like RM1000 above items... so you need to fill up forms in the "kastam" office to get it clear or just get pos malaysia or your courier to do it for you for a fee
DallasToler-Wade
post Feb 21 2012, 12:04 AM

22 posts

I am thinking of buying a Lego model, costs around RM1k with shipping. Is it a 10% tax?
nycdist
post Feb 22 2012, 02:00 PM

53 posts

what items can or cannot import from other countries? i am looking to importing container of broken electronics like lcd, computers, handphones to malaysia to repair. will Malaysia allow Clearance and tax free? if charge tax, how much? what should avoid and do first? need your professional help.
stupiak07
post Feb 22 2012, 07:45 PM

397 posts

i am thinking of importing some magnet. would it taxable?
naith
post Feb 23 2012, 07:15 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(DallasToler-Wade @ Feb 21 2012, 12:04 AM)
I am thinking of buying a Lego model, costs around RM1k with shipping. Is it a 10% tax?
You may get tax, but note that the way to calculate whether you exceed RM 500 is slightly different. The way customs calculates whether you exceed RM 500 is as below:

value of item + freight charges + insurance

value of item = converted to RM
freight charges = based on their table, not what you paid
insurance = 1% of the converted value of the item

In my case, I ordered something from the states, which I paid RM 270 for (including shipping). But based on customs calculations, the total value came up to RM 570+, so I already exceeded the limit.

To add salt to wound, the shipper declared the item as plastic materials instead of toys, so I am being taxed RM 180+ (30% instead of 10%) for the shipment.

This post has been edited by naith: Feb 23 2012, 07:15 AM

134 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:12 PM