Retina MacBook Pro Early 2015 in year 2017, Is it still worth it to get it?

TSwestlife
post Jun 16 2017, 03:56 PM, updated 9y ago

14,313 posts

Is it still worthwhile to get the 256gb early 2015 MacBook Pro for the glowing Apple logo and legacy ports?

This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 20 2017, 03:26 PM
TSwestlife
post Jun 18 2017, 08:56 AM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 18 2017, 08:24 AM)
Only if you need the ports really badly. Otherwise it is better to get the newer models.
yes, true.

just somehow feel the old model looks nice also, especially with the growing apple logo. and it indirectly becomes 'limited edition' since it is 'EOL' now.

the new model is good in a lot of aspects like screen, build etc for sure.
TSwestlife
post Jun 20 2017, 03:26 PM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 20 2017, 03:16 PM)
You mean glowing? Yeah, by all means if you can get a cheap one, it is good to go.
yup, glowing. tongue.gif
TSwestlife
post Jun 20 2017, 09:48 PM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jun 20 2017, 09:15 PM)
All the glowing apple laptops are legacy machines now  bye.gif

That was really quick, the one with a HDD stays almost forever as a cheaper upgrade.

I bet there are still a few left in retail and I am all in support for the glowing Apple... it's nice..
yes. the glowing logo is legacy now. and the 2015 and earlier models of macbook had become "collectables". tongue.gif
TSwestlife
post Jul 16 2017, 07:40 PM

14,313 posts

Just sold out my early 2016 retina macbook 12-inch.

Now will be on my early 2015 retina MacBook Pro 13-inch for daily driver.
TSwestlife
post Jul 21 2017, 06:06 PM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Jul 21 2017, 05:06 PM)
I just got my MacBook Pro 13'' early 2015, lucky enough there's still one last unit with 256gb..I was think of the newer model with the Type C connector but in the end I had too many usb stuff plus audio interface still using the older connector, didn't like the idea of adapter connected to the side of the Macbook
I find the early 2015 heavy. I got all the ports but no USB-c. So it is not future proof.

Plus screen wise 2016 and later is a lot better.

One thing I seriously prefer newer model is that the bezel looks a Lor thinner. The bezel on the 2015 is seriously too thick.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jul 22 2017, 06:29 AM
TSwestlife
post Jul 22 2017, 09:31 AM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Jul 22 2017, 08:59 AM)
Totally agree with you, went back to Switch Store to give the new MacBook Pro a look at. Bezel and display size really look much more sleeker and thinner than that of the Early 2015 model. Size wise they've made it slimmer and weigh less too, gigantic trackpad size with force touch, the display probably have been tuned looks much better? but price whoa..huge difference bump up.

Probably next year will purchase the next MacBook Pro 13" model if they've  release and make extra more ports on the 13" model without the touchbar.

the Mac Pro would be my first Apple Laptop, wanted a really stable os for my daily work
the screen is better by a lot actually. In terms of brightness it is 200 nits brighter and it has 25% more Colour.

the 2015 MacBook Pro design has been there since 2012. It is not a bad design, it looks nice but the 2016 onwards design looks a lot better. I still find the early 2015 13-inch MacBook Pro if u have used something lighter like macbook 12-inch.

Apple will unlikely to add in any more port for non-touch version. Apple normally does not change the design for macbook so frequent. At least 2 more years the design will stay which they likely to just upgrade the hardware for the existing design.

The non-touchbar 13-inch MacBook Pro is not really too ex, it depends how much u bought ur early 13-inch macbook.

The speaker for new MacBook Pro is significantly which is quite day and night difference with the 2015. I can safely say for 2017 one will not need an external speaker for normal usage.
TSwestlife
post Aug 24 2017, 05:56 PM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(yenlaytan123 @ Aug 24 2017, 03:41 PM)
i had both2015 and 2017 mbp 13 inch, i just need to purchased a Dell Da200 and everything works out fine for me, but i dont know why, my 2015 mbp battery life is better than the 2017.....
2015 battery life is better than 2017. This is not surprising. Because 2015 is thicker and bigger foot print which it has bigger battery.

2017 vs 2015 the selling point is the better screen, thinner and smaller footprint, future proof thunderbolt 3, much better speakers etc.
TSwestlife
post Sep 1 2017, 10:05 PM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(ILV @ Aug 31 2017, 09:56 PM)
i oso bought MBP 13 2015 few months ago..and so far i am satisfy with it as i am juz a light user, surf net, email+ing, etc...
2015 is actually very good enough in terms of performance etc. However, prefer the smaller footprint and lighter body of the 2017 one. biggrin.gif

0.0184sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:33 PM