126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V10

aberrant80
post Aug 6 2017, 12:01 AM

269 posts

Hi, wanna ask if anyone has experience going to Tateyama Alpine Route in autumn, specifically in early November. A lot of snow? Freezing cold? Need to bring winter clothes?

Also, in Japan, do things close on Sundays? Or less frequent? For example, if I choose to go Tateyama Alpine Route on a Sunday? Or Enoshima on a Sunday? Or Nikko on a Sunday?
I tried to search and see if there's a day-specific timetable, but it doesn't seem like they differentiate Sat/Sun from weekdays.

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 25 2017, 10:44 AM)
Just go to a supermarket like Jusco and pick up the boxes and wrap it yourself. Normally they also have tapes and strings as well, but please dont take it out.
I haven't bought so much stuff that I have bring a box back. But maybe Japan is an exception...

Can you explain some more about this? hmm.gif Wrap up the boxes with what? Gift paper wraps? Or just abuse their tapes and tape the whole thing up?

This post has been edited by aberrant80: Aug 6 2017, 12:15 AM
RegentCid
post Aug 6 2017, 12:52 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Aug 5 2017, 10:41 PM)
Hi, wanna ask if anyone has experience going to Tateyama Alpine Route in autumn, specifically in early November. A lot of snow? Freezing cold? Need to bring winter clothes?

Also, in Japan, do things close on Sundays? Or less frequent? For example, if I choose to go Tateyama Alpine Route on a Sunday? Or Enoshima on a Sunday? Or Nikko on a Sunday?
I tried to search and see if there's a day-specific timetable, but it doesn't seem like they differentiate Sat/Sun from weekdays.
I only person in this forum been experience 4 season of Tateyama Alphine Route. brows.gif brows.gif
Tateyama Alpine Route closed from November 30 to April 15. Snowing Part only from April 16 to April 3
If you going at Early November, You need a jacket only. Very similar to Genting Highland temperature.

Japan most shop closed on Public Holiday or specific days depending shop. Some shop will closed on Sunday or Monday or Tuesdays..... This one you have to do homework on it.
Enoshima will be alot people during summer time because of beach. Nikko will be alot people if Public Holiday. You also need do homework on Taiwan public holiday and China public holiday. Usually this 2 country public holiday, Japan attraction spot will full of people.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Aug 6 2017, 12:57 AM
yahiko
post Aug 6 2017, 02:06 PM

1,215 posts

hey guys

i was shopping around on the wifi

come out with this ( the cheapest so far)
http://www.his.com.my/pocket-wi-fi-rental/

anyone using. how is the services?
aberrant80
post Aug 6 2017, 09:02 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 6 2017, 12:52 AM)
I only person in this forum been experience 4 season of Tateyama Alphine Route.  brows.gif  brows.gif
Tateyama Alpine Route closed from November 30 to April 15. Snowing Part only from April 16 to April 3
If you going at Early November, You need a jacket only. Very similar to Genting Highland temperature.

Japan most shop closed on Public Holiday or specific days depending shop. Some shop will closed on Sunday or Monday or Tuesdays..... This one you have to do homework on it.
Enoshima will be alot people during summer time because of beach. Nikko will be alot people if Public Holiday. You also need do homework on Taiwan public holiday and China public holiday. Usually this 2 country public holiday, Japan attraction spot will full of people.
Well, I think you mean 3 seasons, since it's closed in winter... I'm asking about snow in Murodo, not the snow wall during Spring. Looking at photos during October and November, and the official website suggesting winter clothing... are you sure jacket is enough? Even right now, the temperature is about 12 degrees celsius... you're saying it won't get colder in November??
RegentCid
post Aug 6 2017, 09:38 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Aug 6 2017, 08:02 PM)
Well, I think you mean 3 seasons, since it's closed in winter... I'm asking about snow in Murodo, not the snow wall during Spring. Looking at photos during October and November, and the official website suggesting winter clothing... are you sure jacket is enough? Even right now, the temperature is about 12 degrees celsius... you're saying it won't get colder in November??
No, Still consider as Winter, Tateyama Alpine route Winter count from November to April. That why I say April 16 to April 30 are consider Winter Season.
From Tateyama Highland Part (Snow Wall) > Murodo > Daikanbo > Kurobedaira > Kurobeko > Kurobe Dam will be cover by Snow

Different people have different limit to withstand cool. For me, A jacket was enough for Autumn Season. Because you mention early of November.
aberrant80
post Aug 6 2017, 10:02 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 6 2017, 09:38 PM)
No, Still consider as Winter, Tateyama Alpine route Winter count from November to April. That why I say April 16 to April 30 are consider Winter Season.
From Tateyama Highland Part (Snow Wall) > Murodo > Daikanbo > Kurobedaira > Kurobeko > Kurobe Dam will be cover by Snow

Different people have different limit to withstand cool. For me, A jacket was enough for Autumn Season. Because you mention early of November.
Ok, thanks. I might end up going there in 2nd week of November, that's why I was thinking it might end up getting quite cold. I suppose I can just bring long john or extra shirt for just-in-case. Do you think the weather during November is ok to go up? I saw reviews say can get foggy during autumn. Since it's not cheap to go through the route, it would really suck if kena bad weather.
RegentCid
post Aug 6 2017, 11:19 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Aug 6 2017, 09:02 PM)
Ok, thanks. I might end up going there in 2nd week of November, that's why I was thinking it might end up getting quite cold. I suppose I can just bring long john or extra shirt for just-in-case. Do you think the weather during November is ok to go up? I saw reviews say can get foggy during autumn. Since it's not cheap to go through the route, it would really suck if kena bad weather.
If you going by 2nd week of November, you need thicker jacket. 70% you will saw snow at Murodo & Kurobe Dam. Scenic view will be yellow tree + snow

sacwoc
post Aug 7 2017, 08:59 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Aug 6 2017, 12:01 AM)
Can you explain some more about this?  hmm.gif Wrap up the boxes with what? Gift paper wraps? Or just abuse their tapes and tape the whole thing up?
In Japan you need to pay for plastic bags which I think is similar to Selangor. So normally for places like Jusco, they set aside used boxes like pampas at one side. Once you pay you go there and you just pack your stuff inside your box. There is also tapes and scissors so you can tape it as well. Do note that not all supermarket have it, especially those "high class" supermarket.
sweet_pez
post Aug 7 2017, 09:28 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 7 2017, 08:59 AM)
In Japan you need to pay for plastic bags which I think is similar to Selangor. So normally for places like Jusco, they set aside used boxes like pampas at one side. Once you pay you go there and you just pack your stuff inside your box. There is also tapes and scissors so you can tape it as well. Do note that not all supermarket have it, especially those "high class" supermarket.
Only in Aeon malls and 'high class' supermarkets? I didn't encounter this in marts and some smaller supermarkets in the mall.
Fyonne
post Aug 7 2017, 10:16 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 7 2017, 08:59 AM)
never shop at Aeon, but visited Life, din notice needed to pay for bag,
just tat after paying, u have to self bag after the paying counter at nearby bagging area.

side note: kinda fun to see how their cashier counter with automated money counting machine, coin slot n bill slot the cashier put in, it detect how much customer paying to minimize human error.
Grimtooth
post Aug 7 2017, 10:23 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 7 2017, 10:16 AM)
just tat after paying, u have to self bag after the paying counter at nearby bagging area.

side note: kinda fun to see how their cashier counter with automated money counting machine, coin slot n bill slot the cashier put in, it detect how much customer paying to minimize human error.
I shopped at Aeon in Kyoto. Seems about the same. Self bag and the automated money counting cashier machine.
Did not notice extra for plastic bag tho..
sacwoc
post Aug 7 2017, 10:26 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 7 2017, 09:28 AM)
Only in Aeon malls and 'high class' supermarkets? I didn't encounter this in marts and some smaller supermarkets in the mall.
Aeon is not hig class. smile.gif Meant to say that you can find it in Aeon as I use to shop there often as its just opposite my apartment. High class like Mitsukoshi, Isetan, dont think you can find it.

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 7 2017, 10:16 AM)

I might have gotten in wrong.....not sure if its a goverment rule or the supermarket rule. In Aeon, if you shop at the supermarket you have to pay for the bag. However if you shop at their living dept, you dont need to pay. Use to do my daily grocery there, hence might got use to bringing my own bag. smile.gif

bearyteddy
post Aug 7 2017, 11:01 AM

13 posts

will be going to osaka from 5-11 october. initially plan to stay all 6 nights in osaka and travel to kyoto n nara by train in the morning n return to osaka at night so no need to carry my big luggage between city. but seems very time consuming. or should i stay a night at each of the city?
SUSchinti
post Aug 7 2017, 11:06 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,652 posts

QUOTE(bearyteddy @ Aug 7 2017, 11:01 AM)
will be going to osaka from 5-11 october. initially plan to stay all 6 nights in osaka and travel to kyoto n nara by train in the morning n return to osaka at night so no need to carry my big luggage between city. but seems very time consuming. or should i stay a night at each of the city?
nara can do one day trip but kyoto not recommended for a day trip as there's quite a lot to see
ganumali
post Aug 7 2017, 11:43 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Aug 4 2017, 12:34 PM)
It is AA flight, so, it is supposed to land at 10.30pm.. Based on my own research, if I cannot catch 11.30pm train, then I will be going to the fifth floor of haneda airport for sleeping..
lots of ppl sleeps there. me too last time biggrin.gif not a prob at all. just get a seat n zz. by 530 am u can catch the train.
happy holiday!
ganumali
post Aug 7 2017, 11:47 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Aug 4 2017, 07:17 PM)
I found bus timetable which can still reach ikebukuro east station time at midnight and so on. Just need to give extra midnight charges still better than taxi.

https://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/platform_...hes/index/4/211

no need sleeping bag, just pay a bit more.
you will spend quite some time on the immi q. so yeah. just prepare. me last time also airbnb around ike. so we decided just to stay at the airport. hehehe
their travel info counter open 24hours so yeah just spend time there take all the maps n pamphlet etc

and yeah. thats the gyumon! just spare your $$$$

tongue.gif
sweet_pez
post Aug 7 2017, 12:19 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 7 2017, 10:26 AM)
Aeon is not hig class. smile.gif Meant to say that you can find it in Aeon as I use to shop there often as its just opposite my apartment. High class like Mitsukoshi, Isetan, dont think you can find it.
I might have gotten in wrong.....not sure if its a goverment rule or the supermarket rule. In Aeon, if you shop at the supermarket you have to pay for the bag. However if you shop at their living dept, you dont need to pay. Use to do my daily grocery there, hence might got use to bringing my own bag. smile.gif
yeah i meant Aeon AND high class malls hahahaha. Certainly wouldn't lump Aeon in "high class malls" laugh.gif

I've only been to smaller Aeon marts/ supermarkets, not the departmental store version - so I have no idea. Just don't recall having to pay for any plastic bags in Japan.

bearyteddy
post Aug 8 2017, 11:15 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 7 2017, 11:06 AM)
nara can do one day trip but kyoto not recommended for a day trip as there's quite a lot to see
thanks for the advice. does every train station has locker for luggage?
SUSchinti
post Aug 8 2017, 11:16 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,652 posts

QUOTE(bearyteddy @ Aug 8 2017, 11:15 AM)
thanks for the advice. does every train station has locker for luggage?
yeap definitely have
Azuma-kun
post Aug 8 2017, 01:58 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

Guys, I have questions about Kansai Thru Pass.

I plan a journey, Kyoto>Nara>Himeji>Kobe>Osaka and some of the trains will falls under Rapid or Ltd Exp or Exp. Does the pass cover this or I have to pay and an extra? Lets assume I do not need to reserve a seat.

This is what been mentioned in the site
KINTETSU / NANKAI RAILWAY / Semboku Rapid DESIGNATED SEAT EXPRESS
Additional charge when in designated seat in KINTETSU / NANKAI RAILWAY / Semboku Rapid

This is the line showed in Hyperdia, from Nara to Himeji
Kintetsu Nara Line Rapid Exp. for KOBE-SANNOMIYA
Hanshin Namba Line for AMAGASAKI
Hanshin/Sanyo Through Ltd. Exp. for SANYOHIMEJI

This post has been edited by Azuma-kun: Aug 8 2017, 02:00 PM

126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:51 PM