Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies, Comprehensive guide on first page.
Apr 2 2025, 09:26 AM
6,621 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Malaysia |
XRP keep demote
Apr 2 2025, 09:45 AM
13,189 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Apr 2 2025, 11:23 AM
326 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
QUOTE(mois @ Apr 2 2025, 08:55 AM) I think it was announced long ago, and take into effect tomorrow US time. Malaysia import goods worth billions from US, while exporting smaller amounts. I hope Malaysian businesses isn't affected |
Apr 2 2025, 01:59 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
5,568 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the lack of sleep |
QUOTE(mois @ Apr 2 2025, 08:55 AM) News calendar marked it as Trump Speaks at 4am on the 3rd of April Malaysia time, so likely press conference to announce it. Of course being a Content President he can just post it on his Truth Social. |
Apr 2 2025, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(Vrese @ Apr 2 2025, 11:23 AM) I think it was announced long ago, and take into effect tomorrow US time. Malaysia import goods worth billions from US, while exporting smaller amounts. I hope Malaysian businesses isn't affected No. The announcement is for the new Reciprocal tariff that will hit every country that exports to the US. Practically a 'You tax my stuff, I tax yours' tariff. Also you got it the other way around as Malaysia exports to USA more than we import and is one of our top trading partners. |
Apr 2 2025, 04:58 PM
210 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Apr 1 2025, 11:40 PM) I just registered on Hata. How does it compare to Luno?Another question, since I plan to invest a maximum of RM50 daily, would it be best to buy on Luno or Hata, stake the assets, perhaps in week/bi-weekly then convert and transfer them to Binance or Nexo for withdrawal at my convenience? |
Apr 2 2025, 05:02 PM
3,486 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
lifenoregret no staking in hata. Luno you can stake but luno impose tax on the income. since you know how to send cryptos already, better to send out to binance/nexo to stake
just use hata for on-ramp purposes This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Apr 2 2025, 05:06 PM |
Apr 2 2025, 05:13 PM
210 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Apr 2 2025, 05:02 PM) lifenoregret no staking in hata. Luno you can stake but luno impose tax on the income. since you know how to send cryptos already, better to send out to binance/nexo to stake How was the fees on XLM? If I planned on sending daily to Binance/Nexo?just use hata for on-ramp purposes This post has been edited by lifenoregret: Apr 2 2025, 10:38 PM |
Apr 2 2025, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Apr 2 2025, 02:09 PM) No. The announcement is for the new Reciprocal tariff that will hit every country that exports to the US. Practically a 'You tax my stuff, I tax yours' tariff. Also you got it the other way around as Malaysia exports to USA more than we import and is one of our top trading partners. I just check again, i got it wrong. The question now did Malaysia put US products in heavy tax? If yes, Malaysian company who export to US can't sell more soonThis post has been edited by Vrese: Apr 2 2025, 05:59 PM |
Apr 2 2025, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(Vrese @ Apr 2 2025, 05:57 PM) I just check again, i got it wrong. The question now did Malaysia put US products in heavy tax? If yes, Malaysian company who export to US can't sell more soon That is why some are calling it the 'Known Unknown' and the world market is just bracing for it. We know he is going to do it but we don't know how. Reciprocal could be done by goods, meaning if you tax US cars for 30%, the US will put a 30% tariff on your car coming into the US. However, that means there going to be tens of thousands of tariff codes from thousands of goods and hundreds of countries which would be crazy to manage.Or Trump can just go all out and say if you tax my car for 30%, I'd tax your WHOLE country for 30%. How this is going to affect Malaysia we'd just have to wait for the 4am press conference. Also it is not just Malaysian company, it's everything that is made outside of US. It can be a German company making the goods in Malaysia and exporting it to the US and that gets slapped with tariff. So the German company decides to close the Malaysian plant and opens one in USA and Malaysia suffers too. We know that is stupid but that is what Trump wants to do with his tariff policies. |
Apr 2 2025, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Apr 2 2025, 06:19 PM) That is why some are calling it the 'Known Unknown' and the world market is just bracing for it. We know he is going to do it but we don't know how. Reciprocal could be done by goods, meaning if you tax US cars for 30%, the US will put a 30% tariff on your car coming into the US. However, that means there going to be tens of thousands of tariff codes from thousands of goods and hundreds of countries which would be crazy to manage. I didn't see from this prospective before. Since Malaysia has many foreign company manufacturing electronic chip, this could spell trouble for Malaysia too. It's only stupid from Malaysia prospective but look really smart from America prospective because it benefits themOr Trump can just go all out and say if you tax my car for 30%, I'd tax your WHOLE country for 30%. How this is going to affect Malaysia we'd just have to wait for the 4am press conference. Also it is not just Malaysian company, it's everything that is made outside of US. It can be a German company making the goods in Malaysia and exporting it to the US and that gets slapped with tariff. So the German company decides to close the Malaysian plant and opens one in USA and Malaysia suffers too. We know that is stupid but that is what Trump wants to do with his tariff policies. |
Apr 2 2025, 09:47 PM
1,267 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
Let's wait and see what will be officially announced at 4am local time tomorrow morning |
Apr 2 2025, 10:17 PM
650 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
brace for impact
Apr 2 2025, 10:20 PM
3,625 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Hornbill land |
4am. That is when US market close.
Apr 3 2025, 05:40 AM
Malaysia kena 24%, more than EU, UK. |
Apr 3 2025, 05:42 AM
Malaysia get 24%
Maybe good time for the gov to lower iPhone price by reducing the tax Edited: Malaysia actually didn't impose heavy taxes on imported American product. However we don't have Free Trade Agreement with them. This post has been edited by Vrese: Apr 3 2025, 06:09 AM |
Apr 3 2025, 06:16 AM
I thought reciprocal tariffs means a 1-to-1 ratio.
You charge 47% we charge 47%. But this is "discounted" reciprocal tariiffs. What an oxymoron. It is like a a discounted Newton's third law of motion. |
Apr 3 2025, 06:37 AM
2,003 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
where did he get the 47% number from Malaysia charged to US?
Apr 3 2025, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(colmi @ Apr 3 2025, 06:16 AM) I thought reciprocal tariffs means a 1-to-1 ratio. His calculation of 47% is not just plain goods tax but includes currency manipulation and trade barriers. So the reciprocal tariffs won't be one on one and won't be the same to all countries.You charge 47% we charge 47%. But this is "discounted" reciprocal tariiffs. What an oxymoron. It is like a a discounted Newton's third law of motion. |
Apr 3 2025, 07:34 AM
| Change to: | 0.0411sec