LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc
rigidius
Sep 23 2017, 10:19 AM
Hi sifu-sifu, been going through this thread for the past couple of days. Just starting out with home woodworking. Need your advice on my next purchase. I have a bosch 12v drill and I want to purchase a saw next. Am looking at the 12v jigsaw GST-12v and the GKS-12v circular saw. Which on should i get first considering I'll be doing most of my woodworking things right in front of my front door since I live in an apartment. Prior to this I have been using handtools. I'm considering a cordless one cause I can bring it down to the yard at the back of the apartment to do some cutting where there are no power supply access. I'll be cutting mostly salvaged pallet boards and beams.
rigidius
Sep 23 2017, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 23 2017, 10:24 AM) 12v is only for light wood and job cutting. If you serious, start get the 18v collection. More power and work longer hr. I already have a couple of 12v batteries. Jumping into 18v group would add up more towards my tools investement as this would be more towards self projects (no ROI) hehehe. Mainly would be for crosscuts to size of the pallet boards. From early assessment the jigsaw offers more versatility than the circular saw yes?
rigidius
Sep 23 2017, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Sep 23 2017, 10:40 AM) 12v for hobby hobby small small jobs.. fixing little things here and there.. eg "toy-like" if serious work/passion DIY type.. get corded.. .. corded is cheaper than 18v too.. That's what most of my projects will be like, hobby, small stuff
rigidius
Sep 23 2017, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 23 2017, 11:09 AM) It depend how you overcome the problem. People have been using cord tools for hundred yrs. In whatever condition. All my cordless tools is 12v. It mean for my light work. When require more power, it just don't have the punch. I have to fireup the cord tools. What do you have in your 12v arsenal for your woodworking stuff?
rigidius
Sep 23 2017, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 23 2017, 11:19 AM) Got 12v impact drill ? Show to me. I think that'll be the GSB12v
rigidius
Sep 23 2017, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 23 2017, 12:41 PM) If the thing you cut does not exceed 2cm thich, the 12V circular saw is good enough. Just cut slower don't push it too hard. Thanks for the feedback. Here's a deal I got on 11st. Any other pointers for good deals?
rigidius
Sep 23 2017, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 23 2017, 02:13 PM) The gst12v jigsaw seriously underpowered. Skip it and buy a corded jigsaw. Or get the 18v model but that is close to rm1k or more than 1k cant remember. Dont have the gks12v so can't comment. But I have the jigsaw. Thanks for the feedback. I'll keep that in mind and look for a corded one when I want to buy one.
rigidius
Oct 3 2017, 10:58 AM
Heads up for those interested. Just stumbled upon this while browsing bosch's official shopee store. It's the new bosch GO screwdriver. Read reviews from their India launch event a couple of days back. Bosch PT malaysia did tease about it in their facebook page the other day says that it'll launch today (3 oct). There's an offer for the first 50 purchase on bosch's shopee store. RM179 each, add another RM1 and get a second unit. Just bought 2 sets to share among 3 of my colleagues. RM90 each. Saw on amazon India it retails for around 2200rupees (about RM140) Link's below. Bosch GO @ Shopee
rigidius
Oct 3 2017, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 3 2017, 11:04 AM) Argh... hand itch but can't justify getting 2 units. Let those need it buy lar, I have to let this deal pass. Hehe. I bought it cause found out the other day while building a step stool for my son it's quite a hassle having 1 drill to do pilot hole and screwdriving. Have to switch bits so many times. Since this is quite cheap, might as well lah
rigidius
Oct 3 2017, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(old newspaper @ Oct 3 2017, 11:25 AM) no need share la... 1 unit for keep in the car, 1 unit keep at home lo...  Or can give to someone as gift
rigidius
Oct 3 2017, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(old newspaper @ Oct 3 2017, 11:21 AM) ah...i just wanted to post this offer here but you are faster i ordered mine yesterday. cancel the order this morning and got instant refund from seller. placed a new order again for the same item... reason? yesterday was RM90 each. today is just RM75 each  How did you get RM75 each?
rigidius
Oct 3 2017, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(old newspaper @ Oct 3 2017, 11:45 AM) remember to checkout with this code : mall30 ( extra 20% / rm30 off ) so cost per unit only rm75  Adoi... Rugi RM30 already
rigidius
Oct 3 2017, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 3 2017, 12:34 PM) Sell to me lar, I give up ordering liao, sms validation can't reach my phone at all. Took me a while to get my validation code too. Just keep on trying. Just now I got sms of all the validation code from prior retries.
rigidius
Oct 10 2017, 01:21 PM
Received my pre-ordered Bosch go from Shopee just now. Charging it with my power bank to test it out later.
rigidius
Oct 11 2017, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 10 2017, 01:46 PM) Please give some review. I only get mine end of next week. Handy little thing. Quite "torquey" for it's size. Almost slipped from my hand when I first tried it. Tried driving a 1-inch screw into a block of pine and managed to drive it in at the torque setting no. 3 Will try using it in my next woodworking project alongside my drill to drill pilot hole and the GO to drive screws. All in all very satisfied with product (most of it is because of the 2-unit deal on shopee  )
rigidius
Oct 11 2017, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(lleihuan @ Oct 11 2017, 01:32 PM) Just received mine. [attachmentid=9224688] Want to sell one to me? I got a friend looking for one after he saw mine.
rigidius
Oct 11 2017, 08:08 PM
Anyone wants to sell their 2nd unit of Bosch GO, do PM me. I got a buyer looking for one.
rigidius
Oct 31 2017, 07:11 AM
I’m looking to buy Bosch gks12v circular saw (bare tool only). Was suppose to buy it earlier this month but I got a random orbit sander instead. You guys got any pointers on where I can get a good price on it? This post has been edited by rigidius: Oct 31 2017, 07:12 AM
rigidius
Oct 31 2017, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(old newspaper @ Oct 31 2017, 10:40 AM) buy online from lazada / shopee....but hold on to it now, wait for 11.11 sales  i paid rm315 for a solo unit last year. Wow. That’s cheap. Cheapest I could find online now is rm395. Ok gotta sabar sikit and wait till 11.11 sale