V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

frank123
post Sep 18 2007, 11:46 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Sep 15 2007, 09:56 AM)
It depend on how many competitors nearby for the birds to test out each farm to decide to stay permanantly. Roving size just nice. How big is the interentrace from roving to nesting? Middle or left right double interentrace to nesting? Personally never test Nest Tech CD I know they have many different one for sales. When you purchase did they ask you where are you going to use the CD? They claim they won't sell the same CD to the same place. How's the sound quality to human ear? How fast the external sound lure birds to come explore after switch on?
29-32 degree seems unusually high for a concrete farm.  Mine wooden farm do min 26 max 31. Try to get readings up from nesting plank/ceiling area as that part is more important. Observe which part of your building get the most direct sunlight and  get temperature reading at that wall/ceiling.

Added on September 15, 2007, 10:08 am
You haven't bought amps? Don't worry that cheap amp I open up already got big cooling fin inside. Though the price cheap inside the material not chapalang at all. Not high tech but at least the capacitors are Japanese made Rubycon brand. I use that amp for internal sound 24/7 on. It operate at much lower temperature than the 5.1 amp(old amp) I use for external sound. Personally I prefer amp without fan. Why? If a model is design with fan mean it generate quite high heat must have active cooling method. If the fan used is normal sleeve bearing fan when running 24/7 after some time oil inside the bearing will dry off then become spin slower or worse become jammed.  Those without fan already design to work with passive cooling method which won't fail.  smile.gif
Hi Everyone,

I love to see this discussion group cover such an extend. I am a newbie in this, only 2 weeks knowing such a wonderful business to own. I am particularly impressed with some of the success stories.

I am from Kulim. Anyone from Kulim or near the northern region? Sorry for not able to finish the 22 pages of historical mails, too much to digest with daily work commitment.

Regards,
Frank
Kulim, Kedah

frank123
post Sep 18 2007, 03:12 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(kent kt @ Sep 18 2007, 12:00 PM)
Is there any farm in kedah?
Of course there is...We are close to Nibong Tebal, Parit Buntar, which are hotspot for Swiftlet farming as well.

FRank
frank123
post Sep 24 2007, 11:11 AM

41 posts

Hi folks,

I went to visit a farm that is under construction within a padi field(agricultural land) in Penang last weekend. The consultant(sounds experience after spending almost two hours with him) who was contracted to build this for a Malay said that it is good to buy a piece of land and build your own farm to avoid competition(of course it the bird call test has to pass first). And furthermore, we do not need to apply permit for the building. For the double storey farm he is building, the total cost about $130 including everything, like 15'x30' area. I wonder if what he said is right and if there is any other potential risks, like I heard one farm in Kelantan/Terengganu(?) build under an agricultural land was asked to be demolished at the mid of construction.

Share your thoughts? rclxub.gif

Frank

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Sep 21 2007, 04:09 PM)
How much you bought it for?

Added on September 21, 2007, 5:18 pm
Seeseng ,

What is the watt of your Amp?
frank123
post Sep 24 2007, 03:57 PM

41 posts

Thinking back, may be I underestimated the size, may be slightly bigger, could be around 20'x45'; double storey, 8 foot height per storey, and another few foot height for the cement floor, sorry for the short memory. tongue.gif

But my main question is if standalone farm in an agricultural land, does need permit to build or not. He said not necessary as it is not under the city councill's control. On the other hand, there are some in other state was asked to be demolished! cry.gif

I have a choice of choosing an abandon commercial lot in ulu area vs buying an agricultural land, and build a standalone unit. Which one is a better choice? Any idea? I thought an abandon commercial unit is lower profile comparatively.

On another note, is padi field a good food source for swiftlet? The field is so wide, hardly see any swiftlet at a glance. Is a nearby pond a must for swiftlet farming location?

Frank

QUOTE(seeseng @ Sep 24 2007, 03:35 PM)
15'x30' is a maybe a short signted people or budget limited design. Swiftlet farming is a very long term investment. First 5 years most of the successful farms can't earn back the capital yet. My store room farm also bigger than its 1 storey lah hehe.  Is the 130K including planks installed? Here got a friend's standalone 30x100. 5 and half storeys. Full cost 250k still got small change.  In my opinion the 15x30 will do ok due to the good area with good chirp. But it's a waste of land.
frank123
post Sep 24 2007, 06:20 PM

41 posts

Dear Swifbuild,

You probably right. Buying a commercial lot could be quicker. Time is money!

Furthermore, abandon commercial lot should be more private and confidential... brows.gif

Is padi field a good food source compared with oil palm plantation? Any idea?

Frank

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Sep 24 2007, 05:24 PM)
20x45 still very short sighted.Buying a land averagely it needs 8mth to yrs++++ to get the name transferded. jabatan tanah takes time. In any even if there  is a problem the land title can't be transfer be ready yr farm to be demolish. Unless that is yr father's land then ok. Buying land have to be careful.Some land take more than 2 yrs to settle. Unless you wait till all transfers are done then only build yr farm. That would be few years from now.

Too ulu , be ready yr farm break in all yr nests CURI.(security problems) The birds will never return any more.
Too ulu elctricity and water are problems. .
frank123
post Sep 25 2007, 03:03 PM

41 posts

SeeSeng,

You are definitely right too..

Wanna to start fast, and wanted to be private and confidential, my ideal place is among the three areas: water pond, padi field and oil palm. Looks ideal to start one. Got an double storey shop selling at $125k..minor competitors around. Sometime I can see some swiftlet farmers buying a row of shops to mark their territories...Kia Su fellow..

By the way, is there a way to create own food source (fly e.g.) within a farm. Any thought?

Regards,
Frank

QUOTE(seeseng @ Sep 25 2007, 12:41 PM)
Commercial lot will be quicker to set up a farm and running. But may face competition from nearby farms. First batch of bird stay may take some time. I've heard stories about standalone farms with no competition in few KM radious get first batch bird stay on the first day of operation. From my own observation more swiftlets go for food at padi fields. Maybe due to convenient fly path on top of short plants. The same area where most flying insects fly. For oil palm plantation only part of the insects will fly on top of the trees. Some fly between the trees where it's risky for swiftlets to fly lower than tree top.  So the numbers available to eat should be lesser than padi fields. 
IMO the flying insects like swampy wet land since I've seen groups of birds cari makan over a wild keladi field also.
frank123
post Oct 1 2007, 11:31 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Sep 29 2007, 03:50 PM)
Contact Crystalswiftlet of Penang or Nestech of Johor. Simple pay them they will handle everything for you from A-Z. All you need to do is sit back and wait for the time to harvest.
Guys,

Personally, I would suggest you learn before your dive in. Else, die also do not know why! doh.gif Alamak!

Frank
frank123
post Oct 1 2007, 06:22 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Oct 1 2007, 02:33 PM)
HA HA..Ha....HA..ha...Good advise! Now u know wat I mean? I am sure u know more now compare to just a week ago Right! So take it easy. The biggest problem with those who want to start is that they tho they know everthing. That is y 90% of the farms failed miserablely.

Some tho after going to seminars and picking up few books they have found the golden treasure or the have broken the Davinci code. LAter to discover that what they had acquired and learned  is just a nursery rhyme amongst books.

Take it easy!
Guys, there is one good report from SMI Association of Penang says:
95% out 67% self-build farm from the total industry failed swiftlet farming as they tried out themselves without engaging a consultant and without sufficient fund to invest on good equipment.
70% out of 28% of people in the industry consulted a good consultant became successful(beware, there are still 30% failure!). After paying dearly, you do not want to be in this 30% as well.
And 95% out of the balance 5% of well-capitalized companies successful as they have the knowledge and welling to spend on good equipments. Hence, I believe swiftlet farming is more a science than some consultants say it is luck or an art. One thing I think it is important to equip yourself technically, including the hygrostat or humidifier you use, cannot be a baria one/made in China(cheap and no good), you would not know when this gadget is out of calibration or even not functioning at all, then, see liu lah!
Do you know there is a gadget called dehumidifier? I only learn it today...

Frank
frank123
post Oct 2 2007, 09:19 AM

41 posts

Hi all,
I wonder anyone has mentioned about the advantages and disadvantages of using MP3 vs CD or other means. Can someone shed some lights here? I believe MP3 is a better and easy to monitor format.

Frank
frank123
post Oct 2 2007, 06:42 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Oct 2 2007, 10:17 AM)
IMHO, a biased report supported by a consultant selling expensive swiftlet product catalogue. How do they get those figures? Simply speculation lah. Same like Bolehland how high the % of economy growth and how low the inflation rate reported lor. Be proud! Better than Myanmmar what?  U know I know lah.
Equipments: Those well known companies selling at high price sure accurate? Example 1 well known company often publish articles in newspapers selling one model of double fan humidifier with build-in hygrostat at RM2988. Turn up the hygrostat has 15%+- accuracy. The hygrostat I'm using is made in China with 3% +- proven to be same results as my Taiwan made hygrometer/Thermometer.
Dehumidifier is often use in countries with 4 seasons where in the spring indoor humidity so high the floor become wet with water drops all day long. Also widely use in rooms with electronic devices which need a dry environment. It's kind of like air purifier thing. 1 part suck in air to cool down with refrigerated fins. The humid in the air cool down become water and collect inside the equipment. Then the other part blow out dry warm air.  Often dehumidifier come in humidifier/dehumidifier with build in hygrostat 3 in 1. Has a high/low setting.  When humidity high it run as dehumidifier. When humidity too low it can be set as humidifier.  But these type of equipment not practical in farming.  Can imagine how many units needed to cover whole farm?
Guys, all agreed. Just to highlight that we need to know some basic before jumping into believing all the consultants' say. Agreed that some good equipment may not be costly much as well, some consultants may sell expensive does not mean good stuff.

I am still would like to learn more about how to control the temp and humidity at the same time. Anyone has a good article to explain the relation of two? Is humidifier able to do temp and humidity control at the same time? Unable to find a good article from web. I was wondering if our room temp is high, if we turn on the humidifier, the RH is going to be higher than 90%, and how to get the humidity down to 80-90% then? I was understood that there is a water-cooling fan system to bring down the temp, rather than using an air-con(too expensive). Do we really need dehumidifier? Can anyone shed some lights here?

Regards,
Frank
frank123
post Oct 3 2007, 08:59 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Oct 3 2007, 01:57 AM)
CD sound quality better than normal MP3. But if when we extract the CD track into MP3 use high bitrate of 320kbps and sample rate of 48khz the output quality is comparable to CD quality. For farming we output to tweeters. MP3 and CDs sound LPPL only. MP3 has many advantages. A normal CD of 63 minutes if converted to MP3 put inside a CD can fill in 10 hours of continue playing non-stop.  If put inside USB drives or memory cards to play with supported players. Players can last longer lifespan because of no moving mechanism and lower operating temperature also no laser lense aging problem cause poor quality playback or choosy with discs.
See Seng,

Thank you very much. By the way, what is LPPL stands for?

Back to the humidity and temp control, is a humidifier sufficient to control the two parameters, i.e. humidity and temp? I tend to think that we need to control them individually in order to be accurate, unless the difference is tolerable in most of the cases.

What say you?

By the way, is there a reasonable gadget that would be able to track the two parameters on weekly basis and yet able to give us a report with reasonable price? I saw my company is using a thermo-hygrometer with plottable chart, I guess it would be very expensive to have one.

Frank

Added on October 3, 2007, 9:02 amSorry, not on weekly basis, but kind of half hourly basis, can be analog or digital storage/output.

This post has been edited by frank123: Oct 3 2007, 09:02 AM
frank123
post Oct 4 2007, 10:06 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Oct 4 2007, 09:42 AM)
Humidifier can reduce some temp but not much. It reduce heat through condensation. But humid in the air also trap heat. From what I tested at my farm by increasing humidity from 65%RH to 85%RH temp only drop 1-2 degrees. So not practical to rely on humidifier to reduce temp. Humidity mainly for the purpose nests won't too dry become crisp no need to be too exact. 80%-90% seminar teach one ka?
Determine where the heat come from and prevent heat from come in.  Not heat come in already then buy water-cooling fan system to cool it down.  Actually there are actual farm using air-cond. Owner want to save $ because install insulation at roof and wall more expensive. Air cond temp set to 26 so not cold. A thermostat control the power to on at 29 and off at 27. So it only on at hottest moment of the day. Result: Before install air cond no bird stay. After got air cond bird stay.
Nowaday, becoming a bird is more enjoying..... rclxm9.gif Air cond is a great idea!

Frank
frank123
post Oct 7 2007, 08:17 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(Ryan_Cheng @ Oct 6 2007, 04:29 PM)
Yes, we have to be careful about rats as well as roaches. Anyway there is powder to rid them.
I believe most of us know the 6 most important factors in swiftlet farm management are:
Temperature
Sound
Humidity
Aroma
Imitate nest
Lighting
How do we rank them in term of importance? Any thoughts?

Frank
frank123
post Oct 31 2007, 06:46 AM

41 posts

Guys,
I can resemble this business with pirated DVD but we are better. The business is good, money is good, anything is possible. License is mission impossible. Don't worry, we have Datuk dato to be on our side too. Let's learn from Nike: Just Do It!

Frank
frank123
post Nov 4 2007, 08:22 AM

41 posts

Hi folks,
Glad to see a stop in fighting. We r here to share not to fight. A fight will always end with lose-lose-lose ending..including the audience.

Back to biz. I just leanrned a new idea about farm design. The contractor told me that swiftlet tend to glide >50% of time in the air following the wind direction, hence, the farm design must follow the wind flow in the farm. But he did not elaborate further. I thought there is limited wind in the farm due to all windows/doors being concealed. Can someone elaborate? I thought unless there is a man created air flow within the farm, else it is not true. Any thoughts?

Frank

frank123
post Nov 12 2007, 11:49 AM

41 posts

Hei Guys,

Interesting topic! What is the success rate if we are next or close to the successful farm? How many farms within a radius is considered a lose bet? I heard Dr. Chris became the more successful farm then his pioneer neighbour. Skill is important, but what risk are we taking being competing with the successful farmer who is unknown in his skills inside the farm? Are we taking a good calculated risk?

Is pioneer farm at a new area(of course birdcall tested), the best bet?

Any thoughts?

Frank

Added on November 14, 2007, 1:08 pmWhat's going on? No one contributing for the last one to two days? Did I scare everyone?

Frank

This post has been edited by frank123: Nov 14 2007, 01:08 PM
frank123
post Nov 14 2007, 07:31 PM

41 posts

Poor guy, hopefully, the birds will make nest. I guess three month is too early to tell. I wonder why the "consultant" want to sell it so early as well. The farm may worth $70-80k if the renovation is close to $30k...
frank123
post Nov 17 2007, 10:33 PM

41 posts

I thought your brightness may not be a problem. Have you check your sound/changed your external sound? Check the humidity and temperature? A farm I visited with total darkness still have plenty of nests. You may need to go back to basic...

Frank
frank123
post Sep 6 2008, 06:48 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 1 2008, 11:10 AM)
I just attended the Genting Swiftlet Conference (Wholeseller, I think) and it's boring. There suppose to be a question and answer session in the afternoon and it was missing maybe because after lunch, everyone gone to casino. Me and my friends were waiting there like stupid.

Huge attendance but poor presentation and nothing new............I should have gone to the casino but then, Rm600 paid....must try to get money worth.

Anyone there? What your opinion?
West Wing, I was there too. You are correct, but I think the networking is good, meet a few exco from Pahang and Kedah. May join the association soon. Dato Beh is a great speaker.

frank123
post Dec 8 2008, 04:20 PM

41 posts

Hi everyone, long time not in this forum..looks like we are still back to old days....anyway, wish to publicise my debut blog. Feel free to visit and give your comment...Thanks a lot.

www.swiftletheaven.blogspot.com

0.0723sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:38 PM