Buying Advice D40 or D50?, should i go with the idiot-proof d40?
TSmiraged
Mar 24 2007, 09:35 AM, updated 19y ago
hey, i'm a beginner to photography and i was deciding on a d50 or d40.
d40 is lightweight, easy to use, cheap, etc however, it can only autofocus on af-s lenses
d50 i heard is compatible with all lenses. for long term use and upgradability, between these TWO cameras which do u suggest.
i'd appreciate if u don't suggest other than this two if it's more expensive. budget is RM2500+-.
PS: d50 is about 2 years old right?
polkiuj
Mar 24 2007, 11:46 AM
D50D40ComparisonsHere are the reviews by a person who actually shoots more than worry about lab performance. And owns practically half the line of dSLRs xD D50 plusses great metering ability to use all lenses top LCD D40 plusses full RGB histogram to set exposure correctly light cheap great LCD great menu system note: the new lenses are go good that it obseletes the old ones. Nikon will probably replace the old lenses with AF-S soon if its really that great. I'd buy the D40 and not worry about the D50 since digital technology moves VERY fast. A cheap new camera is better than an expensive old one.
ac98
Mar 24 2007, 11:51 AM
You would consider Full RGB histogram reading a plus? I would worry about you suffering to focus under 3 tight AF-points, that is more practical.
superdav007
Mar 24 2007, 12:13 PM
does the d40 kit lens hv autofocus motor?
polkiuj
Mar 24 2007, 12:15 PM
of cos its a plus. it allows me to actually use the histogram and not just have a single channel for show.
i always use the center so it wouldn't worry me. Maybe 10% of the time left/right. <5% up/down. I use focus lock to compose.
ajay67
Mar 24 2007, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(superdav007 @ Mar 24 2007, 12:13 PM) does the d40 kit lens hv autofocus motor? yes... any lens with AFS on it has motor
TSmiraged
Mar 24 2007, 06:01 PM
thanks for the input.. heh, read about this ken rockwell guy..yeah...and ppl on this forums (some say) he's biased. anywyas, i'll give it a read.
btw, i'm also looking at the 350D. i'm 6feet1 and yes, i have big hands. i was quite afraid of the 350D coz of it's small grip.
however, i'm planning on REPLACING it with the bg-e3 (which can accomodate 2 baterry packs) and ofc giving me a bigger hand grip.
this however would push the price of the camera to roughly RM3200. worht the 3200? (i get 350D kit, extra battery, and baterry grip)
ac98
Mar 24 2007, 06:35 PM
No use ... the BG-E3 does nothing to improve your grip as well. What you NEED is a EOS 30D with a GRIP!  QUOTE(polkiuj @ Mar 24 2007, 12:15 PM) of cos its a plus. it allows me to actually use the histogram and not just have a single channel for show. i always use the center so it wouldn't worry me. Maybe 10% of the time left/right. <5% up/down. I use focus lock to compose. Well that is so cool!
TSmiraged
Mar 24 2007, 11:24 PM
and i need a big stack of cash for me to get a grip on the 30D  hahahahh
scorgio
Mar 25 2007, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(miraged @ Mar 24 2007, 11:24 PM) and i need a big stack of cash for me to get a grip on the 30D  hahahahh Someone over at PM is selling a under warranty 30D + grip + 4 ori batts for RM3500. Perhaps u can have a look.
TSmiraged
Mar 25 2007, 12:32 AM
over at PM... i dunno what's pm... hmmm... photo ... ok.. i'll check it i reckon photo section. sounds good  thanks Added on March 25, 2007, 12:44 amahhaha i'm a noob..i duno wha'ts PM.. a guy over PRIVATE message? send me his nickname then.. This post has been edited by miraged: Mar 25 2007, 12:44 AM
Wifi_One
Mar 25 2007, 08:16 PM
i am a newbie in dslr. just bought my d40 not too long ago.
swdpite the claims of non compantible lens except the AFS series.. i agree.. but seriously... unless u plan to get legacy lens, then d40 is out.
but look at it this way... new afs lens are hese..
AFS 55-200 around Rm7++ AFS 18-135 around Rm850 to rm100 depending on seller..
so what the bid deal on lens compatability? all the super zoom is kinda affordable.
only restrictions are those prime lens and some good non afs lens.. also no bat grip.
BUT... pairing a super cool high end non afs onto d40??? it's only a 3 point focus cam, 6 megapx... it will not act like dx2 or d200... only chasing d80... remember d40 is an entry level cam... what you compose is more important.. dont ya think?
by the time u are getting serious... then up to d80 or d200 lah... or canon..
it all depends on how far u willing to stretch your wallet.. cos canon 350d can take all canon lens...
you can always get the impreza.. or you can put a turbo in kancil... but the expereince and satisfaction will of owning either one is never the same.
polkiuj
Mar 26 2007, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(Wifi_One @ Mar 25 2007, 08:16 PM) BUT... pairing a super cool high end non afs onto d40??? it's only a 3 point focus cam, 6 megapx... it will not act like dx2 or d200... only chasing d80... remember d40 is an entry level cam... what you compose is more important.. dont ya think? So how many MP u want? 20? 30? 6 is MUCH more than enough unless u plan u print billboards (which of course, i'm guessing u won't). Most people (that i know anyway) dun even print anymore! O.o Then again, U want 200 point focus? Good luck selecting thru all that points. Sure, 5 points is nice.. but is it really needed for the extra money u pay? Of course, a prime lens is nice to have. But i think i'll prefer zoom lenses since prime lenses can get irritating (too much or too little zoom). I've used the 18-55mm zoom nikkor and it works great. Y bother with a prime lens (unless u really, absolutely need it)?
TSmiraged
Mar 27 2007, 10:21 AM
^ errr.... why u attacking him ar? he's supporting the d40. he's asking not to get a uber camera if ur needs dont' warrant it. O_o
anwyays wifi_one, i do agree with ya! 350D is not far off in terms of price. i think right now they're priced the same. so yeah, i guess it's the end of the road for me. d40.... 3 point not an UP point for me. (350D has 7)
AlamakLor
Mar 27 2007, 10:27 AM
Was in the same boat a little while ago, but I chose the D50 for many reasons other's have stated. 4 reasons I chose D50 over D40 was:
1) cheaper...yes...it's cheaper than D40 here 2) Bigger body 3) No need to worry about lens compatibility. Some of the best primes are old and IF only. 4) Top LCD
my friend is unloading his D50 at a reasonable price, you might wanna check the garage sale for that
Wifi_One
Mar 27 2007, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(polkiuj @ Mar 26 2007, 06:37 PM) So how many MP u want? 20? 30? 6 is MUCH more than enough unless u plan u print billboards (which of course, i'm guessing u won't). Most people (that i know anyway) dun even print anymore! O.o Then again, U want 200 point focus? Good luck selecting thru all that points. Sure, 5 points is nice.. but is it really needed for the extra money u pay? Of course, a prime lens is nice to have. But i think i'll prefer zoom lenses since prime lenses can get irritating (too much or too little zoom). I've used the 18-55mm zoom nikkor and it works great. Y bother with a prime lens (unless u really, absolutely need it)? did you not complete primary school? you must be the biggest idiot to even suggest 200 focus point and we all know mega pixels aint the matter.. my point is people and reviews pointing out the lens compatability with non afs/.. thus confusing potential buyers with no experience to deem this product unsuitable and limited capabilities. isn't that a fact? potential new buyers with limited experience will always think rational.. what can i equip with my limited purchase? it's normal.. that's human behaviour... squeezing more from less... so chill out..
polkiuj
Mar 28 2007, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(Wifi_One @ Mar 27 2007, 12:12 PM) did you not complete primary school? you must be the biggest idiot to even suggest 200 focus point and we all know mega pixels aint the matter.. my point is people and reviews pointing out the lens compatability with non afs/.. thus confusing potential buyers with no experience to deem this product unsuitable and limited capabilities. isn't that a fact? potential new buyers with limited experience will always think rational.. what can i equip with my limited purchase? it's normal.. that's human behaviour... squeezing more from less... so chill out.. i'm sorry.. dunno what got into me that day.. sorry man.. =) anyway, whats ur choice? =P
Wifi_One
Mar 29 2007, 11:26 AM
no worries...
let's share what we know .. at least we can provide a platform for those who wants to venture into dslr and are choosing based on thier findings bout incompatability, pricing and usage...
most importantly.. pricing and usage are the most important for first time users like me....
manutd304
Apr 5 2007, 08:31 PM

wifi_one where did u bought your d40? fotokem? and how much is it? bag tripod sd 1gb?