Conti UC6 vs Kumho HS51, which one better?

TSwkchia
post Jun 12 2017, 11:18 AM, updated 7y ago

634 posts

Which is better in handling, braking and noise?
onetree710
post Jun 15 2017, 08:56 AM

QUOTE(wkchia @ Jun 12 2017, 11:18 AM)
Which is better in handling, braking and noise?
I doubt anyone has ever use both tyres long enough to give you an opinion.
The best option I see is to read the tyrereviews, and make your own judgement:
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Kumho/Ecsta-HS51.htm
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Continen...Contact-CC6.htm
Effy92
post Jun 16 2017, 09:31 AM

294 posts

UC6 just launch end of last year. Check out first impression below.
http://www.carsifu.my/news/first-impressio...6-and-uc6-tyres
sg999
post Jul 3 2017, 09:28 PM

1,027 posts

HS51 bigger longkang.
TSwkchia
post Jul 23 2017, 11:01 AM

634 posts

Decided to buy Conti UC6 rather than HS51. Review showing HS51 wear faster and longer braking distance.
Initial feeling of this UC6 is quiet. Dry grip in decent. Wet grip dunno yet, no rain. biggrin.gif.
RM314/pcs with GST and balancing. This price is quite reasonable for a decent brand. Nearest competitor tyre is maybe Mic 3ST but it was 70+ more expensive.
leehernandez
post Jul 23 2017, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(wkchia @ Jul 23 2017, 11:01 AM)
Decided to buy Conti UC6 rather than HS51. Review showing HS51 wear faster and longer braking distance.
Initial feeling of this UC6 is quiet. Dry grip in decent. Wet grip dunno yet, no rain. biggrin.gif.
RM314/pcs with GST and balancing. This price is quite reasonable for a decent brand. Nearest competitor tyre is maybe Mic 3ST but it was 70+ more expensive.
which size rm 314?
TSwkchia
post Jul 23 2017, 12:04 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 23 2017, 11:52 AM)
which size rm 314?
Oh, sorry forgot to state. its 215/45R17. Bought from Bandar Mahkota Cheras.
sg999
post Aug 2 2017, 08:50 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(wkchia @ Jul 23 2017, 12:01 PM)
Which review u refer to?
TSwkchia
post Aug 3 2017, 07:36 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Aug 2 2017, 08:50 PM)
Which review u refer to?
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre-Type/Pas...-Touring-Tyres/
SportyHandling
post Aug 12 2017, 08:08 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(wkchia @ Jul 23 2017, 11:01 AM)
May I ask what is your car and the previous brands of tyre which you have used so that there is a benchmark for comparison. This Continental UC6 lacks user reviews. Both UC6 and CC6 only have coverage in Autobuzz and Carsifu. The CC6 is said to be quieter with higher comfort levels when compared to UC6. The UC6 is said to have better handling and braking performance in comparison to the CC6 but is also slightly noisier.
TSwkchia
post Aug 12 2017, 09:21 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 12 2017, 08:08 PM)
May I ask what is your car and the previous brands of tyre which you have used so that there is a benchmark for comparison. This Continental UC6 lacks user reviews. Both UC6 and CC6 only have coverage in Autobuzz and Carsifu. The CC6 is said to be quieter with higher comfort levels when compared to UC6. The UC6 is said to have better handling and  braking performance in comparison to the CC6 but is also slightly noisier.
Previously using PS3 on my Altis. PS3 is quite noisy after sometime. For me, UC6 very silent and grip is good enuf for me. I dun drive fast, so PS3 is overkill for me.
armadasaxon
post Aug 13 2017, 12:00 AM

488 posts

im using hs51 so far so good..wet oso good..altis 16 inch..
SportyHandling
post Aug 13 2017, 10:45 AM

419 posts

QUOTE(wkchia @ Aug 12 2017, 09:21 PM)
Previously using PS3 on my Altis. PS3 is quite noisy after sometime. For me, UC6 very silent and grip is good enuf for me. I dun drive fast, so PS3 is overkill for me.
Thanks for the information. I have read the same about the PS3. Although I have not used one before, personally I believe all performance-orientated tyres with good handling will be noisier, so in this sense I am not surprised you found the PS3 to be noisier than the Continental UC6.

My next tyres for my cars would be either Continental UC6 or Goodyear Assurance Triplemax, whichever is cheaper or available in my local tyre shop.

0.0149sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:14 AM