102 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V13 (Group), ALL about Jesus Christ.

TSunknown warrior
post Feb 8 2018, 01:45 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Feb 8 2018, 01:17 PM)
biggrin.gif Not only that .... usually I don't read matter of salvation to the foot washing ... but the Lord's word to Peter after he nonsensically went to one extreme ... XD

Verse 10 says, "Jesus said to him, He who is bathed has no need except to wash his feet, but is wholly clean."

Those who are bathed refers to the baptism (Acts 22:16).

Although we Christians are bathed once only (We are eternally saved), the Bible shows us that foot-washing happens many times.

We are bathed only once, and all our sins are washed. But it takes many foot-washings to wash away all the dirt while living on earth and coming into contact with the world every day (1 John).
Yup Bro, you and I seem to have the same understanding on scripture for this text.

Thank you bro, much appreciated.

I agree..the constant washing of feet is a reminder...being washed with the word of God. tongue.gif
TSunknown warrior
post Feb 8 2018, 04:33 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

tongue.gif

Colossians 2:14 (KJV) - Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;

Only the 10 commandments was handwritten by God on the 2 tablets. Blotting out, Abolished, Cancelled, same thing. This handwritten ordinances same reference to Ephesians 2:15 so it's not referring to ceremonial laws.

Here is one more.

2 Corinthians 3:7 (NIV) - Now if the ministry that brought death, which was engraved in letters on stone, came with glory, so that the Israelites could not look steadily at the face of Moses because of its glory, transitory though it was,

Same thing being mentioned, only the 10 commandments were engraved in letter on stone by God and God calls the 10 commandments, a ministry of death.....not life.

Why subscribe to death if it's something you believe that still stands for the believer?

God Bless ya'll.

desmond2020
post Feb 8 2018, 05:00 PM

906 posts

Therefore let no one pass judgment on you in questions of food and drink, or with regard to a festival or a new moon or a Sabbath. These are a shadow of the things to come, but the substance belongs to Christ. Let no one disqualify you, insisting on asceticism and worship of angels, going on in detail about visions, puffed up without reason by his sensuous mind, and not holding fast to the Head, from whom the whole body, nourished and knit together through its joints and ligaments, grows with a growth that is from God. If with Christ you died to the elemental spirits of the world, why, as if you were still alive in the world, do you submit to regulations— "Do not handle, Do not taste, Do not touch" (referring to things that all perish as they are used)—according to human precepts and teachings? These have indeed an appearance of wisdom in promoting self-made religion and asceticism and severity to the body, but they are of no value in stopping the indulgence of the flesh.
Colossians 2:16‭-‬23 ESV
https://bible.com/bible/59/col.2.16-23.ESV

read the whole chapter then you will know it is about ceremonial or dietary law

kesian lah people like you
Sophiera
post Feb 8 2018, 07:11 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

So nice to see you again Brother Pehkay.
TSunknown warrior
post Feb 8 2018, 08:00 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Colossians 2:16-23 is in reference to the laws of God as a whole.

Keeping the Sabbath is part of the 10 commandments (Colossians 2:16).

tongue.gif

TSunknown warrior
post Feb 8 2018, 08:03 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Feb 8 2018, 07:11 PM)
So nice to see you again Brother Pehkay.
Initially I thought there was a bit of difference between his theological understanding and mine but looks like there isn't much difference really.

ha.
Sophiera
post Feb 9 2018, 04:42 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

I'm tired of mudsling too.
tinarhian
post Feb 10 2018, 11:33 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Jan 21 2018, 10:49 PM)
Oh Protestant of unknown flavour, neither did I say works itself merit salvation. But it is certainly not FAITH ALONE.
We are saved by his grace through faith in Christ alone, and good works are the evidence of our salvation. Paul and James had different views regarding these faith versus works too. LEL.

Salvation is entirely depended on God. "Workmanship" in Greek means what has been made. If there are no change in the life of the believers after salvation, then is that person really truly saved...
tinarhian
post Feb 10 2018, 11:48 PM

726 posts

Isn't hyper grace preachers focused more on charismatic teachings and feel good sermons? The Law is still act as a guide for righteous living. The ceremonial law is no more though.

Hyper grace preachers like to talk about prosperity gospel too.
yeeck
post Feb 11 2018, 07:57 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Feb 10 2018, 11:33 PM)
We are saved by his grace through faith in Christ alone, and good works are the evidence of our salvation. Paul and James had different views regarding these faith versus works too. LEL.

Salvation is entirely depended on God. "Workmanship" in Greek means what has been made. If there are no change in the life of the believers after salvation, then is that person really truly saved...
Oh no they didn't have different views, else they would have had separated into different sects even back then and not have to wait until 1500 years later for Martin Luther to be born to have such a 'new revelation'. Furthermore, that means you believe that Scripture contradicts one another?

St Paul: "And now there remain faith, hope, and charity, these three: but the greatest of these is charity."

St James: "What does it profit, my brethren, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can faith save him? If a brother or sister is naked and destitute of daily food, 16 and one of you says to them, “Depart in peace, be warmed and filled,” but you do not give them the things which are needed for the body, what does it profit? Thus also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead."

thomasthai
post Feb 12 2018, 09:00 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Feb 11 2018, 07:57 PM)

St Paul:  "And now there remain faith, hope, and charity, these three: but the greatest of these is charity."
Which version is that verse from?

Every english version I know of translate that as love.

St James: "What does it profit, my brethren, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can faith save him? If a brother or sister is naked and destitute of daily food, 16 and one of you says to them, “Depart in peace, be warmed and filled,” but you do not give them the things which are needed for the body, what does it profit? Thus also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead."
The very core of protestant belief of salvation is that it is by faith alone because you cannot add anything to the works of Christ.

The inward regeneration by the Holy Spirit in the believer will always produce good works. It is not an active work done by the believer to achieve salvation.

Now I know catholics have the doctrine of purgatory to deal with believers who do not have works (we understand these people as false believers ), but using sound hermeneutics to understand the scriptures, the doctine is just not there.

Much has been debated over the last 500 years, I dont intend to start another one here. Just hope you'll see the truth.
yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 11:22 AM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Feb 12 2018, 09:00 AM)
Which version is that verse from?

Every english version I know of translate that as love.
The very core of protestant belief of salvation is that it is by faith alone because you cannot add anything to the works of Christ.

The inward regeneration by the Holy Spirit in the believer will always produce good works. It is not an active work done by the believer to achieve salvation.

Now I know catholics have the doctrine of purgatory to deal with believers who do not have works (we understand these people as false believers ), but using sound hermeneutics to understand the scriptures, the doctine is just not there.

Much has been debated over the last 500 years, I dont intend to start another one here. Just hope you'll see the truth.
KJV, DRB uses that word.

Yes I know about Protestant doctrine. And the fallacy is that it's as if the Church only started 1500 years later.

The Holy Spirit moves the believer to do good works, but if the believer does not have fertile soil as in the parable of the sower to cooperate with the graces given by God, do you think it will bear good fruit? See also 1 Cor 3:11-15.

Those in purgatory are already saved, just that they need to be polished further. The Catholic teaching about purgatory is that if, at the end of a Christian's earthly life, the debt of justice was not satisfied (Luke 12:59), he shall be purified in purgatory before entering heaven, even though the sin has been forgiven.

Now Protestants also reject Tradition. However, Tradition explains what the early Christians believe in. They prayed for the dead. Same for the Jews of the Old Testament. If they are confirmed in Hell or Heaven already, and no other place, then prayers for the dead are worthless.

yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 12:07 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(DrNinja @ Feb 12 2018, 11:44 AM)
Hmmmm
Hebrews 9:27
27 And just as it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment,

Well. Yes, prayer for the dead are worthless.
Yes, if one gets into Purgatory he is already saved smile.gif

If you think prayers for the dead are worthless, too bad:

"May the Lord grant mercy to the house of Onesiphorus, for he often refreshed me, and was not ashamed of my chain, but when he was in Rome, he sought me diligently, and found me (the Lord grant to him to find the Lord's mercy on that day); and in how many things he served at Ephesus, you know very well." (2 Timothy 1:16-18)

The tomb of the Christian Abercius of Hieropolis in Phrygia (latter part of the 2nd century) bears the inscription: "Let every friend who observes this pray for me", i.e. Abercius, who throughout speaks in the first person.

The inscriptions in the Roman catacombs bear similar witness to the practice, by the occurrence of such phrases as:

Mayst thou live among the saints (3rd century);
May God refresh the soul of . . . ;
Peace be with them.

Among Church writers Tertullian († 230) is the first to mention prayers for the dead: "The widow who does not pray for her dead husband has as good as divorced him". This passage occurs in one of his later writings, dating from the beginning of the 3rd century. Subsequent writers similarly make mention of the practice as prevalent, not as unlawful or even disputed (until Arius challenged it towards the end of the 4th century). The most famous instance is Saint Augustine's prayer for his mother, Monica, at the end of the 9th book of his Confessions, written around 398.

An important element in the Christian liturgies both East and West consisted of the diptychs, or lists of names of living and dead commemorated at the Eucharist. To be inserted in these lists was a confirmation of one's orthodoxy, and out of the practice grew the official canonization of saints; on the other hand, removal of a name was a condemnation.

In the middle of the 3rd century, St. Cyprian enjoining that there should be no oblation or public prayer made for a deceased layman who had broken the Church's rule by appointing a cleric trustee under his will: "He ought not to be named in the priests prayer who has done his best to detain the clergy from the altar."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prayer_for_the_dead

Protestantism is a novelty and departure from Christianity.
yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 12:16 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(DrNinja @ Feb 12 2018, 12:11 PM)
Hmmmm
Hebrews 9:27 ESV
27 And just as it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment
Also
Actually the idea of praying/interceeding for the dead is just so funny. I mean as if praying at that point is going to change God's decision.
Also, what is the point of praying for someone who is dead, when that person has no personal relations to us upon us dying.
Matthew 22 ESV
30 For in the resurrection they neither marry, nor are given in marriage, but are as the angels of God in heaven.

31 But as touching the resurrection of the dead, have ye not read that which was spoken unto you by God, saying,

Well. Yes, prayer for the dead are worthless.

Traditions are also doctrines that the "CHURCH" decides right? Funny how traditions keep on changing.

Actually the church did not start 1500 years later. Problem is that the catholic church has always been persecuting [heretics] since it's inception.

The "rivalry" to the "CHURCH" started 1500 years later though. It seems that the only reason why Martin Luther started the Reformation movement was because he wanted to become the Pope as well. It was a good strategy pointing out the obvious mistakes of the Catholic Church but then he did not really succeed right? At least in taking power inside the Catholic Church.

About the "debt of justice", hmmm. Interesting. Islam also have a similar concept. I wonder why?

Funny though. Because you use the word CHURCH. I mean we are not ignorant here. We know what church actually means when it comes to Catholicism right?
So then if I follow your logic, Christians shouldn't be praying for other Christians too? Oh vey...

Too much Chick comics.

Islam came 600 later. What's your point? Islam believes in One God, so do you believe we pray to the same God then? tongue.gif

Rivalry to the CHURCH? You never heard about Eastern Orthodox schism in the 11th century? Luther came several hundred years later tongue.gif

No where did Luther said he wanted to become the Pope. He called the papacy the antichrist now didn't he? So why would he want to become the Pope?

This post has been edited by yeeck: Feb 12 2018, 12:21 PM
yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 12:20 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(DrNinja @ Feb 12 2018, 12:19 PM)
I will let you guess what my point is. But I think you probably know. So do not need to elaborate.

Well. Guess, one of my point is irrelevant. But then you did not answer the rest.
See above.
yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 12:25 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(DrNinja @ Feb 12 2018, 12:23 PM)
Funny though. Even though you know the answer , you actually want me to repeat it.
Hmm.
Oh sylar..lol
yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 12:34 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(DrNinja @ Feb 12 2018, 12:30 PM)
So that's your answer.
No wonder you are forever at the same level.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Fighting with other protestants and want to be champion of protestants at the same time.. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 01:20 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(DrNinja @ Feb 12 2018, 12:52 PM)
Did I even say I want to be a champion of protestant. Looks like you have a problem with reading. In fact,  I hinted that the reformed movement is an oxymoron.

I find it hypocritical actually actually. It's like you are saying that there is no infighting within the Catholic movement. But then morality is never a highlight of the Catholic movement right?
When Protestants fight over scripture interpretation, they start their own churches. When Catholics don't agree with Catholicism, they fall away and don't remain Catholics or they become bad ones. If morality is not important in Catholicism, why would we bother over both faith and works? After all, to you, only faith alone. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yeeck: Feb 12 2018, 01:20 PM
yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 01:25 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(DrNinja @ Feb 12 2018, 01:22 PM)
For your info. Hitler also claimed that he is someone of the highest morality.

And I have actually changed my view on Catholicism.
Hitler can say whatever he wants, provided everyone listens to him. brows.gif
yeeck
post Feb 12 2018, 01:46 PM

3,577 posts

QUOTE(DrNinja @ Feb 12 2018, 01:37 PM)
Actually. If someone is really moral,  he really does not need to tell others that he is moral. Just like if a company practices work life balance,  that company does not need to tell others.

Anyway. I meant to say that I have actually changed my views on protestanism.
What are you trying to say? bangwall.gif

Jesus Christ says: "Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”"

102 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:22 AM