LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

RokXIII
post Oct 20 2017, 11:32 AM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

hello all, need some recommendations in getting a drill.
basically i just use it to drill on the concrete/tiles for toilet hanger, curtain bracket, etc... (mainly on concrete)

came across the below models:
- Bosch GSB10RE
- Bosch GSB 1300
- Bosch GSB 120-LI
- Bosch GSB 16 RE

which one will be more suitable?
RokXIII
post Oct 21 2017, 10:52 AM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Oct 20 2017, 11:44 AM)
Answer : None

Get a rotary hammer 22mm or 24mm would suffice.
Can buy China made cheap cheap around RM 210-250 such as below

Bossman 226

Lever 2-24
Or if you want branded
Stanley STEL503K
Thanks for the recommendations!
For the China brand, is the bit easily find and replaceable? Can drill tiles too i believe?

RokXIII
post Oct 22 2017, 10:05 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Oct 21 2017, 01:08 PM)
I have been using China's brand for 6 years, no problem so far. Can drill hole thru tiles and concrete. Mainly for home DIY, probably max 10 holes per day and few times a year.

Buyers should know, it is not for heavy duty and dont use for whole day like drilling 50 holes per day because it cannot tahan prolong heat. If you know its limit, can last many years.
thanks for the suggestion!
bought myself a China made rotary hammer drill from DIY shop, and also a SDS hammer bit.

no issue drilling hole in the concrete, but not sure how to drill on a tile.
i used only the drilling mode and at slow speed at the beginning, tile has no crack but the hole seems is very shallow.. unsure if i was doing it right..
RokXIII
post Oct 25 2017, 03:31 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Oct 24 2017, 02:16 PM)
When drilling hole into tiles :
1) Set to drill only mode (if you're expert enough, set minimum hammer mode)
2) Drill slowly and check the hole
3) When the drill fully punch in a hole in tiles, increase a little hammer mode (for some model) or you can adjust/press the power 50-60% to make sure no full hammer mode
3) Never set full hammer/rotary mode in tiles and NO full power all the way, tiles will break
Thanks for the guidance, appreciate that! notworthy.gif
Shall give a try this weekend with these steps.
RokXIII
post Oct 29 2017, 07:08 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Oct 25 2017, 03:31 PM)
Thanks for the guidance, appreciate that!  notworthy.gif
Shall give a try this weekend with these steps.
Just happened to know that, actually the tile im trying to drill, is porcelain tile instead of ceramic tile, no wonder so hard to drill with the carbide bit.
Guess the only option left is to drill with diamond bit? Any idea where can i get it? Went through ace hardware shop and home pro but couldn't get any.
RokXIII
post Nov 26 2020, 11:39 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

hello all, got a question here.. was going to do some drilling on the wall but unsure if there is any water pipe/metal behind the wall, could anyone suggest me a tool (something like stud finder?) to do this check?

0.2110sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:31 AM