V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

SAMGAN
post Apr 26 2008, 06:54 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Dec 1 2007, 12:27 PM)
The one I'm selling has a 3m sensor cable so the sensor can be nailed up on nesting plank for most accurate result. Auto power-on after power failure. So far no complaint from owners. A few positive feedbacks. They said no more soaky wet floor like wet market.
For sure this is more expensive than timer controlled. On rainy days and very dry weather timer will give you over humid and under humid. These are the specs of the hygrostat / humidistat / humidity controller:

1:Operating Voltage:AC220V/50Hz ±10%(be narrated when order)
2:Consume power: <3VA
3:Load current: 2A(max 10A resistance load)
4:Relay contact dot max current:10A/220VAC(resistance load)
5:Set range: 10%RH---95%RH
6:Measure range : 2%RH--99%RH
7:Precision: +/- 3%
8:Measure range: 0--80℃
9:Sensor application range: 0~80℃
10: Sensor wire length : 3 m
11: Application range: <95%RH(non dew)
12: Storage range: 0--70℃
13: Storage range: <95%RH(non dew)
14: Dimension: 135X68X45mm
Hello SeeSeng,My name is Sam and new here.I am interested to buy your hygrostat,please advise price and stock availability.cheers
SAMGAN
post Apr 29 2008, 08:56 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Dec 1 2007, 12:27 PM)
The one I'm selling has a 3m sensor cable so the sensor can be nailed up on nesting plank for most accurate result. Auto power-on after power failure. So far no complaint from owners. A few positive feedbacks. They said no more soaky wet floor like wet market.
For sure this is more expensive than timer controlled. On rainy days and very dry weather timer will give you over humid and under humid. These are the specs of the hygrostat / humidistat / humidity controller:

1:Operating Voltage:AC220V/50Hz ±10%(be narrated when order)
2:Consume power: <3VA
3:Load current: 2A(max 10A resistance load)
4:Relay contact dot max current:10A/220VAC(resistance load)
5:Set range: 10%RH---95%RH
6:Measure range : 2%RH--99%RH
7:Precision: +/- 3%
8:Measure range: 0--80℃
9:Sensor application range: 0~80℃
10: Sensor wire length : 3 m
11: Application range: <95%RH(non dew)
12: Storage range: 0--70℃
13: Storage range: <95%RH(non dew)
14: Dimension: 135X68X45mm
Dear SeeSeng,
I banked in the $$ yesterday already.Please acknowledge when recieved.

Cheers
Sam
SAMGAN
post Apr 29 2008, 09:33 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(GameMonster @ Apr 29 2008, 09:24 AM)
currently i have a 2 ekar land which is commercial land. but there isn't anyone interest on my land,mayb it is too far or wat. opposite my land,there is 1 guy also have a swiftling farm? it is good for me to build 1 more opposite him? if yes, can  know how much is the constuctation fee for the cost of the building and all the equipment? cos i plan to propose this to my father. thank you very much.
Construction of buildings now are very expensive ,steel price very high.According to source,a 30' x 80' four storeys plain building could cost easily 350k -400k.
SAMGAN
post May 9 2008, 11:44 PM

26 posts

coolandy,I agreed with you.Many sifus or maybe half tank sifus will try to pretend to give advice for free to get attention.When one take the bait,one will have to pay through their nose and and probably end up getting very little.Either setting up a BH or buying accessories according to their advices and they will make it like they are trying to help you getting the products but at the same time doing high mark ups thinking that one will have to pay for it cos more advices needed.Check and compare prices before buying and not all items are useful.Always remember even the best sifu will not reveal all.The best will be kept for themself.That is human nature.Do your homework to learn,watch those birds flying patterns ,understand their needs ,there is no shortcut to success.Cheers
SAMGAN
post Jun 29 2008, 11:29 PM

26 posts

hello all,my name is Sam.I am a retailer of swiftlets farming equipments.My shop is opening on the 1st of July 2008.Please visit http://swiftfarmequipments.blogspot.com .Appreciate comments and please let me know if prices are too high.Thanks and cheers
SAMGAN
post Jul 1 2008, 06:21 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 30 2008, 11:13 PM)
So sorry YSC,

I forget to answer your question
1. 20kilo is from one of my biggest BH and infact, the biggest harvest from that BH that I get was 35 Kilos. I have sold it and from the profits, I bought    3 BHs.
2. At present, I have 4 and maybe 5 soon if everything goes well.
3. Oop, no more question............bye

Added on June 30, 2008, 11:19 pm
Hi Sam

nice to know you so you are a retailer of SFE. So, now we are introduce and are friends..............do I get discount?

Shall phone you for any possible of getting cheap BH products.......................always like to try new things...........anyone know about the latest 3G camera phone to install in BH?

To yscargo and West Wing,Of course there will be some discounts lo but not much la.You know now everything also go up.If give too much ,later sell 1 ringgit but buy back 1.20 keke.Thanks anyway for comments.cheers
SAMGAN
post Jul 7 2008, 07:51 PM

26 posts

I think for those who are interested in SF or want to start one,start with reading books.At least one will know the basic of SF.There are many reference books in chinese,english and indonesian.

Books available here: http://www.swiftfarmequipments.blogspot.com
SAMGAN
post Jul 8 2008, 09:18 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jul 7 2008, 07:51 PM)
hehe...thanks for the advice... notworthy.gif

so many things to consider, I might be as well just doing chicken farming instead. biggrin.gif
There are 2 types of chicken farm,one is legal and the other isn't.keke
SAMGAN
post Jul 11 2008, 06:43 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(tsm198092 @ Jul 10 2008, 06:21 PM)
see seng

good point!!

but the newbie need to pay a very expensive fees

Sounds like you got hit pretty bad.....well honestly most newbie pay through their nose.
SAMGAN
post Jul 11 2008, 09:58 PM

26 posts

Swift Farm Equipments[QUOTE][quote=swifbuild,Jul 11 2008, 08:45 PM]
[B]We all bloggers spend countless hours to write, to provide the best possible information,pictures,etc without charging a single cents.

I guess if a Consultant advise you or provide information like what we did in our blog. Make sure your pocket has 10-30k cash or more.

At the End best of all after paying you ended up with 2 eggs (2 LAM PAR)
[/B]

[/quote]

Still got LP consider good already lo,some LP also kena potong.keke

Visit http://swiftfarmequipments.blogspot.com
SAMGAN
post Jul 15 2008, 10:28 AM

26 posts

Attached ImageThis insulation foil is really working.
SAMGAN
post Jul 17 2008, 12:30 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jul 16 2008, 08:38 PM)
Get rid of the bat. One method is to use a fishing net and then dispose of the bat far away. Swiftlets dislike bats and it will affect your swiftlets growth.

One reason why you put light above the entrance is to prevent bats and owl from entering and if you cannot get them out, catch them and put them far away. Remember to clean away the bat shit and smell.

Hey, anyone has Bat repellent, hahaha

That my humble suggestion, I am no Sifu.........only an old BH Rancher.

Calvin
Yeah ,better rid those bats quickly otherwise bats will start breeding and your bird house will become bats house.The bat shit spot must be clean and maybe use some ammonia liquid to rub on that spot to clear the smell totally.I am also no sifu,I just sell things....keke
SAMGAN
post Jul 18 2008, 10:07 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(xunji @ Jul 18 2008, 09:02 AM)
at day time when the bat rest, take a long wood and on the top of the wood attach a cucumber with coconut lili. the rat glue apply to the lili. it a like bunga mangga" for malay wedding. so when u come near to the bat the lili will glue to the bat make the bat can fly so just pick it up and dispose it far from your fram.
You must be quick to glue bats that way because from what I understand bats are hard to catch when they start flying around in the BH.Even using scooping fish net will not get the job done.Some say use badmintan net to corner it and then use badminton racket to hit it(good for badminton practice too keke)There is another kind of net used to catch birds maybe that one can be use too.
SAMGAN
post Jul 19 2008, 08:08 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(yscagro @ Jul 19 2008, 12:51 AM)
hmmm.....thanks for teaching....learn something new....i will give it a try......thanks for the helpful info...appreciated.....
by the way, i got 1 Question to ask all the pro out there.....
i face a problem get ask by 1 of my fren.....

the problem is, HOW YOU ALL COUNT THE BH UNIT....
what i trying to mean is, when ur fren ask u, how many unit BH u hav? how would you ans and how do you all count BH unit???

do you count by floor?? or count by block???
for example, if you have a 4 storey building, and u convert ur top 3 storey into BH, u consider this as 1 BH or 3 BH???
because the fren of mine, ans this as 3BH! but for me i would say 1 unitl...

WHat you guys think and know?? please lead me to the right thing...thanks!
In my opinion ,no matter how many floors you have still consider 1 BH.If one has a 3 storeys bungalow,one will still say 'I have one bungalow'.I think that make sense.
SAMGAN
post Jul 19 2008, 09:33 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(GOHCHUA @ Jul 19 2008, 09:28 AM)
Its only logical to consider a three storey BH as one unit but unless your friend wants to exaggerate his asset.

Added on July 19, 2008, 9:38 am
After studying all the responds  about the bat in my BH, I think I have the answer to it now.

I will inspect the bird farm in the day time and if I do find her resting inside, I will use a 1" X 3" plank applied heavily with rat glue to get her. I will then dispose her far away from the farm. She will die gradually since she is unable to fly because of the rat glue attach to her body.
1" x 3" wood I think will be quite difficult but never try never know.Let us know if it works.And if you really happen to catch one ,you better kill it on the spot rather than letting it dies a slow death.Cheers(Btw if u nid rat glu ar,I oso got sell give u cheap cheap la odourless one sum more keke)
SAMGAN
post Jul 29 2008, 10:06 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(tongserseng @ Jul 29 2008, 05:00 PM)
Dear all sifu...........

Any recomendation for installing cctv for one month old BH with got one half nest ? Need to find out the budget first before decide which one is more suitable to use. Thanks all sifu............
If you install CCTV inside BH,you will need IR Camera where you can watch their flying patterns in your farm and to find out if birds' flying paths are obstructed.
SAMGAN
post Jul 31 2008, 06:19 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jul 30 2008, 07:06 PM)
You are trying to scare all newbiz away and you are not in D industry> So, what do you really know about D swiftlets industry? Even the MB doesn't know and maybe some experts may go and see him to explain the matters. Politics ar Politics..... You think that we move, the birds move. The investors will suffer and so are the birds. Once, they are there, they live their whole life there and even one tiny hole, they will still enter and may die trying.

Let me brief you

1. Doing new BHs in estate or plantation are good but you can't solve the problems.
a. Predators, how to prevent bats, rats, snakes, owl and others from attacking the swiftlets and eggs.
b. How to prevent thieve from stealing the nests and in the same time destroying the eggs and killing the chicks.  In town, it is already so difficult and on so many occasions, thieves broke in even with 2 to 3 steel doors. Using gas cutters, in estate, they need not use these small tools, they use JCB or even bulldozers. They are no longer thieves but robbers without any concern for the law.
c.  If your BH in your estate has 3000 nest value @ Rm60,000......what do you think the robbers will do, just for ten thousands, they robbed the bank taking such big risk. You and your wife or partner will be easy target, my friend. They let you harvest, they take all the nests and killing you off so you cannot remember them.
d. Nowaday, even near the Polis Station isn't safe, so how safe are you with ten of thousand white gold coming out of jungle?
e. Then, coming to so called Eco farming..................building 100 or more BHs in a clear area, the company make million selling these BHs @ over 300,000 to 1,000,000. Success promised, in words only.....only stupid investors will believe such story.......in three years, you will hundred thousand and what if not? Do they refund you all your lost, principle plus interest!!!! 100 BHS in one area, tell me how to get enough birds for the hundred BHs to be successful. A handful of them maybe but then what about the rest?
f. I am a successful Swiftlets rancher, so the day they force me to move, I will quit but then I have already make my money in three years of good harvest, but what about all those still unsuccessful or those trying to make even and what you have to say to them. Buy a piece of land and build a BH in the land far away. Where is the money?
g. Do you know that there is a glut for shop houses and do you know what is costing the Shop Houses to go up? Now, no matter how many Shop Houses you build, it is sold and at so high a price.......good for the developers. Why, people have dream, and they want to live easy and have a happy life. BHs give them the option, a really good opportunity .......if they miss it, so are their dream. Only a dream, you may say...........our neighbour comtries, Indonesia and Thailand make billions and billions and we are still trying to catch up. Oil Palm are good but they take up alot of land, causing hugh damage to the eco system, climate and maybe the future...................which the swftlets industry can solve. Only problems with swiftlets industry, the sound and the smell. I rather the authorities move the town and not the industry...why? By mowing the town to a non swiftlet zone, and the hugh money generated by the industry will well afford the people to buy into the new township. Even those shop owners formally can't sell their shop houses at cost have sold them at 3 times the value. Meaning that they can now buy 3 shop houses in new township......what a win,win situation.

For now, I rest my case on behalf of all Swiftlets Ranchers and you or others who disagree with me may pm me personally to disagree or  kick my ass for I am always ready for you. After all, I build swiftlets sanctuary where swftlets came and go as they please, safe and sound from all predators, away from harm and kept warm during monsoon just like I care for my children. Why, cos they pay me for the 6 stars services......I will keep my promises to the swiftlet, never harm the ones that feed me.
Good writing West Wing.
SAMGAN
post Aug 2 2008, 10:48 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 2 2008, 12:46 PM)
I have read about the urtra sound adapter and I believe that it is no an amplifier.  Something that we can't hear but the swiftlet can.....that a good compromise for BHs in towns, then those again BHs will have a 1 less reason for preventing you from doing so. I like to try but it's expensive and  my old BH don't even need music  to attract the birds......they make their own music, the own original creation, hahahaha.... 

The most importance of all, is it effective? Have any of our forum readers used the product and what's the result? c'mon if you have then share with us, it's good than others know about this and if it's good, then it's better......otherwise because of those load noises from other BHs, down comes your BH, too just like too bad like Humdy Dumdy lah.

If it is bad, then we, the rest will appreciate your kind contributions toward our community, the Swiftlets Ranchers.
Guys,read through 'Swiftlets Of Borneo' the writer also confirmed that swiftlets sound is audible to human ears.So,ultrasound??
SAMGAN
post Aug 16 2008, 11:49 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 16 2008, 03:45 PM)
With my little experience in BH, I notice the difference in the swiftlets' nest some four years ago ..........those near river and those inland.
Let me share with you my humble experiance on it. Some Swiftlets living near river is bigger and build bigger nests. their nests are pink in color when you shine a light on it which I call "Pink Color" (not those brown color due to pollution and left for too long)  and when they are expose to the sun, they turn to red. By my 3 sen understanding, this maybe due to their eating diet as the insects that they take in contain metal composite and possible iodine from the river. Swiftlets at inland are smaller but whiter and the whiteness depand on your BH conditions and the height and cleanliness.

Their nest most of them are so big which I called 4 fingers nests. You got to see it to appreciate it and a kilo is less than a hundred piece. They are bully and they chase away other from their area (room). Once, birdnest buyers came and was surprise with it. They argued that  I must have use dye or coloring. I challenge them to drop a piece into water and if any trace of color, all the nests are free...........nearly 5 kilos of the pink thing. 

So, if your BH is near the river and suddenly some part of your BH's nests become pink, don't be surprise.......................................as  I told you so
So end my little Xperiance n also my little understanding for all 2 share this time and maybe next time, I may find some funny x-periances to share...... ...............................
Very interesting pink nest.Hope you would not mind to share a photo.cheers
SAMGAN
post Aug 18 2008, 09:26 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(tongserseng @ Aug 18 2008, 04:42 PM)
Wondering anybody encounter this type of problem before ??????? ground floor and upper floor tweeter are connected to the same MMC4488 sd card player with two output channel. ground floor tweeter sound wonderful and clear, birds staying no problem as birds drop got significantly increase......... already have few big roti prata size........ But upper floor sound very not clear, the sound seem like air leaking sound when we pump car tyre at petrol kiosk. All the birds fly in directly go down to ground floor without stop at upper floor. Hope previous upper floor birds also go down to ground floor instead of go to my neighbour BH, other wise rugi very very big because of that stupid interferences sound....... called already the consultant, don't know when he able to come down to solve the problem. The longer he drag the time the more longer time need to attract bird stay at upper floor cause new bird hardly go down to ground floor directly.  vmad.gif
MMC4488 has 2 channels and one is for external and the other internal.If you use SD card which is downloaded 2 side then only proper to use 2 channels.If your SD card only downloaded one side,you should use only the external channel.Try join both floors and connect to external channel and see if that helps.If still noise,could be problem with tweeters.cheers

Added on August 18, 2008, 9:36 pm
QUOTE(New Bird @ Aug 18 2008, 06:15 PM)
Good day experts and sifus!

I m a newcomer in the industry currently owning only one 4 mth old BH with no harvest yet.

Intend to invest for child's future and planning to build a 2nd BH. Appreciate sifus advice if the said property can be considered good location for swiftlets if it has the following criteria:-
i. During sunny afternoon can see 10-15 swiftlet flying above.
ii. Only 2 BH in the vicinity
iii. Near foot hill with plantation and vegetation nearby
iv. Small stream  above 15ft width nearby
v. Small lake less than 1km away
vi. Big dam with plenty swiftlets 7km away
vii. Area is quite open without obstruction to flying path.
viii. Property only 2 storey 20x60ft.

Is the above property worth investing? Appreciate some advice. Thks sifus!
Those 2 bird houses nearby,you should go and count their birds just to get a ballpark figure on how many nest they have.Count at dawn or dusk.Maybe you should also do a bird call test.After all details listed on the location seems to be attractive.(Btw can tell the location anot?hehe)

This post has been edited by SAMGAN: Aug 18 2008, 09:36 PM

0.0737sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:01 PM