Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies, Comprehensive guide on first page.

b0rhui
post Jul 2 2017, 12:03 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(dc_talkz @ Jul 1 2017, 06:45 PM)
I remember back when Ashley Madison was hacked, there were so many blackmails going around. Apparently there were many Malaysian on that site too, which was surprising because you need a US address to register. Though it really ended up benefitting the divorce lawyers rather than the hackers. Lol.
What if the hackers were actually the major divorce law firm hmm.gif conspiracy

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 1 2017, 06:55 PM)
No lah.. all my passwords are not same and I am using at least 100 bits password.
How do you login into the most basic thing ever then, say email? Copy paste from somewhere? hmm.gif PS: im not haxer laugh.gif

QUOTE(Flame Haze @ Jul 1 2017, 11:51 PM)
yep last month crypto was booming, u just needed to throw money to get them gains. Got onto the strat train from $5 to $9, then got on 2 Siacoin pumps from 500 sat to 600+ sat, had some in bitbay too which went from 900 sat to 1700 sat last month. Had ANS in my watchlist when it was around $1.4 but too bad I missed it.  doh.gif
Where'd you normally source your reading, bitcointalk, reddit, steemit, official channels via official site, twitter? I had missed out so much ever since I picked on XRP sweat.gif What was your strategy if you don't mind telling, YOLO all in into a coin, or do you hold a small portfolio of coins?
b0rhui
post Jul 2 2017, 12:34 AM

689 posts

Are we finally at this stage:

In between 'return to normal' and fear, is the history gonna repeat itself?
b0rhui
post Jul 4 2017, 02:01 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(gigroup @ Jul 4 2017, 01:37 AM)
Guys,

I already decided I wanna double up my investment in HASHFLARE scrypt. 
return experience with HASHFLARE too good. God bless me biggrin.gif
Wrong section CM mining > that way
b0rhui
post Jul 4 2017, 01:48 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jul 4 2017, 08:43 AM)
Thinking of moving all my saving to BTC (Luno platform), is it a good idea?
QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 4 2017, 08:51 AM)
You are just like gambling. laugh.gif

Crypto is high risk, high return.  sweat.gif

You may consider mining. sweat.gif
Never a good idea but ask yourself a question : would you risk all your savings against uncle lim? If yes then go ahead
b0rhui
post Jul 5 2017, 10:46 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 5 2017, 09:55 AM)
Hope for the best! In cryptoworld, anything is possible!

Reminds me when I first entered cryptos in feb 2017. Dead coin LTC 4, expensive ETH 20+, dash the scam coin biggrin.gif 40+, damn exorbitant BTC 1000, etc....

Exciting!!!! rclxm9.gif
When you first joined cyptos..

Were there:
1. Mining/cloud mining hype resulting in many gpu OOS
2. ICO hype

Or all these have been lasting quite a bit even before you joined in feb? Would love to know thumbsup.gif

The real hype started in may-june by judging at the chart, right?

To be honest I'm rather risk averse guy now (Prior to investing I was risk seeking-gambling kind but have generated some paper gain tongue.gif) so I have unloaded my capital already.
b0rhui
post Jul 9 2017, 12:49 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Jul 9 2017, 04:29 AM)
My experience with luno today sucked, slow and expensive
I was charged about RM100 transaction fee, I knowingly saw this but did it anyway.
is there a way to lower fee and send at slower pace at Luno?

Basically deposit RM5000 from Maybank to luno, around 10pm 8.7.17
took about 20-30min to show on Luno
Bought BTC using RM5000 the fee was 1% fine

11pm Use luno to transfer to Coinomi wallet OMG!!!
transaction was fast, about 1min for the first verification, 2-3 more follow in few minutes
But the fee was extremely high somewhere around RM100 dont really remember the screen.
At the end i only got 0.433350 in my coinomi wallet, which shows RM4761

is this normal? is luno charging or coinomi charging?

Then I transfer another 5K from maybank to Luno this time was around 12:20am 9.7.17
1:30am still not shown on Luno

reading up on this dynamic fee, they claim they dont make money, i knew i saw the fee was going to be around RM100 when i click send from Luno to coinomi, but i did it anyway, is there any other alternative when sending to coinomi or polonex
https://www.luno.com/blog/en/post/dynamic-send-fees
"Free alternative: Sending to an email address or mobile number is instant and free" this only applies to Luno to Luno right?

also its not the BTC 0.0002 fee
https://www.luno.com/blog/en/post/bitcoin-network-fees
QUOTE(mcko @ Jul 9 2017, 11:48 AM)
Once you buy at most exchanges, you are stuck with whatever miner fee they set for outgoing txs, and most of the time they will purposely overpay the miner fee to 100% make sure you confirm in 1-2 blocks. You might have hit a period of mini-congestion during your transaction so the fee was higher than usual.

If you have the option to buy eth (and re-sell later for btc), go for that instead as the eth miner fees are much cheaper.
In fact your 0.43335 BTC worth around ~RM4.92k (Luno exchange bid price) as of this moment. To be exact less than 100 out of your 5K went to the fees, that's less than 2%

It is frequently mentioned that the purchase of BTC with Malaysian ringgit will be associated with certain percentage of premium

BTC is currently sold for around $2.64k on Luno. This is not a perfect market hence you wouldn't be able to buy it at market value.

TLDR: You spent extra money to buy the 0.43335 btc since we are in Malaysian market. When you liquidate it you should be able to sell it at higher price too, if FUD doesn't happen
b0rhui
post Jul 10 2017, 07:43 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(ccsang @ Jul 10 2017, 09:26 AM)
Thank for info, any chance where I can get normal market price from Malaysia market ? May be I will buy more later
Don't get it wrong, you spent 5K to obtain 4.7K worth of btc which actual value is still 5K. Processing fee is probably 1% (RM50)

Why actual value is still 5K becoz you would be able to sell it at a premium in Malaysian market (as if now) when you decide to exit

One day Malaysian market may have cheaper btc than USD but this is unlikely to happen
b0rhui
post Jul 11 2017, 10:46 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Jul 11 2017, 09:17 PM)
for me its time to buy btc switch to altcoin and hold, so it works out to be bad for me, not going to sell anytime soon.
What about China? are they paying premium for btc??

Yes China is also trading at a slight premium. Around 2.4-2.5K.

Think of it this way: each currency is a separate market. In MYR you buy 1BTC= 10K means sell 1BTC also 10K. A GTX1080 sold in the US for $600 doesnt also mean that it would be sold here at the same equivalent amount

USD strictly serves as a movement guideline only.

I noticed you mentioned MYR market was trading at a premium of 250 last weekend VS 800 now.

It is due to more panic sell in USD market resulting in MORE drop and more confidence in MYR market (LESS selling less drop), so the so called premium gap is narrowed

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Jul 11 2017, 09:17 PM)
I have funds in China that I need to get back into RM, what better way to send via btc/altcoin if reasonable price.
OKCoin.cn, largest BTC/CNY exchange by volume is currently trading at about RMB16500. I think it is reasonable enough (cost involved is withdrawal fee by OKCoin and miner fee). Bare in mind you'll have to go through identification (KYC - know your customer, is required by chinese govt) and it is not easy to pass

Easiest way: buy BTC via chinese banks https://localbitcoins.com/country/CN

Not recommended to use altcoin as a way to remit as you will suffer additional volatility risk

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Jul 11 2017, 11:01 PM
b0rhui
post Jul 12 2017, 10:54 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Jul 12 2017, 03:32 AM)

I laughed laugh.gif Anyway KYC is mandatory in all china exchanges. Some BTC seller on CN localbitcoins will do KYC with you too. Make sure to avoid those and look at their past trades/feedback

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 12 2017, 10:48 AM)
Luno

100% sellers dumped from10500 to 10050 and now 10300

They dump rugi a lot as 1% out of RM10050 is RM100.50 fee. Effectively, they sold at RM99xx
1% commission is only paid when the seller wants to sell imnediately at current bid price right?
b0rhui
post Aug 10 2017, 12:41 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Aug 9 2017, 06:57 PM)
I was about to take some profit and it lau sai...  bye.gif
then got to stand back and relax and lau sai together  bangwall.gif
You mentioned lau sai.. I thought like serious lau sai and its time to enter drool.gif oh well just a mere 5% whistling.gif

Been away from one month since early July and its time to get back in! So much has happened..
b0rhui
post Aug 10 2017, 12:47 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(turtle_onrage @ Aug 10 2017, 12:11 AM)
Newbie question alert. Please don't tembak me.

How do you keep your crypto safe? What kind of wallet did you use? As from reading from the forum, traders here are keep trading (buy/sell), and fees are incurred, what are the ways that you use to keep in secure and low cost.

For example, I buy Bitcoin from Luno, Luno wallet is considered a safe wallet? Then I plan to buy ETH through Poloniex by depositing bitcoin in. After buy ETH, I will need to buy a place to keep it?

Ps: Is the only way for Malaysian to use Poloniex is through deposit Bitcoin in right?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
Wallet on any exchanges are not safe and may be hacked anytime e.g. Luno and Polo them both are one of the many exchanges

Most secured form of wallet would be hardware wallet. You can read more on PAGE 1 "POST #2"

Ps: You may deposit any altcoins and start trading on Polo. You don't necessarily have to deposit bitcoin only. You can also deposit ETH bought from cex.io

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Aug 10 2017, 12:48 AM
b0rhui
post Aug 10 2017, 05:18 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(Flame Haze @ Aug 10 2017, 05:13 PM)
Not sure whether to be happy or sad. Had 1000 neo last month and sold them all at $7, put them all into OMG and gained about 100%. (didn't time the market really well since OMG is up 4x) sweat.gif Kinda missed the train for NEO but I did get on the OMG train at least.
Well the wave will always calm itself down like what happened in early July.. I too sold mine at lower than 300k then exited BTC entirely rclxms.gif
b0rhui
post Nov 16 2017, 02:46 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Nov 16 2017, 01:59 PM)
Guys, is it safe to update to level 2 in Luno? To be level 2 you need to submit your IC/passport to them. I just submitted last week and got approved recently. Well, not sure if it is related, I received message stating 

'66600 - RM0.00 AGROBANK -  Sila gantikan kad anda kepada KAD BARU BERCIRI PIN dengan segera bagi mengelakkan sebarang gangguan penggunaan transaksi.'.

I don't remember having Agrobank account or card.  Could it be someone using my details to apply for credit card or something?
If it's a scam its most likely to come from private number rather than short code 5 digit numbers. Also it should include a phone number for you to call if it is a scam

You should check with agrobank
b0rhui
post May 9 2021, 06:22 PM

689 posts

Sifus here, I would like to ask about the transaction fees. According to Remitano withdrawal fees they charge flat rate 0.0005 BTC which amounts to about 28USD.

According to some random blockchain transaction, example
https://www.blockchain.com/btc/tx/72fae1d12...099b4aad1756340
The fee is mere $5. So may I know is Remitano charging exorbitant withdrawal fees or am I seeing the wrong things?

According to blockchain, it should be about $18 average.
https://www.blockchain.com/charts/fees-usd-per-transaction

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.9574sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:12 AM