Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

kca
post Jul 25 2010, 03:07 PM

77 posts

I just receive a call from custom oso, sunday ==603-87872020, says my item landed at custom, ask to go collect...they gv me the reference number, can i go tomolo to the custom? izzit nr LCCT or anyone do provide tis type of service?

Actually, I'm expecting 2 parcel

Parcel 1 send out july 22 from USA - RM520/-

Parcel 2 send out July 17 from USA - RM1,170/-

i dont know which parcel landed at custom now..i forgot to ask just now the sender is who...

Pls help and share your experience...thanks!
johnnight2
post Jul 25 2010, 03:10 PM

183 posts

Just call them tomorrow at office hrs. Expected you to declare the cargo in front custom and pay duty if incurred.
kca
post Jul 25 2010, 03:51 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(kca @ Jul 25 2010, 03:07 PM)

I just receive a call from custom oso, sunday ==603-87872020, says my item landed at custom, ask to go collect...they gv me the reference number, can i go tomolo to the custom? izzit nr LCCT  or anyone do provide tis type of service?

Actually, I'm expecting 2 parcel

Parcel 1 send out july 22 from USA - RM520/-

Parcel 2 send out July 17 from USA - RM1,170/-

i dont know which parcel landed at custom now..i forgot to ask just now the sender is who...

Pls help and share your experience...thanks!
Detailed Results: -- parcel 2

Arrived Abroad, July 25, 2010, 9:53 am, MALAYSIA
International Dispatch, July 19, 2010, 9:28 am, ISC MIAMI FL (USPS)
Arrival
Arrival at Post Office, July 19, 2010, 6:10 am, MIAMI, FL 33112
Processed through Sort Facility, July 17, 2010, 4:47 pm, BIRMINGHAM, AL 35203
Electronic Shipping Info Received, July 17, 2010

Detailed Results: --- parcel 1

Into Foreign Customs, July 25, 2010, 9:26 am, MALAYSIA
Arrived Abroad, July 25, 2010, 9:25 am, MALAYSIA
International Dispatch, July 22, 2010, 9:19 am, ISC NEW YORK NY(USPS)
Arrival
Acceptance, July 21, 2010, 5:55 pm, CAMBRIDGE, MA 02138

both arrive together....aih...

any good advice!!!!

btw, where is the custom office in KLIA?

Added on July 25, 2010, 4:09 pmhow much roughly would be the tax? based on my details below..RM500 not taxable is based on per shipment??

QUOTE(kca @ Jul 25 2010, 03:51 PM)
Detailed Results: -- parcel 2

Arrived Abroad, July 25, 2010, 9:53 am, MALAYSIA
International Dispatch, July 19, 2010, 9:28 am, ISC MIAMI FL (USPS)
Arrival
Arrival at Post Office, July 19, 2010, 6:10 am, MIAMI, FL 33112
Processed through Sort Facility, July 17, 2010, 4:47 pm, BIRMINGHAM, AL 35203
Electronic Shipping Info Received, July 17, 2010
Detailed Results: --- parcel 1

Into Foreign Customs, July 25, 2010, 9:26 am, MALAYSIA
Arrived Abroad, July 25, 2010, 9:25 am, MALAYSIA
International Dispatch, July 22, 2010, 9:19 am, ISC NEW YORK NY(USPS)
Arrival
Acceptance, July 21, 2010, 5:55 pm, CAMBRIDGE, MA 02138

both arrive together....aih...

any good advice!!!!

btw, where is the custom office in KLIA?

Added on July 26, 2010, 6:57 pmi'm there at pos msia courier n mel this noon abt 2.30pm, very quiet, only me there and few other, less than 3...no waiting, just proceed from counter, to counter for the inspection ...charged RM80//- regret i didnt do much nego ...at 1st the officer says rm100...no unpleasant experience...all very tactful... that all...1,
CAN I CHECK, IF YOU ALWAYS SAY IN 1 MTH 2-3 TIMES RECEIVE PARCEL FROM OVERSEAS, THEY WILL HV THE RECORD ON YOU AND WILL TAKE NOTE?? USING OTHER NAMES AND DIFFERENT ADDRESS WILL HELP? THANKS!

This post has been edited by kca: Jul 26 2010, 06:57 PM
jycheang
post Jul 30 2010, 10:26 PM

236 posts

PC game that I buy is on DVD format.
feedback from fedex,Customwant my parcel submit to MIDA to check the contain, take one week.

after few phone discussion and show parcel to custom officer, he issue 10% sales and description= video games cartridge

Tell them is PC game use for computer but they don't care after see the item and custom declaration form.

tax or on hold to MIDA
lazarus7247
post Jul 30 2010, 11:31 PM

291 posts

Hi all i need help, i ordered 2 jerseys from kitbag.com at the price of 92.92 pounds on 25th of July ( RM5 - 1 Pound ) including postage. To my horror, ups issued me a bill requesting RM262 for custom duties.

What should i do ? I thought i was not taxable for items under RM500 ?
RzaX
post Jul 31 2010, 12:08 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Jul 30 2010, 11:31 PM)
Hi all i need help, i ordered 2 jerseys from kitbag.com at the price of 92.92 pounds on 25th of July ( RM5 - 1 Pound ) including postage. To my horror, ups issued me a bill requesting RM262 for custom duties.

What should i do ? I thought i was not taxable for items under RM500 ?
Clothing is taxed for 15% irregardless of amount if I recall correctly..
lazarus7247
post Jul 31 2010, 08:16 AM

291 posts

That is bullshit. 15% of RM500 is not RM262.
ping0613
post Jul 31 2010, 09:31 AM

Look at all my stars
2,974 posts

QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Jul 31 2010, 09:16 AM)
nice calculation. Math sure get A.
RzaX
post Jul 31 2010, 02:18 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Jul 31 2010, 08:16 AM)
How much is the brokerage fee UPS set for helping you process the tax? That's the killer there. Same as Pos Malaysia ask a fee of RM 49.50 for helping you pay tax on your behalf..

This post has been edited by RzaX: Jul 31 2010, 02:20 PM
josnkillz
post Jul 31 2010, 02:57 PM

Quick question, I bought an ipod touch 32gb second gen about 1.5 years ago. Price was upwards of 1000rm. I think it is in customs but I didn't know i had to claim it. I thought it was never sent, so the website gave me a refund. Is it still possible to claim it?
joeyong5197
post Jul 31 2010, 07:45 PM

22 posts

Hi all, I just bought a jersey online, worth of 78 pounds including DHL shipping fee, converted around RM392. Will my parcel get hold by custom? If im not mistaken, goods less than RM 500 is tax free right?

AskarPerang
post Jul 31 2010, 07:49 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(joeyong5197 @ Jul 31 2010, 07:45 PM)
Hi all, I just bought a jersey online, worth of 78 pounds including DHL shipping fee, converted around RM392. Will my parcel get hold by custom? If im not mistaken, goods less than RM 500 is tax free right?
No, will not be tax.
But maybe they will hold your parcel for further verification. If you are unlucky, they will hold the parcel and you have to go and collect it bringing together the invoice and other relevant documents to proof the price of the items.
joeyong5197
post Jul 31 2010, 08:07 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 31 2010, 07:49 PM)
No, will not be tax.
But maybe they will hold your parcel for further verification. If you are unlucky, they will hold the parcel and you have to go and collect it bringing together the invoice and other relevant documents to proof the price of the items.
Oic hmm.gif , btw i thaught the invoice or any other proof of purchase document it's being sent and declare by the company i purchase from?
josnkillz
post Aug 2 2010, 01:35 AM

QUOTE(josnkillz @ Jul 31 2010, 02:57 PM)
Quick question, I bought an ipod touch 32gb second gen about 1.5 years ago. Price was upwards of 1000rm. I think it is in customs but I didn't know i had to claim it. I thought it was never sent, so the website gave me a refund. Is it still possible to claim it?
Anybody have any suggestions?
mashimaro31
post Aug 2 2010, 06:23 AM

Hi
anyone here buy any vitamins from overseas? if so, do you need to pay any tax/stamp duty on it?
I need to send some vitamins to my cousins from australia. thanks.
RzaX
post Aug 2 2010, 09:24 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(josnkillz @ Aug 2 2010, 01:35 AM)
Anybody have any suggestions?
If it is already 1.5 years ago I think the item is already sent back to the sender if there is a return address. Do you have the documents saying to come to custom to take the item? If not then I think it is very hard to claim as you have no reference for the custom to check.
AronC
post Aug 2 2010, 05:50 PM

302 posts

hi dear forumers, wanna ask if i buy CD+DVD album from yesasia, total amount RM160, will my items be get hold by custom?
nanakopy87
post Aug 2 2010, 08:01 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

so far i have no problems with it,aronC.i usually bought them from play-asia and cdj.all the parcels arrive safely
AronC
post Aug 2 2010, 08:07 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 2 2010, 08:01 PM)
so far i have no problems with it,aronC.i usually bought them from play-asia and cdj.all the parcels arrive safely
ur purchasing under RM500? i wonder where i can find the Customs Duties Order 1996 pdf file.. hmm.gif
nanakopy87
post Aug 2 2010, 08:10 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

yupp.sometimes it cost me around rm250.noproblem.rm150++ oso pernah cuba.no problem.less than rm100 oso got.no problem oso

134 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:54 AM