234 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

TSyushin
post Nov 20 2017, 09:25 AM

3,327 posts

Plan to use metal brush to clean out old paint for repainting, so now looking for a cordless grinder.
Currently got 2 candidate
1) Bosch GWS18V-Li - RM590
2) Makita DGA406Z - RM720

To those who has the Bosch grinder :
1) Does the grinding wheel stop quickly when you turn off power? My 12v Bosch mini grinder stop spinning almost immediately after power off.
2) Does it has auto stop to prevent kickback?

Currently I like Makita more because
1) Stop spinning within 1 sec of power off.
2) Makita is brushless. Bosch makes awesome 12V brushless grinder why their 18V still so old tech?
3) Won't auto start if insert battery with switch at ON.
4) Grinder will stop if it detects stuck to prevent kickback.
5) From picture, Makita body seems to be smaller and easier to grab for my small hand.

Does 8500rpm of Makita has big difference with Bosch's 10,000 rpm?
Many grinder accident I read from china forum till I very scare of the grinder.

This post has been edited by yushin: Nov 20 2017, 09:26 AM
lucifah
post Nov 20 2017, 09:32 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 20 2017, 09:25 AM)
Plan to use metal brush to clean out old paint for repainting, so now looking for a cordless grinder.

1) Does the grinding wheel stop quickly when you turn off power? My 12v Bosch mini grinder stop spinning almost immediately after power off.

2) Makita is brushless. Bosch makes awesome 12V brushless grinder why their 18V still so old tech?
5) From picture, Makita body seems to be smaller and easier to grab for my small hand.

bosch
1. no, not as immediate as GWS12. but it does stop faster than most grinders i know
2. no, because it is not torquey enough. when batt is less than half, you will have quite a few stops because the disc got stuck

as for makita, i answer with bosch
2. bosch got 4 pole brush, which they claim is more powerful(bosch claim, not me)
3. bosch also same
4. bosch also stop, but i dunno if that's a feature or a side effect
5. ya, bosch one sooo thick and big

grinder accidents? try to limit youself to good discs. buy the more expensive discs like bosch or hitachi or makita (my fav is made in taiwan TAILIN). always inspect discs before use and always always wear eye protection
akibsyu3013
post Nov 20 2017, 10:41 AM

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 20 2017, 09:25 AM)

Bro May I know where to get Makita DGA406Z? Lazada? CThardware? or any coupon can apply?

Appreciate your help bro
TSyushin
post Nov 20 2017, 11:05 AM

3,327 posts

QUOTE(akibsyu3013 @ Nov 20 2017, 10:41 AM)
Bro May I know where to get Makita DGA406Z? Lazada? CThardware? or any coupon can apply?

Appreciate your help bro
http://hupshenghware.com/Power-Tools-Makit...oduct_info.html

Direct from shop. No coupon required.
But the traffic and parking in front of the shop is hell.

I think they own the shop lot thats why can save a lot on rental.
ozak
post Nov 20 2017, 11:22 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 20 2017, 11:05 AM)
http://hupshenghware.com/Power-Tools-Makit...oduct_info.html

Direct from shop. No coupon required.
But the traffic and parking in front of the shop is hell.

I think they own the shop lot thats why can save a lot on rental.
Even the CT hardware Bandar puteri also is nightmare to find a parking.

I complain to the boss. He advise me to buy online. biggrin.gif
TSyushin
post Nov 20 2017, 11:30 AM

3,327 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 20 2017, 11:22 AM)
Even the CT hardware Bandar puteri also is nightmare to find a parking.

I complain to the boss. He advise me to buy online.  biggrin.gif
Well, their online purchase page does not really give much confidence. 哈哈。
Btw their shop is still the old wooden floor, wooden rack style.

Really got a different feel compare to modern CT hardware.

CSM feels like a warehouse.
rellik_yzarc
post Nov 20 2017, 05:25 PM

75 posts

I have a Makita DHR242 that accepts SRS Plus bits. Apparently SRS Plus bits are only for drilling into masonry. In order to use the DHR242 to drill wood and metal, I would need a different Chuck. Is this information correct?
lucifah
post Nov 20 2017, 05:35 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(rellik_yzarc @ Nov 20 2017, 05:25 PM)
I have a Makita DHR242 that accepts SRS Plus bits. Apparently SRS Plus bits are only for drilling into masonry. In order to use the DHR242 to drill wood and metal, I would need a different Chuck. Is this information correct?
u mean SDS+ chuck?

you kenot use SDS or SDS+ or even SDSmax bit to drill wood or metal. i don't think there is even drill bit for them

for normal bit for wood and and steel, u usully will need an adaptor if you plan to use your SDS+ rotary hammer, and set them to drill mode only first

This post has been edited by lucifah: Nov 20 2017, 05:37 PM
lucifah
post Nov 20 2017, 05:51 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

yushin some pictures to show you the size of the bosch GWS18v, whcih is a bit bulky

the scratches are due to me forcing it through very tight space. the next day, i got myself the GWS12 and a lot of my prob solved

lucifah
post Nov 20 2017, 07:50 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

cheapest l-boxx 136 i came across.

sadly, kenot use coin (not preferred seller) or voucher (not mall)
odour_stop
post Nov 20 2017, 07:56 PM

228 posts

Where? Share link please
TSyushin
post Nov 20 2017, 08:01 PM

3,327 posts

I have a Bosch GOP18VEC multitool.
I wonder their body size is the same or not?

lucifah
post Nov 20 2017, 08:06 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 20 2017, 08:01 PM)

I have a Bosch GOP18VEC multitool.
I wonder their body size is the same or not?
nope. the GOP is more slender. the handle grip is squarish shape, vs GWS's roundish grip

but one thing i tell you, 18V grinder is kinda luxury rather than necessity. 4.0ah batt doesnt last long, the batt and the battpack life itself. during intensive use, the batt pack gets very very warm and surely will shorten the batt pack life

tomorrow got time i take pic of GOP18 and GWS18 and GWS12 side by side. i think oldnewspaper also have all 3
lucifah
post Nov 20 2017, 08:08 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(odour_stop @ Nov 20 2017, 07:56 PM)
Where? Share link please
https://shopee.com.my/BOSCH-L-BOXX-136-CARR...78903.608947058
rellik_yzarc
post Nov 20 2017, 09:25 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 20 2017, 05:35 PM)
u mean SDS+ chuck?

you kenot use SDS or SDS+ or even SDSmax bit to drill wood or metal. i don't think there is even drill bit for them

for normal bit for wood and and steel, u usully will need an adaptor if you plan to use your SDS+ rotary hammer, and set them to drill mode only first

Thanks!
ar188
post Nov 20 2017, 09:29 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 20 2017, 07:50 PM)
cheapest  l-boxx 136 i came across.

sadly, kenot use coin (not preferred seller) or voucher (not mall)
worth or not this size?
ar188
post Nov 20 2017, 09:30 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 20 2017, 05:35 PM)
u mean SDS+ chuck?

got leh sds drill bits, not so expensive also.
lucifah
post Nov 20 2017, 09:34 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 20 2017, 09:29 PM)
worth or not this size?
the only advantage it has is the side handle, which allow you to carry it like a briefcase, and boy, i tell you, you look more macho also flex.gif

lucifah
post Nov 20 2017, 09:36 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 20 2017, 09:30 PM)
got leh sds drill bits, not so expensive also.
oh, yeah. now i remember, but that one long2 type usually for boring hole in wood one?
ar188
post Nov 20 2017, 09:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 20 2017, 09:34 PM)
the only advantage it has is the side handle, which allow you to carry it like a briefcase, and boy, i tell you, you look more macho also  flex.gif
or is it cheap enough for me to chop it up to make into a dolly (salvage the mounting point for the latch.) biggrin.gif

234 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:49 PM