Travel To Japan V10

deodorant
post Nov 6 2017, 11:21 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Nov 6 2017, 09:44 AM)
Robot restaurant...yay or nay?

For me it’s a YAY, but I realize that it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea. A bit pricey, too. If you like the pop culture, neon lights, “wtf japan” side of the country then you’ll probably like the robot restaurant. Otherwise you’ll end up scratching your head and wondering why you wasted a night and all that yen.

Excerpt from a trip report thread I did last time:

QUOTE(deodorant)
... After dinner we stroll over to Robot Restaurant Shinjuku for the 9.45pm show (last one for the day).

I'll make this part short. If you are a gaijin (foreigner), Robot Restaurant MUST be on your list of attractions to visit. The show is not at all 'authentic' Japan: It's as if the designers took a list of 'top foreigners stereotypes of what they think Japan is,' and just shoehorned everything to fit. But I don't care, and I totally love it. It makes no sense and yet it's the most awesome thing I've ever seen in my three visits to the city.

I mean ... is that a costumed lady on a dinosaur? HELL YEAH IT IS LMAO.

deodorant
post Nov 7 2017, 10:46 PM

5,691 posts

Anyone going Tokyo soon? Please try this Ramen shop and let us know whether gooding or not icon_idea.gif

deodorant
post Nov 10 2017, 01:26 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Nov 10 2017, 12:36 PM)
Its not only cheap flight. I just booked SIA for a family trip and when I go to the select seat screen, all seat are not available!. Only the emergency seat are available for selection with a cost. However I cannot book that as its not for children.....

SIA fake-blocks a lot of seats on their seat map and then releases them like X days before the flight. But anyway if a flight is really super full and everyone else already booked their seats then can’t be helped also 🤣
deodorant
post Nov 10 2017, 03:32 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Nov 10 2017, 01:49 PM)
Yeah, seems like that. However I managed to reserve seats for my return flight. Must be some logic behind it since they dont charge for seat booking

I'm not so sure what the complete reason is.
But I know, for example, that they usually block bulkhead and front row business class seats for their top tier PPS members. Maybe they also block economy aisle / windows for KF silver/gold? *shrug*
Don't know why they need to block 50% of all seats though ...
deodorant
post Nov 11 2017, 10:24 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Nov 10 2017, 11:01 PM)
Hey guys, just wondering if Japan iPhone works in Malaysia?

Side note: Japan iPhone take photo can't turn off the shutter sound, so you won't be able to ninja snap anything.
deodorant
post Nov 13 2017, 11:26 PM

5,691 posts

drewn123 5 days only osaka i guess most people would say it’s too long. 1 day USJ, 2 days aquarium + the city would be plenty. The other 2-3 days do more day trips to Kyoto.
deodorant
post Nov 14 2017, 06:12 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sershant @ Nov 13 2017, 11:34 PM)
And how about driver license? I know that I can make a translate here https://idaoffice.org/ it is legally effective for up to three years. It will consist of a plastic ID card, a leaflet with the translation into 29 languages and a mobile application for Android and iOS. It would be enough?

At a cost of usd40 + usd?? shipping, why would you take the risk in applying for this unknown translation over a local Malaysian IDP (rm150)?

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Nov 13 2017, 11:43 PM)
not interested in theme parks as it is just not my thing~. Maybe I will adjust to 2x day trips to Kyoto.  hmm.gif

Then Osaka ~2 days is enough. Kyoto, 3-4 days also not enough. Either you make 3-4x day trips, or move to Kyoto for a few days smile.gif

This post has been edited by deodorant: Nov 14 2017, 06:19 AM
deodorant
post Nov 14 2017, 09:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Nov 14 2017, 09:10 PM)
1) because i read nishiki market have alot of street food hehe

It’s been many years since I went Kyoto so my memory is a bit hazy, but I recall nishiki market is mostly a market, not much “buy and eat immediately” street food ...
deodorant
post Nov 17 2017, 08:28 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(rene05 @ Nov 16 2017, 05:11 PM)
Hi, I will be going to Tokyo next year around April and currently doing the itenary. I plan to visit Tsukiji Market in the morning then head over to Ginza around noon.

I ask everyone who says they are “going to visit tsukiji” the same question: Visit what, exactly?

Are you planning to queue for the auction? If so, it means that you need to show up by around 3:00-3:30am, then wait around doing nothing for ~2hours before watching a guy ring a bell for 10minutes.

Are you planning to eat at the two “famous” sushi shops? The most famous one can have up to 4+ hour queues for breakfast.

Are you planning to visit the inner market? That opens to visitors only at 10am.

My point is, if you plan to do all of the above, by lunchtime you would already have been out of the house for 10+ hours, with only maybe 3-4hrs sleep the previous night, will you still have the energy to continue sightseeing for another half day + night?

This post has been edited by deodorant: Nov 17 2017, 08:29 AM
deodorant
post Nov 17 2017, 02:59 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Nov 17 2017, 12:57 PM)
My question is, is it necessary to buy the JR pass in order to get to those places?

Is it your first time in Japan? What’s with the touch & go planning, just so you can declare that you’ve been to all those places? 🤔
deodorant
post Nov 27 2017, 02:46 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Nov 27 2017, 11:01 AM)
1 thing I regret is I never get to try Japan's premium fruit.
Wasted liao, their fruits super sweet super juicy. But also expensive as hell 🤣
deodorant
post Dec 3 2017, 02:18 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Dec 3 2017, 01:36 PM)
Day 1-2 : Tokyo
Day 3-4 : Nagano
Day 5-6 :  Kyoto
Day 7 : Osaka
Day 8 : Kobe
Day 9-12  : Tokyo 

Is it your first trip to Japan? If it is, personally I would cancel out nagano and just do tokyo / surrounding / kansai for 12days trip.

deodorant
post Dec 16 2017, 04:45 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Dec 16 2017, 01:09 PM)
i thought IDL isn’t necessary ?

IDP 100% confirm plus chop needed to rent car & drive in Japan (and Korea).
deodorant
post Dec 16 2017, 04:47 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Dec 16 2017, 03:27 PM)
I know we apply thru JPJ. Just to make sure what documents required apart from international driving license . If I am not mistaken , translation as well .

Here you go bro, don't need to thank me.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.1052sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:59 AM