Investors Club V10, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam

kueyteowlou
post Jun 4 2017, 11:29 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jun 4 2017, 07:15 PM)
Actually Tenaga owns 80% of SESB (Sabah Electricity).

Buy yeah I get that Tenaga is one of those secular growth companies in Malaysia. Lean balance sheet, 50-70% retained earnings for future growth from net profit (one of the highest in the KLCI), foreign acquisition, aim to be Top 10 power utility by 2025 in terms of Market Cap (currently no. 18).

I bought when it was at 1.42X BV @ 13.68, I think that was neither too low nor too high.

If however it does hit RM17.00 within the next one year I will sell it and lock my profits in, and then buy again when it eventually dips.
good strategy for investment... icon_rolleyes.gif

kueyteowlou
post Jun 8 2017, 08:21 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 7 2017, 08:23 PM)
You are welcome bro. I am happy you are making money. Please keep NHFatt for now. It is not meant for short term trading but long term investment.

I don't have a target price for NHFatt. IMHO, there are a few rules of thumb for long term investment:-

1.  Don't watch the stock price after you bought the stock. Watch what the company is doing.
2.  What is the future earnings or growth prospect of the company?
3.  As long as the fundamentals of the company are OK, you should keep the stock.

I will take some stocks in my portfolio as an eg:-

Stocks /                        Unrealised Profit

1.  AirAsia                          15.782%
2.  Cocolnd                        20.113%
3.  GKent                          18.338%
4.  Johotin                          18.393%
5.  KESM                            41.591%
6.  MPI                              26.398%
7.  OldTown                        17.546%
8.  Superln                        29.953%

Should I sell the above stocks since I have made some profits? The answer is no since I am doing it for long term investment. I will keep the stocks as long as the fundamentals are intact and I bought it with a margin of safety (i.e. when they were undervalued). If we keep on trading or overhauling our portfolio frequently, the only person who will be rich will be our remisiers.

We need time to let the money tree grow instead of pulling out the roots when the tree is growing.

P/S:  Sorry for this long winded post. I had a few glasses of wine pre-dinner.
switching portfolio and taking profits is one of the strategy in term of investing...

0.1118sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:22 PM