Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V6, Refined, smooth, punchy, and efficient

v88
post Jun 19 2017, 10:13 PM

353 posts

Honestly, I feel 10th gen civic's turbo lag is quite serious, u don't have confidence to cross T junction or turn into the roundabout when your car is at full stop position ...this is quite disappointed ..
v88
post Jun 19 2017, 11:27 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 19 2017, 10:36 PM)
quite serious means what? >2sec lag?

I can't tell the secs but it is noticeable from standing start, and I still don't get used to how hard should I press throttle to get instant moving fast the car compared to my old NA car, that it moves at once. Next time maybe I should try S mode when come to T junction or roundabout..

This post has been edited by v88: Jun 19 2017, 11:28 PM
v88
post Jun 19 2017, 11:28 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 19 2017, 11:16 PM)
I think its how CVT behaves, not the turbo lag  brows.gif
Really?
v88
post Jun 19 2017, 11:48 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 19 2017, 11:38 PM)
The car is actually moving but u can't feel it only lol
Haha..moving but standing start acceleration is bad in my opinion.

...My first time driving CVT and turbo car.. Learned it.. tongue.gif
v88
post Jun 19 2017, 11:53 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Jun 19 2017, 11:51 PM)
how long u been driving the car? have you try off the econ mode?
Half year. Never use Econ mode.
v88
post Jun 19 2017, 11:59 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Jun 19 2017, 11:55 PM)
almost same as me.. what was ur previous ride?
8gen civic.. tongue.gif
v88
post Jun 20 2017, 12:03 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Jun 20 2017, 10:01 AM)
I get what you mean and I feel the same too. My old 2.0 NA shoots off faster than the 10th Gen Civic from stand still but once the Civic goes past 1.5k rpm, big smile mode is on. I think this is a combination of the CVT and the turbo lag at the first 500 rpm or so. In any case, drive safe. Plan and time the entry into junctions and roundabouts properly and allow for unexpected events. Better to be safe than sorry.
haha, yalor..but a bit malu only..when the car behind me feel that why i can't make quick move by seeing me drive a CIVIC yet can't make a "quick jump" into the entry point... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by v88: Jun 20 2017, 12:09 PM
v88
post Jun 20 2017, 12:09 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(SackBoy @ Jun 20 2017, 11:26 AM)
Honda purposely did this for reliability, i believe people who have already installed hondata might got rid of this. (jason pro youtube video said so) laugh.gif
i guess the next facelift civic will pair the turbo with DSG gearbox after development.

CVT with turbo still not a perfect match..
v88
post Jun 21 2017, 06:33 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(Clicko220 @ Jun 21 2017, 05:34 PM)
Yes tested coz I have both cars. Or should I say 0-20/30
Not that bad la.. smile.gif u feel that way because u tekan axia more than civic..
v88
post Jun 27 2017, 05:56 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(andyshim89 @ Jun 27 2017, 09:52 AM)
that FD 1.8 sure still stock mode
i braking at 150kmh drop to 140kmh rpm drop to 2500 like that fd1.8 is behind me..once he signal to right at the meantime i floor it..nah..cvt at 2500 goes up to 4500..the civic 1.8 already near my rear tyre.. sssiuuuuuuu...

p/s: i smoke the 1.8 at uphill double lane at 160kmh..maybe he geram..hahaha
FD 1.8 will have more confidence than you when he is on high speed with full press throttle (AT) & hydraulic steering (direct feel on road condition) while our FC is having cvt gear slipping feel that you do not dare to floor it or even you floor it harder (the moment you wanna gain acceleration), the rpm shoot up high and you tend to slow down as how we drive AT car (to make RPM go down to achieve the next gear level) that make our car slower... there is some tactics how to drive CVT car personally i feel..
v88
post Jun 27 2017, 07:58 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(andyshim89 @ Jun 27 2017, 07:34 PM)
if drive at D mode..at partial throttle hold at 4000rpm the speed will drop like this 130-129-128-127..
if S mode lain cerita.. become like normal AT..rpm go up together bring the speed..not rpm go up and throw away his friend ...
That is because torque converter is working harder when on S mode that make us feel like normal AT, personally I feel our car need to press gently and lightly to gain max acceleration.. It feels slow but cvt is working on best gear ratio to accelerate with our turbo's boost..
v88
post Jun 27 2017, 11:59 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(andyshim89 @ Jun 27 2017, 10:11 PM)
if a perodua myvi or protong persona tailgating at back..very hardly to drive gently..must pedal to metal..
from May29th till today travel 1100km only been overtake by fd1.8..
others like persona hiace hilux3.0 saga FLX..all byebye
The only can explain the fd1.8 is not stock car..

https://www.10thcivicforum.com/forum/4-10th...en-si-dyno.html

This post has been edited by v88: Jun 28 2017, 12:19 AM
v88
post Jun 28 2017, 02:05 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(andyshim89 @ Jun 28 2017, 01:30 PM)
im also thinking like that..that 1.8 sure get ready to overtake must keep a higher rpm..but im crusing speed so must take some time to boosting get up high rev..if side by side race sure 1.8 bye bye..
fd 1.8 can not overtake you if you don't change lane, keep revving to 6k rpm, he sure bye bye liao.. unless you are under pressure/stress when he tailgating you .. tongue.gif
v88
post Aug 9 2017, 11:19 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(berann @ Aug 9 2017, 10:11 AM)
I think the door panel rattling is quite common in our CIvic FC due to the screw loose. Mine started rattling with driver door , few months later passenger door then rear door after 1 year of ownership.

I posted here before few months ago. Diy is easy, will take only 2-3mins to do. Better than send to SC and they tell you they will only do on weekdays and need time to check bla bla bla.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJ6Gftpn2mI

Refer to this youtube video, remove to door handle plastic cover, tighten the screw (only 1) and install back the handle cover. (No need to remove the controller & also the whole panel). Easy & no more rattling after that  biggrin.gif
I suspect causing of this issue is during our car tinted, the ppl who dismantle the door has not install it properly..
v88
post Aug 17 2017, 04:31 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(kianlun @ Aug 17 2017, 04:09 PM)
got my rattling issue fixed on right side A pillar and push start button within few hours. Till now no rattling sound anymore.
which SC you got it fixed?
v88
post Aug 29 2017, 12:02 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(andyshim89 @ Aug 29 2017, 09:28 AM)
sometimes SA stupid one... for 1.5T engine oil change is follow the oil maintenance reminder not follow 10k/6months... once we get the car, spend a good time to read the owner manual...
SA only know how to sale a car...
worse part - when i sent for 20k preventive maintenance service, they reset my oil maintenance reminder even it has not change oil yet, which cause me need to estimate my oil change mileage and send for oil change in next visit...
v88
post Sep 12 2017, 09:01 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Sep 10 2017, 08:16 PM)
alternatively buy the car wash sponge - by cutting to fit into the end of A pillar. I did mine, it is effective.

This post has been edited by v88: Sep 12 2017, 09:25 AM
v88
post Sep 12 2017, 09:19 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(-dexter- @ Sep 10 2017, 04:32 PM)
It shud be the same place, i have checked thoroughly and even open up the speedometer cover to see where it rattles internally...unfortunately its not that area..its somewhere inside the aircond vent that produce rattle, so when u press on top blower it will stop completely
yes. it is somewhere inside the aircond vent, that is the thinnest of the dashboard - i guess some wires is touching it to produce the rattling - try to smack it with your palm of the hand (harder), it may work. I did mine - it works, the rattling sound only come when you are driving on VERY rough road due to strong vibration. To certain extent - now my ride is quiet...
v88
post Sep 14 2017, 08:29 PM

353 posts

Anyone here start to have problem with the steering?
v88
post Sep 15 2017, 09:29 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(andyshim89 @ Sep 14 2017, 09:19 PM)
when turn the steering wheel..the inside horn cover got plastic clakk clakk sound..
Yes.. Clakk clakk sound.. U have this problem too?

0.0814sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:49 PM