LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

TSyushin
post Sep 15 2017, 09:18 AM

3,329 posts

I have a 12 inch makita bandsaw. Very useful for making cuts that my table saw can't do, quiet and less dust too.

What you plan to do with the bandsaw? The handheld bandsaw you show is suitable to cut pipes on site.
If you plan to cut curves on wood, the handheld bandsaw's throat is too small and limit to what you can do on the wood.

If you have space concern the get a jigsaw or Worx EX572 flip jigsaw thing. Don't get too high cut accuracy expectation on the worx ya...
Btw a 9 inch bandsaw does not take up that much horizontal space.

*many spelling correction required*

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 15 2017, 09:44 AM
TSyushin
post Sep 15 2017, 09:47 AM

3,329 posts

As long as it can help you get your work done better and faster. It will be worth it.
Cute grinder. biggrin.gif
TSyushin
post Sep 15 2017, 01:28 PM

3,329 posts

I prefer the D handle version jigsaw tho.
TSyushin
post Sep 15 2017, 03:58 PM

3,329 posts

I dunno bandsaw can cut metal. Maybe using special blade?
There are many small size bandsaw available.
Jet is a more reputable brand in Malaysia. I have a jet scroll saw.

If you have access taobao, you have even more options.

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 15 2017, 04:09 PM
TSyushin
post Sep 15 2017, 05:37 PM

3,329 posts

Not really a lot cheaper if you include sea shipping to Malaysia, but you get more selection with better spec.
Example:
Quick release tension level
cast iron table
bigger motor
bearing guide instead of block guide.

Here I show you some example
1) Jet JWBS-9 RM880
9 inch, 350w, block guide, no quick tension release (I think, can't find pic of the back of the bandsaw), 17kg

2) NingGan 9 inch band saw (many cheap china made bandsaw that are sold here are same design as this one)
9 inch, 350W, block guide, quick tension release, 21kg
https://world.taobao.com/item/549930650937.....41f58d4cyWnybG

3) nototec 9 inch bandsaw (I rate this higher than ninggan due to manufacturer reputation)
9 inch, 350W, block guide, quick tension release, 21kg
https://world.taobao.com/item/21046619810.h...ene=taobao_shop

4) Hisimen 10 inch bandsaw (they dont have 9 inch, USA Grizzly's OEM, higher grade than nototec)
10 inch, 550w, bearing guide, quick tension release, cast iron work table, 34kg
https://world.taobao.com/item/528008901719.....2f669dfbdBeRjv

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 15 2017, 06:00 PM
TSyushin
post Sep 15 2017, 07:04 PM

3,329 posts

using lazada sea delivery
Product + delivery to warehouse is RM932,
from warehouse to Malaysia shipping estimate RM180.

Never have a broken item yet. Usually big item I will tell them to reinforce with wood crate, extra charges & heavier tho.
Using taobao's delivery agent(lazada) sure can claim damage, but how? I dunno.

TSyushin
post Sep 15 2017, 09:05 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 15 2017, 08:40 PM)
Aiyo don't say toy grade ler.
Its small because I don't need a big band saw. Not gonna waste the garage space. Not until I erect a metal workshop beside the house brows.gif
If got lazada service I think not gonna be a problem. Their customer service very good. If they're the forwarder and item damaged they don't wanna cover can escalate to kpdnkk and tribunal.

Can select lazada agent inside taobao order page? I search lazada doesn't gave this band saw listed.
Lazada is just the transport agent. The main portal is still taobao.
You select lazada as the consolidation agent during ordering.
If you can't read chinese, its better to appoint an agent to handle this for you.

TSyushin
post Sep 16 2017, 12:16 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Sep 16 2017, 12:04 PM)
a man needs some new toys.. smile.gif
Fully agree. biggrin.gif
TSyushin
post Sep 16 2017, 11:54 PM

3,329 posts

Your assistance take picture while you're cutting? thumbup.gif

I wonder how the previous people assemble that thing last time in such small space.
Did you mean 2AH batt?

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 16 2017, 11:57 PM
TSyushin
post Sep 19 2017, 11:38 AM

3,329 posts

Found a seller in china selling 3D printed Makita and bosch battery mounting.
Not that as cheap as I wanted tho.
That makita to ryobi adapter might be good, hmm...
Then I can play ryobi toys without getting another set of batt and chargers. Workroom lack of space to hang more chargers.

Nailer, fan, heat gun, those non-core tools. devil.gif

https://bobear.taobao.com/shop/view_shop.ht...ber_id=11320932

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 19 2017, 11:46 AM
TSyushin
post Sep 19 2017, 09:00 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 19 2017, 06:00 PM)
went over to ct hardware roadshow over the last weekend...nothing interesting and cheap to buy...end up bought this..

buy the led light ( Rm129 ) free 14.4v 2.0ah battery ( worth RM168 )  laugh.gif

Damn, I went to that road show and dunno about this. cry.gif
I only bought a ruler and some jigsaw blades.
TSyushin
post Sep 23 2017, 12:41 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(rigidius @ Sep 23 2017, 11:10 AM)
That's what most of my projects will be like, hobby, small stuff
If the thing you cut does not exceed 2cm thich, the 12V circular saw is good enough.
Just cut slower don't push it too hard.
TSyushin
post Sep 23 2017, 12:46 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Sep 23 2017, 11:14 AM)
Guys, need some opinion before I proceed to buy.

I'm getting cordless impact drill, probably 12V or 18V to get my job done. Question is should I go for 400~700 bucks brushes motor or 1.5k above for brushless motor?

I heard it last longer by 10x? But I'll be using it for DIY projects only. So I won't using it frequently.
DIY projects don't really need brushless, you don't need the extra runtime offered by brushless motor.
Its not like you will be using the drill for 6 hours non stop.
TSyushin
post Sep 23 2017, 12:53 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Sep 23 2017, 11:27 AM)
Sorry boss, Impact driver to be exact then I'll use drill bit on it.
If you got the budget, get a drill and a impact.
Eventually you will get fed up keep changing the drill bit and screw driver bit

Bosch GSB + GDR will be good combination.
However that makita 10.8v flat pack battery drill driver + impact set also looks good.
Flat pack battery --> your drill can stand.

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 23 2017, 01:09 PM
TSyushin
post Sep 23 2017, 12:58 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Sep 23 2017, 12:05 PM)
Ya IKR.. Some top brands like Hitachi and Makita sell up to 2k++ somemore..

I can buy 3~5 normal impact driver already  dry.gif  dry.gif
Its the battery and charger that is expensive. sad.gif
Especially Makita.
TSyushin
post Sep 23 2017, 01:08 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Sep 23 2017, 12:54 PM)
Thanks for the feedbacks. I'll just go for top quality brand's brushes motor, either Hitachi or Makita.
I do some DIY woodworking too, 2AH battery usually can lats me a month.
With the Makita and Bosch fast charger, it takes about 15-20 minute to fully charge a 2AH battery.

TSyushin
post Sep 23 2017, 06:01 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(rigidius @ Sep 23 2017, 03:18 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. Here's a deal I got on 11st. Any other pointers for good deals?

If you don't mind using not mainstream brand, you can conside this worx brand.
Many interesting design for home DIY use.
ALso it runs on more powerful 18V system.
Worx tool is available in USA, Europe and China, Malaysia don't have many options to buy.

If you have access to taobao and can read chinese...
1) worx 18V rotary hammer + drill driver set. About RM800
You stay in condo I assume you wall will be concrete, GSB will have difficulty drilling into concrete. I have a Bosch GSB18V so I know...
With this set you will have a 5hr charger & 2 18V 2AH batteries.
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10...d=3362899268098

2) Worx 18V jigsaw + sabre saw combination, solo unit. About RM450
Don't expect accuracy like a Bosch GST18V but you get 2 tool in one, don't complain lor.
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10...100200300000000

3) Worx 18V circular saw, solo unit. About RM350.
Can cut multiple materials by changing blades. Can cut wood max deep is 27mm.
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10...d=3422722470320

All price exclude transport to Malaysia. You need to get 3rd party forwarder to send to Malaysia, sea freight is about rm5.50 per kg, need 1 month to arrive.
If you need to know how the tool perform, youtube and amazon review has the info.

Since you're into woodworking, you will need a sander and a vacuum/cyclone to handle the wood dusts. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 23 2017, 07:56 PM
TSyushin
post Sep 24 2017, 10:42 AM

3,329 posts

The item (1) is suitable for DIY weekend warriors that use the drill at least once a month.

If you move in to new house and don't do much DIY, just get a corded version of rotary hammer from Mr. DIY. for less than rm200 I think.
SDS drills bits are easy to get in Malaysia, don't worry about that. You can even get that in Mr. DIY.

The remaining money use to buy a black and decker drill driver, I assume you will need to assemble many Ikea furniture?

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 24 2017, 10:43 AM
TSyushin
post Sep 24 2017, 08:41 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Sep 24 2017, 08:26 PM)
Thanks!

Any good brand or model you would recommend for rotary hammer from Mr. DIY?
I think there is only one brand of rotary hammer in Mr DIY, can't remember the name.
TSyushin
post Sep 25 2017, 07:04 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Sep 25 2017, 06:39 PM)
There is a worx reseller/agent at jln kebun, klang. No need to import in.

But I'm not really confident with it as it has very less review. Mind to share your experiences.
Currently I only has one worx tool, the hydroshot. I really like it, use it to clean floor, car, toilet...
Reading the reviews of similar models in amazon, looks like its good for home DIY use.
Can't justify buying more worx tool coz already have similar tool made by Makita & Bosch.

Take note there are 2 range of worx tool, the orange one is for DIY while the green is for pros.
All Worx tool I said are orange tools.

If I knew about worx/ryobi brand and taobao before, I won't be using the current set of bosch/makita tool already.
Seriously overkill to use bosch and makita for some hobby woodworking, I'll rather spent the money on better/precision woodworking bench tool instead. bangwall.gif

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

I did a quick comparison of prices of local Makita & Bosch 12V system.

Lets see how much it would costs for a reputable brand like Makita here…
Using Makita 10.8/12v flat pack system
1) Rotary hammer – Makita HR166D 12V rotary hammer, come with 1 charger and 2 battery (2AH) – RM1346. With this price, I think better just get the corded version, you drill inside the house sure got power plug right?
2) Drill driver & Impact driver – Makita CLX201 combo kit. You will get 1 charger and 2 1.5 AH battery. RM752
3) Jigsaw – Makita JV101z bare tool, rm372
4) Circular saw – Makita HS301DZ bare tool, rm412
Hmm… if you exclude the rotary hammer, Makita’s 12v system seems ok at total of RM1536.

Using Bosch 12V system, stick battery
1) Rotary hammer – I don’t think Bosch has 12v rotary hammer.
2) Drill driver & Impact driver – Bosch GSR + GDR 120-LI combo, you get 1 charger and 2 1.5AH battery. RM752
3) Jigsaw – Bosch GST 12V-LI solo – RM425
4) Circular saw – Bosch GKS12V-LI solo – RM445
Excluding the rotary hammer, Bosch 12V system costs RM1622. Wah, more expensive than Makita.

If you're interested, those lurking taiko here maybe can find you some cheaper good deals. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 25 2017, 09:36 PM

23 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:51 PM