V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

chenghun
post Jun 20 2008, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(swiftletfarm @ Apr 11 2007, 10:25 AM)
Hi Weihow,

I'm not sure about the types of potions that nestech sells. All the while I've just been using the CS mating potion and I've found that almost all the baby swiftlets that were born in my farm continued to return every day. Kinda afraid to rock the boat by trying anything new, if you know what I mean.

The timetable that Crystal Swiftlets provided me is that from Jan to May, spraying the potion will help to retain the new baby swifts in my farm while spraying the potion in the 2nd half of the year will help to retain the visiting baby and adult swifts from other farms that fly into your farm to play during the day. The theory is that once these visiting swiftlets get used to the smell of the mating potions by playing inside of your farm, they will find it unfamiliar to stay in their own farms and subsequently migrate to yours.

From my own personal limited experience, the potion truly works. But the drawback is, it costs quite a lot of money. However, I don't mind paying to keep my farms competitive, just take the money out from the sales of edible birds nests. Better to spend a bit than to lose my swiftlets to others. In the end, I may end up spending (losing) more, kinda like penny wise pound foolish.

Thanks for Dr. Chris' link, seeseng. Will check it out later. But they ask questions in order to join? Like what? Will give it a try and report back.

regards,
Sam
Hi Sam,

Good day to you. Indeed, I owned a farm with 3 storey about 3.5 years now and only have about 260 birds with 90 nest. I'm now looking for more techiques to improve the situation and need to ask will be be okay for me to apply the CS potion for my 3 years farm house as I worry will it affecting existing swiftlets?

-Tee
chenghun
post Jun 23 2008, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(yscagro @ Jun 23 2008, 06:59 PM)
ops...u seen my website?? what a shame...hehehe...still under construction....anyway, thanks for visiting!!
got time visit again, mayb you can get some arowana there...smile.gif
Hi Tee, where r u from?? and where is your BD??
from what you say, make think of either your area are swiftlet-less or your BD are in trouble....
tell me more anout ur BD....would glad to hear from you more...cheers tee

I'm from Johor near melaka border and our farm indeed located at palm oil plantation abt 5km from town. I guess the house condition is okay but may be it is just not good enough as the grow rate of swiftlet is about 6-10% per month for the pass few months.

This is why I was thinking if there are any better techniques to improve the farm house for my case, or I shall only be patient and wait to observe until end of year?

Some of my friends told me to wait the breakthrough of 500 swiftlets and it will grow faster, any comments?

Again, thanks for your kind reply here and wish i can hear more tips from all experts here smile.gif

chenghun
post Jun 24 2008, 11:31 PM

[quote=yscagro,Jun 24 2008, 12:03 AM]
how sure r u that the BH condition is okay? but anyhow, for a 6-10% growth rate per month i think is average enough....not too bad though......but since u say that ur BH have been operated for 3year plus with 290 birds and 90 nest, i think its abit below average.....need to work on it.....if possible post up ur BH pic.....hard to giv u idea what to do....smile.gif

Well, the BH condition like room temperature is around 28-29c and humidity around 90% at 2pm. Brightness conditoin is dark at ground and 1st floor but 2nd floor is brighter due to the DK entrance hole. The best part is 2nd floor has almost 50-60% of the total nests and seem like those birds like top floor with more light? I'm thinking may be those birds in my area prefer more light floor and feel safer? smile.gif

I dun have any photo with me now else will send to you. BTW, any comments if I will to try to apply the CS mating potion which apply on wall? Do you think it will help and will it affect existing birds?

Mant thanks and Regards

rclxms.gif

chenghun
post Jun 25 2008, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(yscagro @ Jun 25 2008, 02:24 PM)
agree with wat u say west wing....nth to do with lighting....so, chenghun...figure out what wrong and update us!
Hi All,

Really appreciate for all comments from Sifu ;-)

Well, I will check and hope will improve the ground floor soon and update all of your once success ;-)

Many thanks, cheers

Added on June 25, 2008, 3:26 pm
QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 25 2008, 01:16 PM)
From my humble point of view, if your lower floor attract lesser birds, you have some problem with the lower floor because bird tend to like lower floor cause the temperature is more stable and never too extreme.  Initial few nest maybe on the upper floor because it is brighter and feel safer due to new surrounding but gradually, they will go down to be safer as darkness is to their advantage. Yes, they play in the top floor and who doesn't, what fun to play in the dark unless you are playing hide and seek, Ha Ha Ha

Nine months ago, I have  a option to buy one of 2 BHs and one having 80+ nest on the lower floor and 10 on the upper floor and the other, having 4 in the lower floor and 50+ in the upper floor. I choose the one with 4 in the lower floor although the BH is the same price because I have the confidence that I will be able to make the lower floor better than the top floor when I solve the problem and the other BH is normal in to my belief.  Guess what, I am lucky,  after  6 months, I have 100+ in the upper floor and 600+ in the lower floor. Am I lucky, Am I lucky and I must be lucky.

Nothing to do with the lighting, maybe the entrance, temperature or humidity  or smell problem. Check them out and I maybe wrong and I am still learning to be better and better by trial and error and  to learn from you all each time I go on internet . Hopefully, those with good results will share their knowhows and experiences.

Lastly, me no sifu, just Swftlet ranger ana a lone ranger Ha Ha Ha
Hi West Wing,

Wow, after six months got such a significant improvement, mind to share what have you done for this great improvement, really hope you can share as I really want to improve mine leh smile.gif

This post has been edited by chenghun: Jun 25 2008, 03:26 PM

0.0561sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:35 PM