Travel To Japan V10

ukiya
post Jul 12 2017, 03:11 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

I m confused a bit with ICOCA + HARUKA and Kansai One Pass.

If I'm get the Kansai One Pass, can I get Haruka discounted rate from KIX to Kyoto?
Or I should stick to ICOCA + HARUKA option?

Is it cheaper to buy single journey from KIX to Kyoto or return journey? But return journey I will go Osaka first before heading back to KIX.

Need the cheapest option to commute around the station. And Kansai one pass can only get it in KIX Airport?
ukiya
post Jul 27 2017, 11:27 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Hi guys...

Just wondering below itinerary workable. Will it be rush?
Be bringing some old folks along... for Hokkaido Winter. Will it be better if I'm drive but kinda afraid coz winter as accident are easier to happen.

This post has been edited by ukiya: Jul 27 2017, 11:28 AM
ukiya
post Jul 27 2017, 11:53 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 27 2017, 11:34 AM)
Winter what Month?  Dec , Jan . Feb . March ?  If Jan or Feb better learn how to put metal chain on tyre.
Most likely after CNY and before beginning of April.
Flight haven't purchase tho...

Been thinking fly in Sapporo, exit KIX through Shinkansen line. At least can enjoy around 2 days of Sakura at KIX before we head home.
Been looking into flight fare... preparing RM1.5k/pax and I hav 8 fella with me.
ukiya
post Jul 27 2017, 03:05 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 27 2017, 02:00 PM)
u waste alot of time @sapporo, pls make it a non-repeating circle

Day
1) Noboribetsu (Overnite)
2) Penguin Park + Volcano (forget name) + Lake Toya (Overnite)
3) Hakodate (Overnite)
4) Hakodate (Overnite)
5) Otaru (Day Trip/Overnite or goto Sapporo Overnite)
6) Asahikawa (Day Trip) + Sapporo (Overnite)
7) Jozankei Hot Spring (Day Trip) + Sapporo (Overnite)
8) Hokkaido Premium Outlet Shopping - Balik Kampung

last 3day i plan it to overnite at sapporo, coz it is very hassle to move hotel everyday
especially u have orang tua, the packing/unpack time, check in/out time is better use it on the road jalan2

ps: japan checkout time is 10am, checkin time 3pm...
Hmmm... hmm.gif
Thanks for the feedback. Have to check with them... See what they ("old folks") want again!?
ukiya
post Aug 1 2017, 10:04 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(rikimtasu @ Aug 1 2017, 09:50 AM)
Finally..11 day until my first travel to tokyo...Hope i'm ready for the heat lol
stripped lol if too hot.
pretty sure jap r open minded enuf to enjoy such scene... biggrin.gif
wear little...
ukiya
post Aug 10 2017, 11:22 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Aug 5 2017, 11:41 PM)
Hi, wanna ask if anyone has experience going to Tateyama Alpine Route in autumn, specifically in early November. A lot of snow? Freezing cold? Need to bring winter clothes?

Also, in Japan, do things close on Sundays? Or less frequent? For example, if I choose to go Tateyama Alpine Route on a Sunday? Or Enoshima on a Sunday? Or Nikko on a Sunday?
I tried to search and see if there's a day-specific timetable, but it doesn't seem like they differentiate Sat/Sun from weekdays.
Entering November... weather are kinda hard to tell plus its on mountain. It may change swiftly. You entering November, their closing season edy.
Just stay alert as heavy snowfall and make sure u have time to spare on tat mountain.

When I was there last 2 month, the final day of Snow Wall on June 22. It was around only 5'C up there...

Sunday not much shop open la. I've been smaller town... all people come out n chill only.

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 7 2017, 12:19 PM)
yeah i meant Aeon AND high class malls hahahaha. Certainly wouldn't lump Aeon in "high class malls"  laugh.gif 

I've only been to smaller Aeon marts/ supermarkets, not the departmental store version - so I have no idea. Just don't recall having to pay for any plastic bags in Japan.
Nowadays... some of the store start charging few yen for plastic edy.
ukiya
post Aug 28 2017, 10:19 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 28 2017, 09:19 AM)
Personally the way I rank it (AAX/ MAS/ JAL/ ANA etc):

Anything below RM1k (all inclusive) is super good deal. RM1k-RM1.2k it's a good deal; RM1.5k-RM1.6k is average price and RM1.8k and above is on the high side.
my range something like yours ... but slightly lower...

applicable for AAX rating or budget airline rating only. All in with Baggage, food and seat.

Below RM300 - Sibeh cheap, cant believe own eyes
(bought twice to Hokkaido, first (launching promo) round RM210, second round RM99)

Around RM500 - Cheap
(Got this price range thrice to Osaka this year 2017.)

Around RM800 - So so lo... but if for NZ, its damn cheap.
(Got this price range for my whole family of 10 fellas to Hokkaido, 2018 for Sapporo Ice Festival)

Around RM1200 - Normal

Around RM1500 - Look for alternative or other airline.
ukiya
post Aug 28 2017, 10:37 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 28 2017, 10:30 AM)
Your price range is too low to be used for benchmark. Generally, as long as it's below RM1,000 for all-in it's cheap - be it RM700 or RM300.

As you said it, one of it is launching promo. So after launch, it's almost impossible for the price to resurface unless it's once-in-awhile major Sale.
Yeah, the first round was launching. Second round RM99 was not launching, someone forward it to me this year.
Summer, its best season for flower sea viewing season.

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 28 2017, 10:32 AM)
shocking.gif  i nv seen AAX promo ticket in my life before...every time ppl tell me got promo i go check also same price  bangwall.gif
hahaha... I've seen quite a lot or maybe lucky me... But if I've seen, I very sure many members here also see it.
ukiya
post Aug 28 2017, 10:52 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Aug 28 2017, 10:40 AM)
Nowadays the promo is like not promo at all because it's too frequent.
Promo more like those non-peak season for its location.

Peak season like cherry blossom season, ice festival season etc, airfare are hard to be cheap, maybe only for super early bird they can get cheap. AAX are smart too ...

Anyway... Let's wait for next week or maybe this week or "soon" AA zero fare...
Next week confirm have something ... usually 20% sales ... since around MATTA Fair period. But of coz, whos know maybe they have zero fair tat week...
ukiya
post Aug 28 2017, 04:34 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 28 2017, 02:19 PM)
When next week is AA sale?
Should start this Sunday passing next Monday 12:00am ...
Predicting only.
ukiya
post Aug 29 2017, 11:28 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 29 2017, 09:47 AM)
Yeah but this one back up. Not sure my HKG trip is gonna happen or not due to the typhoon... so just in case, wanna check out if there's any cheap flights to Osaka/ Tokyo as back up. But sacwoc said no issue with major tourist attractions, so probably HKG is happening? confused.gif
HKG damaged still okay. Macao more heavily damaged.
Again... HKG will recover soon enough...

When you going?

Osaka and Tokyo, when u planning>?
ukiya
post Aug 29 2017, 11:53 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 29 2017, 11:41 AM)
HKG will be 3rd week of Sept, so I was thinking if HKG tak jadi due to disaster or flu etc, then perhaps forgo the air ticket and buy another flight elsewhere (since AL was approved), such as Osaka or Tokyo. But from what I hear, most of the major attractions in HKG are not affected and everything is kinda back to normal ohmy.gif
yup... mostly are back to normal. go la.. go give them some business, help them to build back their business a bit after disasters.
my friends all said all okay now edy. But Macao friends said some are still in constructions of recovering from the damaged.

Tokyo or Osaka, u should get it last week if u wanna go ... coz last week AA ada sales... return RM500 to Osaka. and return flight RM650 to tokyo.
They have their final sales call last week for next two months.

AA Final Sale: 1st Monday, 1st week of the Month.
AAX Final Sales: Last week of the month.
Require minimum 1000 points to enroll the privilege. 1000 points very east get one...
ukiya
post Aug 29 2017, 02:15 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 29 2017, 01:35 PM)
I go every month. Dah biasalah. earthquake or Typoon macam another day only
hurricane and volcanoes more rare right? If happen, one count lucky or not so lucky...

typhoon or earthquake quite biasa edy ... have to get used to it whether in Japan, Taiwan or any other part in the world.
ukiya
post Aug 29 2017, 02:44 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 29 2017, 02:41 PM)
Yah, as long as they won't jack up the price. Maybe there'll be less tourists also due to the disaster hmm.gif #shorterqueue
Those chain shop like TimHoWan wont la.
Those unchain shop u have to be careful especially those hawkers near temple street, seafood mostly, tell u all nonsense and set u high price.

Bit off topic... lets chat more in HK thread...

Back to Japan ... Peach airline ada promo!
ukiya
post Sep 3 2017, 10:03 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Hi Guys... Below are my itineraries:

Please help me to edit edit and enhance my winter Feb 2018 trip...

Possible?

Questions:
1. Day 4: Not really sure what to do in Tokyo. Not a fan of shopping. Maybe Disneyland if really nothing much to do. Not really enjoy my Tsukiji previous trip. Coz I'm not a fan of fresh raw seafood. Salmon still okay but the rest... err... not a fan really. And I paid 3500 Yen for tat platter. Maybe this round, I go make knife there?! Let my family go eat those seafood. I rather take Ramen, Omurice etc... Or steam crabs like in Hakodate.
2. Day 6-7: Arriving Asahikawa, what to do in that small city?
3. Will use trains more... since Hokkaido Jr Pass almost same price with Jr National Pass might as well go for National. Can travel further.
4. Will it be rushing trip? Half of my audience are first timer in Japan. Although not much focus in Tokyo, but at least can give them a glimpse of how Tokyo is like.
5. Planning to bring 100K Yen for expenses (exclude flights, Jr passes and accomodation) Cukup? 100k per pair.

This post has been edited by ukiya: Sep 3 2017, 10:07 AM
ukiya
post Sep 4 2017, 08:53 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 4 2017, 12:59 AM)
i jus vomit blood at ur itinerary.
ur reason goto tokyo bcoz of expensive hotel...
then replace with another expensive jr train 🤦🏻

hokkaido so damn big... so many place can go and u cant plan it.

i think u better cincai point anywhere at hokkaido map,
and set tat as ur new destination.
Vomit Blood? Dying edy? devil.gif

Yup. Expensive hotel kinda set me off ... 2 nights in Noboribetsu and Abashiri = 4 rooms = RM4800 plus (thats the cheapest I can find)
Jr Hokkaido RM923 ish vs Jr National Pass RM1150 x 8 fella, u do the calculation la...

In Tokyo, I can get a cheaper room and I can go further place with the Jr Pass with slight additional pricing. So why not?!

U said Hokkaido is so damn big, so tell me where shud I go with reasonable hotel pricing and sizes? And have enough info online plus walking distance to its point of interest? Please enlighten me biggrin.gif

Furano? Biei? Wakanai? It's winter man... Plus I have 2 parents, I rather sit more train then changing n walking around.

This post has been edited by ukiya: Sep 4 2017, 09:00 AM
ukiya
post Sep 4 2017, 10:50 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Sep 4 2017, 09:27 AM)
Have you bought your JR pass? Seems that you travelled to Tokyo because of JR pass. If its only Hokkaido its not necessary. If you have 2 parents, and afraid of the cold, why Hokkaido? Taking the long train ride can lso be tiring and basically you lose 1 day with the trip.
Jr Pass not yet purchase. Our flight goes Hokkaido. Our main focus is in Hokkaido.

Yup... u r right. It is because of Jr Pass tats y go Tokyo because I cannot find anywhere else tat I m familiar to go in Hokkaido edy.
I know Hokkaido has lots to offer but during winter, walking distance for a short one is bearable, longer distance may not be doable with parents.
I can only explore the places I familiar with with my entire family. I do wish to go explore more. But those places, I need more time to discover if possible preferred go on Spring.

If me n my partner, not an issue to discover new places, walking aimlessly and discover here n there. But not for my parents pls.

I never said my parent afraid of cold. In fact, it is their first time experiencing snowing weather and bullet train in their life. Aren't these are value added to their life time experiences by adding few extra bucks into Jr National Passes than Hokkaido passes? And as well saved few thousands and explore other city like Tokyo during the trip?

Sitting on a train and travel along the fast train can be quite fun rather than I push everyone walk here n there, discovering aimlessly.

And again... I believe it is doable as if like 3 of my previous trip to Japan these year alone but these consider for me is less-intense...

But I do have some questions on certain area and to maximize my time there:

Questions:
1. Day 4: Tokyo? What to do there beside Shopping?
2. Day 6-7: Arriving Asahikawa, what to do in that small city?
3. Planning to bring 100K Yen for expenses (exclude flights, Jr passes and accomodation) Cukup? 100k per pair.
This post has been edited by ukiya: Sep 4 2017, 10:57 AM
ukiya
post Sep 4 2017, 11:41 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(duh2k @ Sep 4 2017, 11:10 AM)

How was the charges per withdrawal?

Asahikawa ... will look into it. Possible trip tho. Sapporo Ice Fest definitely will go.
At first wanna go Shikotsu Ice Festival, but no available date yet. Main page still showing previous fest.

ukiya
post Sep 4 2017, 12:49 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Sep 4 2017, 12:05 PM)
OK, understood. If you dont like shopping, then maybe you can list out what you are your group really like. Feb will be pretty cold in Tokyo as well, and depending on the day, especially weekends you might also find some interesting festival going on. Tokyo is also not about sushi and sashimi and there are tons of nice food around as well.
1. I m thinking of bringing them walk through Imperial Palace, Asakusa Area, Obaida, Tokyo Tower, and probably walk around Shinjuku.
2. Alternatively, if all these not so kin. May just settle with DisneySea.
3. I m wonder what else I can do there? Mount Fuji? Seems rush edy...

I m tried better sushi in Toyama back in June this year. Once has a thought crazy enough to go but... no la... they are not crazy enough like me n partner that can walk here n there... half marathon in a day... and it continues... based on my pebble steps counts.

Where to find a good omurice in Tokyo? Anyone come across?
ukiya
post Sep 4 2017, 02:22 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(duh2k @ Sep 4 2017, 01:06 PM)
Rm10.60 (including gst) from Public Bank Debit card. Make sure overseas ATM withdrawal is activated smile.gif
Noted. Thanks.

0.0233sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:47 AM