QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 7 2017, 10:56 AM)
Cathay sure the best option. Cathay IFE system are excellent. So much movie, song to spent time. Wine & Beer will be serve.
Thank you very much. Also thanks sacwoc and chinti Travel To Japan V10
Sep 7 2017, 11:03 AM
115 posts Joined: Apr 2015 From: USSR |
Sep 7 2017, 11:14 AM
1,653 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: My Fantasy World |
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 7 2017, 10:51 AM) Very fast. Just reach Transfer counter and show them your reservation // booking code. They will printed out new boarding pass and brief your new gate number and which terminal. Old days KL to HK was Pacific, now Dragon. ah darn, nv took dragon b4 tho. was always pacific and got haagen dazs ice cream tooI also found out Dragon won't serve Haagan dazs icecream on economy class. KL to Hk route no more Haagan Dazs ice cream !! Sad !!! |
Sep 7 2017, 11:14 AM
1,653 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: My Fantasy World |
double post again
This post has been edited by chinti: Sep 7 2017, 11:14 AM |
Sep 7 2017, 11:30 AM
306 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 7 2017, 11:14 AM) Yup, new strategy from CX regarding DragonAir since they bought them. Anyway, food is quite nice in Dragon air. However if you take business class, you dont get a full flat bed as both ways are consider regional. There is only one plane from HK to Narita which you get a full flat bed which is a 747. I think this is transit from US. |
Sep 7 2017, 12:34 PM
42 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
Just got back from summer in Tokyo. Thanks to everybody for the tips and advice posted here.
Now if I could find some Chu-hai Strong Zero here in Malaysia I'll be a happy camper. |
Sep 7 2017, 02:22 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
Almost finalizing my itinerary for my Hokkaido trip on 26 January 2018 to 5 February 2018. Planned to purchase 7 Day JR Hokkaido Pass. Have yet to book accommodations.
26/1/18 NEw CTS - Sapporo. (1 night) Arrived New CTS airport, stroll around and proceed with train to sapporo for breakfast probably Nijo market. Walk around sapporo/tanukikoji arcade. 27/1/18 Sapporo - Asahiyama zoo (penguin parade) - Sounkyo ice waterfall festival. (1 night) Depart from Sapporo station after breakfast around 8.30am as the train takes 1h30min to arrive at Asahikawa (Asahiyama zoo train) and proceed to take bus to Asahiyama zoo as the zoo opens at 10.30am. Have late lunch after zoo and proceed back to Asahikawa station for 3.30pm train and depart to Kamikawa station. Then proceed to take 5pm bus to sounkyo for ice waterfall festival. 28/1/18 Sounkyo - Abashiri (1 night) Breakfast and go to Kurodake ropeway 5th station as the chairlift to 7th station is closed? Anything else to do in sounkyo if i were to take 3.40pm bus from sounkyo to kamikawa station and take 4.30pm train to Abashiri? Else would have to take 10.55am bus from sounkyo to kamikawa station and take 1.30pm train to abashiri. 29/1/18 Abashiri - Lake Manshu/Lake Kussharo (1 night) Breakfast at abashiri then proceed to abashiri ice breaker cruise at 9am. Okhotsk Ryu-hyo Museum & Prison museum. 3pm depart from Abashiri station to Kawayuonsen. 30/1/18 Lake Manshu/Lake Kussharo - Kushiro (1 night) Breakfast then to Mount lo, lake kussharo (sand bath), lake mashu first observatory then back to kawayuonsen and take train at 5pm to kushiro. or to go lake akan for a night? 31/1/18 Kushiro - Obihiro (1 night) Breakfast at washo ichiba market then around kushiro area. 4pm take train from kushiro station to obihiro. 1/2/18 Obihiro - Tomanu (1 night) Breakfast at obihiro and take train from obihiro at 8am to tomanu for ski/ice festival. (The accomodation in tomanu is per pax? i check on the website it shows per pax around rm 700+ including breakfast and lift). 2/2/18 Tomanu - Sapporo (1 night) Breakfast and lay around tomanu area and take train at tomanu station around 2pm to sapporo. 3/2/18 Sapporo - otaru - sapporo (1 night) 4/2/18 Sapporo - New CTS (1 night) Lay around sapporo until night and transfer to New CTS for a night as will be having early flight out of sapporo. 5/2/18 9am depart back to KL Or any recommendation as i can less 1 day in sapporo. Thanks. This post has been edited by AlienDex: Sep 7 2017, 02:25 PM |
Sep 7 2017, 03:11 PM
407 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(AlienDex @ Sep 7 2017, 02:22 PM) Almost finalizing my itinerary for my Hokkaido trip on 26 January 2018 to 5 February 2018. Planned to purchase 7 Day JR Hokkaido Pass. Have yet to book accommodations. U just missed the snow festival by 1 day. On ur last day, maybe u can stroll around Odori Park to see their snow festival structures if they are completed» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Or any recommendation as i can less 1 day in sapporo. Thanks. |
Sep 7 2017, 03:26 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
Sep 7 2017, 06:02 PM
692 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: pay_fild04 |
Anyone here been to Kakeyu Onsen Ice Lantern Festival before? Just wondering whether the event is tourist/english friendly or not.
Mind share your experience like how to participate in the light-up ice lantern event, rules and regulation etc if anyone of you been there before. Tried posted on FB Japan Travel page + googling around, not much info found other than this original Japanese sites. Ice Lantern Festival |
Sep 7 2017, 07:13 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,818 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Hi all.. I just started studying for hakone now.
I'm planning to be there on 1st week of december.. on SUNDAY, 9 dec 2017. I want to use romance car for both ways from shinjuku to hakone-yumoto. There are 6 people in my group including me. 1) Since it's sunday, do I have to prebook the romance car? is it safe to just go there and purchase the romance car ticket on the spot? 2) For the trip back from hakone to shinjuku, I dont know how long it will take for me to finish the hakone round trip tour using the free pass. It is advisable if I prebook the romance car for hakone back to yumoto, let say at 7pm, then if I finish early, ask them to change the ticket to earlier train.. I read this one blog, the guy was able to change their ticket to earlier time. 3) Using the hakone freepass, if I want to board the Sighseeing Cruise ship, do I have to redeem the freepass at the counter to get the boat's ticket, or do I just queue at the pier and show them the freepass? Thanks.. |
Sep 7 2017, 08:01 PM
2,125 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Going Tokyo again this December 29 - 5 Jan. The last time I there I went only 5 days didn't even manage to visit Tokyo Tower. Went shopping spree in Shinjuku and Harajuku for two days lol.
Winter the shop close early is it? Nothing much to do at night or night life? The hotel now cost almost triple since the last time I went there. Gotta opt for AirBnB this time around. Last time I rent a pocket wifi, but quite hassle lugging another item. Anyone know can I get sim card there? |
Sep 7 2017, 08:55 PM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
QUOTE(zeese @ Sep 7 2017, 06:13 PM) Hi all.. I just started studying for hakone now. Romance Car no need pre-book. Only tourist ride this train. Tourist from oversea + tourist from local only. Always plenty of seat. I'm planning to be there on 1st week of december.. on SUNDAY, 9 dec 2017. I want to use romance car for both ways from shinjuku to hakone-yumoto. There are 6 people in my group including me. 1) Since it's sunday, do I have to prebook the romance car? is it safe to just go there and purchase the romance car ticket on the spot? 2) For the trip back from hakone to shinjuku, I dont know how long it will take for me to finish the hakone round trip tour using the free pass. It is advisable if I prebook the romance car for hakone back to yumoto, let say at 7pm, then if I finish early, ask them to change the ticket to earlier train.. I read this one blog, the guy was able to change their ticket to earlier time. 3) Using the hakone freepass, if I want to board the Sighseeing Cruise ship, do I have to redeem the freepass at the counter to get the boat's ticket, or do I just queue at the pier and show them the freepass? Thanks.. Using freepass must show to ticket conductor before boarding train / ship. QUOTE(nles @ Sep 7 2017, 07:01 PM) Going Tokyo again this December 29 - 5 Jan. The last time I there I went only 5 days didn't even manage to visit Tokyo Tower. Went shopping spree in Shinjuku and Harajuku for two days lol. December 29 - 5 was too closed to new year countdown that why Hotel at Tokyo price will be triple. Winter the shop close early is it? Nothing much to do at night or night life? The hotel now cost almost triple since the last time I went there. Gotta opt for AirBnB this time around. Last time I rent a pocket wifi, but quite hassle lugging another item. Anyone know can I get sim card there? Winter or Summer....70% shop will be closed at 8pm......most late will be 10pm After 10pm only left Izakaya |
Sep 8 2017, 09:51 AM
4,277 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 地獄だ |
QUOTE(zeese @ Sep 7 2017, 07:13 PM) Hi all.. I just started studying for hakone now. 1. As RegentCid said, it's not necessary to pre-book. However, if you're worried about it - can always pre-book in advanced if that gives you a peace of mind. By Romancecar, it takes easily about 1-1.5 hours to get to Hakone. Suggest you take the earlier train.I'm planning to be there on 1st week of december.. on SUNDAY, 9 dec 2017. I want to use romance car for both ways from shinjuku to hakone-yumoto. There are 6 people in my group including me. 1) Since it's sunday, do I have to prebook the romance car? is it safe to just go there and purchase the romance car ticket on the spot? 2) For the trip back from hakone to shinjuku, I dont know how long it will take for me to finish the hakone round trip tour using the free pass. It is advisable if I prebook the romance car for hakone back to yumoto, let say at 7pm, then if I finish early, ask them to change the ticket to earlier train.. I read this one blog, the guy was able to change their ticket to earlier time. 3) Using the hakone freepass, if I want to board the Sighseeing Cruise ship, do I have to redeem the freepass at the counter to get the boat's ticket, or do I just queue at the pier and show them the freepass? Thanks.. 2. To be honest, I think max you'll finish is around 6+pm. In winter it gets dark very fast so you won't be able to stay long unless you're planning to have dinner around the area or lepak in nearby cafe/ restaurant in Hakonemachi (Hakone town). Take note of the Cruise timetable. It ends early, so please don't miss it. Queue up at least 15-20min before departure time. http://www.hakone-kankosen.co.jp/foreign/e...heet/index.html After you've taken the cruise, it's likely you'll get down with most of the crowd at Motohakone-ko. Over there, there's a Shrine and town to visit. That's usually the last destination (following the flow of majority tourists) and you can take a bus to the station from there. 3. Show your pass. QUOTE(nles @ Sep 7 2017, 08:01 PM) Going Tokyo again this December 29 - 5 Jan. The last time I there I went only 5 days didn't even manage to visit Tokyo Tower. Went shopping spree in Shinjuku and Harajuku for two days lol. Winter it gets dark early, and take note that on NY eve a lot of places will be closed. Friends and I went to Takashimaya on NY Eve around 5pm and everything in the food section of the store was selling fast (cakes, noodles, bentou etc). Go to temple on New Year's morning. Yes there'll be huge crowd but it's also interesting to observe the Japanese celebration. Winter the shop close early is it? Nothing much to do at night or night life? The hotel now cost almost triple since the last time I went there. Gotta opt for AirBnB this time around. Last time I rent a pocket wifi, but quite hassle lugging another item. Anyone know can I get sim card there? On 2nd January, get your money ready for fukubukuro (福袋) as you'll splurge on shopping. 福袋 only happens on 2nd January and you'll see a lot of great promotion, offers and attractive sales. For major brands like Starbucks, Apple etc they usually sell the 福袋 tickets 6 months ahead (or they draw lots, whichever way) so it's hard to get the 福袋 from these stores. SIM Card - consider getting it here instead of in Tokyo. I recommend this: https://hello1010.my/country/asia/japan.html |
Sep 8 2017, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Sep 7 2017, 06:02 PM) Anyone here been to Kakeyu Onsen Ice Lantern Festival before? Just wondering whether the event is tourist/english friendly or not. Nice place. Mind share your experience like how to participate in the light-up ice lantern event, rules and regulation etc if anyone of you been there before. Tried posted on FB Japan Travel page + googling around, not much info found other than this original Japanese sites. Ice Lantern Festival They're closed on Sunday, open from 9am-5pm on the other days. Close on PH. Any queries such as how to get there, facilities etc you can always send them a mail - you'll see an email when you scroll down the page. http://www.kakeyu.or.jp/toiawse.html |
Sep 8 2017, 10:05 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,818 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
tq all for your helpful replies.. I appreciate it..
Sep 8 2017, 03:05 PM
692 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: pay_fild04 |
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 8 2017, 10:03 AM) Nice place. I thought at least someone from here been there before. They're closed on Sunday, open from 9am-5pm on the other days. Close on PH. Any queries such as how to get there, facilities etc you can always send them a mail - you'll see an email when you scroll down the page. http://www.kakeyu.or.jp/toiawse.html Kinda dilemma right now, not sure wanna go for the light up event with no much English info/review, or just stop by take picture and leave. |
Sep 8 2017, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Sep 8 2017, 03:05 PM) I thought at least someone from here been there before. Well, going to a foreign place with little to no knowledge of the place or means to communicate - could sometimes be an interesting adventure Kinda dilemma right now, not sure wanna go for the light up event with no much English info/review, or just stop by take picture and leave. Besides, it also depends on whether you have anything else planned for the trip. You can consider going for the the event, but with a backup plan. In case it's not interesting or ends quickly (eg you got delayed), then leave after taking photos and move on to your next destination. |
Sep 9 2017, 01:14 PM
2,329 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
QUOTE(AlienDex @ Sep 7 2017, 02:22 PM) Almost finalizing my itinerary for my Hokkaido trip on 26 January 2018 to 5 February 2018. Planned to purchase 7 Day JR Hokkaido Pass. Have yet to book accommodations. visiting hokkaido without onsen at noboribetsu during winter is a bit regret...no ?26/1/18 NEw CTS - Sapporo. (1 night) Arrived New CTS airport, stroll around and proceed with train to sapporo for breakfast probably Nijo market. Walk around sapporo/tanukikoji arcade. 27/1/18 Sapporo - Asahiyama zoo (penguin parade) - Sounkyo ice waterfall festival. (1 night) Depart from Sapporo station after breakfast around 8.30am as the train takes 1h30min to arrive at Asahikawa (Asahiyama zoo train) and proceed to take bus to Asahiyama zoo as the zoo opens at 10.30am. Have late lunch after zoo and proceed back to Asahikawa station for 3.30pm train and depart to Kamikawa station. Then proceed to take 5pm bus to sounkyo for ice waterfall festival. 28/1/18 Sounkyo - Abashiri (1 night) Breakfast and go to Kurodake ropeway 5th station as the chairlift to 7th station is closed? Anything else to do in sounkyo if i were to take 3.40pm bus from sounkyo to kamikawa station and take 4.30pm train to Abashiri? Else would have to take 10.55am bus from sounkyo to kamikawa station and take 1.30pm train to abashiri. 29/1/18 Abashiri - Lake Manshu/Lake Kussharo (1 night) Breakfast at abashiri then proceed to abashiri ice breaker cruise at 9am. Okhotsk Ryu-hyo Museum & Prison museum. 3pm depart from Abashiri station to Kawayuonsen. 30/1/18 Lake Manshu/Lake Kussharo - Kushiro (1 night) Breakfast then to Mount lo, lake kussharo (sand bath), lake mashu first observatory then back to kawayuonsen and take train at 5pm to kushiro. or to go lake akan for a night? 31/1/18 Kushiro - Obihiro (1 night) Breakfast at washo ichiba market then around kushiro area. 4pm take train from kushiro station to obihiro. 1/2/18 Obihiro - Tomanu (1 night) Breakfast at obihiro and take train from obihiro at 8am to tomanu for ski/ice festival. (The accomodation in tomanu is per pax? i check on the website it shows per pax around rm 700+ including breakfast and lift). 2/2/18 Tomanu - Sapporo (1 night) Breakfast and lay around tomanu area and take train at tomanu station around 2pm to sapporo. 3/2/18 Sapporo - otaru - sapporo (1 night) 4/2/18 Sapporo - New CTS (1 night) Lay around sapporo until night and transfer to New CTS for a night as will be having early flight out of sapporo. 5/2/18 9am depart back to KL Or any recommendation as i can less 1 day in sapporo. Thanks. This post has been edited by lyc1982: Sep 9 2017, 01:14 PM |
Sep 10 2017, 11:41 AM
269 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Anyone got good airbnb experience or recommendation near Shinjuku station? Even airbnb seems quite expensive near the station. Thinking of staying slightly further away, such as Shinjuku Sanchome station, or Minami Shinjuku station
This post has been edited by aberrant80: Sep 10 2017, 11:43 AM |
Sep 10 2017, 11:50 AM
2,631 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
anyone knows the hot springs in Japan (specifically Osaka) is natural hot spring or what? Cuz I'm allergic to natural hot spring so I have to avoid.
| Change to: | 0.0401sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:48 PM |