Investors Club V10, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam

Nemozai
post Jun 18 2017, 12:35 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 17 2017, 09:21 AM)
so from earning growth you derived intrinsic value by projecting it into future and pick the best discount you could find from the market, am i right?

if that is the way, then you have to constantly adjust your intrinsic value whenever new earning released, and your model will be right and wrong from Q to Q.

So, i guess it end up would be same if one simply filter for positive earning growth in step one.

But for me i screen for technical as first step broadly, second step to verify whether fundamental fits my min requirements, because to me priority is risk control (or market timing) > selecting good company. At the point of fund availability, I look at what satisfy both my risk control and fundamental assessment and enter accordingly with tight sl. My method will not let me find the greatest stock in bursa, but most likely it will let price move in my favor most of the time to allow tp.
So you look at technical analysis first, and then only u look at fundamental am I right? How do you screen for technical to prioritize risk control? Can you briefly tell me? I want to learn too. notworthy.gif

I want to make it clear.

Trader: Look at price movement and do technical analysis only, ignore fundamental completely.
Value investor : Find best company (best fundamental), then try to find intrinsic value (to look for entry price)
You: Try to find best price (with technical analysis), then enter if fundamental is strong, do not enter if fundamental is not strong.

Am I right? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Nemozai: Jun 18 2017, 12:41 AM
dontlosecapital
post Jun 18 2017, 10:26 AM

429 posts

funding money for new IPO, RM 8 lotte chemical titan !
abdrahib
post Jun 18 2017, 11:13 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(dontlosecapital @ Jun 18 2017, 10:26 AM)
Is it really worth to subscribe this IPO with huge no of shares being offered
SUSlowya
post Jun 18 2017, 04:06 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Jun 18 2017, 12:35 AM)
So you look at technical analysis first, and then only u look at fundamental am I right? How do you screen for technical to prioritize risk control? Can you briefly tell me? I want to learn too.  notworthy.gif

I want to make it clear.

Trader: Look at price movement and do technical analysis only, ignore fundamental completely.
Value investor : Find best company (best fundamental), then try to find intrinsic value (to look for entry price)
You: Try to find best price (with technical analysis), then enter if fundamental is strong, do not enter if fundamental is not strong.

Am I right?  notworthy.gif
briefly, you want to calculate drawdown between current price to fractals or moving average or previous resistance, whichever that previously responded well to derive the % risk. This method assume that most fundamentally good stocks would have moved hence technical risk would be rather high, so you could enter choosing the least risk among preciously filtered fundamental stocks basket. You wait patiently, if nothing within your defined risk factor, you stay out from market, sit on your itchy hands.

Nowadays you cannot define what trader or investor do exactly, they have each of their styles depending to their priority, risk appetite, fund size, investment timeframe, etc. In the end, the question you have to answer is what is your comfortable method that you feel most reasonable within your restrictions. But if you are a fund manager, first priority for you is manage your risk, fundamental/technical/market risks.
djhenry91
post Jun 18 2017, 06:04 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(dontlosecapital @ Jun 18 2017, 10:26 AM)
rich man group member spotted cool2.gif
dontlosecapital
post Jun 19 2017, 11:33 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(abdrahib @ Jun 18 2017, 11:13 AM)
Is it really worth to subscribe this IPO with huge no of shares being offered
no right and wrong answer smile.gif

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jun 18 2017, 06:04 PM)
rich man group member spotted  cool2.gif
if rich, then no need to gather money to invest on it.. can direct invest tongue.gif
Nemozai
post Jun 19 2017, 02:40 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 18 2017, 04:06 PM)
briefly, you want to calculate drawdown between current price to fractals or moving average or previous resistance, whichever that previously responded well to derive the % risk. This method assume that most fundamentally good stocks would have moved hence technical risk would be rather high, so you could enter choosing the least risk among preciously filtered fundamental stocks basket. You wait patiently, if nothing within your defined risk factor, you stay out from market, sit on your itchy hands.

Nowadays you cannot define what trader or investor do exactly, they have each of their styles depending to their priority, risk appetite, fund size, investment timeframe, etc. In the end, the question you have to answer is what is your comfortable method that you feel most reasonable within your restrictions. But if you are a fund manager, first priority for you is manage your risk, fundamental/technical/market risks.
Learned something new. Thanks a lot lowya. notworthy.gif
djhenry91
post Jun 19 2017, 03:47 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(dontlosecapital @ Jun 19 2017, 11:33 AM)
no right and wrong answer smile.gif
if rich, then no need to gather money to invest on it.. can direct invest tongue.gif
later rich man club welcome you join as their member..hahaha

now maxis wan do PP ka?
dontlosecapital
post Jun 19 2017, 08:01 PM

429 posts

if only can buy one of this for tmr..

what u all recommend
1. AJI
2. ALCOM
3. KESM
4. RCECAP
5. SLPRES
SUSlowya
post Jun 19 2017, 08:03 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(dontlosecapital @ Jun 19 2017, 08:01 PM)
if only can buy one of this for tmr..

what u all recommend
1. AJI
2. ALCOM
3. KESM
4. RCECAP
5. SLPRES
my rank goes like this:

ANNJOO 6556 Ind-Prod, Main Market 3.05
RCECAP 9296 Finance, Main Market 1.7
FAREAST 5029 Plantation, Main Market 8.7
YTLLAND 2577 Properties, Main Market 0.605

Vanguard 2015
post Jun 19 2017, 11:04 PM

3,541 posts

Stock Watch

1. Yinson
2. PPHB
3. FGV (goreng only)

dontlosecapital
post Jun 20 2017, 12:07 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 19 2017, 11:04 PM)
Stock Watch

1.  Yinson
2.  PPHB
3.  FGV (goreng only)
All the best bro!
dontlosecapital
post Jun 20 2017, 06:47 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 19 2017, 08:03 PM)
my rank goes like this:

ANNJOO 6556 Ind-Prod, Main Market 3.05
RCECAP 9296 Finance, Main Market 1.7
FAREAST 5029 Plantation, Main Market 8.7
YTLLAND 2577 Properties, Main Market 0.605
Nice pick..
Especially fareast, drop 4% since financial quarter release.....
All the best bro..
A lot of good share to buy.
Not enough bullet. .
Vanguard 2015
post Jun 20 2017, 08:43 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(dontlosecapital @ Jun 20 2017, 12:07 AM)
All the best bro!
Thanks buddy but I have limited bullets. I may not go in.
TSnexona88
post Jun 20 2017, 11:45 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 19 2017, 11:04 PM)
Stock Watch

1.  Yinson
2.  PPHB
3.  FGV (goreng only)
FGV can huh???
hmm.gif

Too much problems...
Avangelice
post Jun 20 2017, 11:46 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 20 2017, 11:45 AM)
FGV can huh???
hmm.gif

Too much problems...
I don't suggest that lest you get burned.

they still have outstanding loans that haven't been settled because of the CEO's blatant abuse of funds
TSnexona88
post Jun 20 2017, 11:51 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 20 2017, 11:46 AM)
I don't suggest that lest you get burned.

they still have outstanding loans that haven't been settled because of the CEO's blatant abuse of funds
Yup.
That's why I got some doubt on FGV..
Not dare to go in blush.gif
Avangelice
post Jun 20 2017, 11:53 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 20 2017, 11:51 AM)
Yup.
That's why I got some doubt on FGV..
Not dare to go in blush.gif

the edge too has been putting a buy call on FGV. either one must be crazy to take the high risk bet or wallet is packed full of money. either way any company that has a high debt because of mismanagement should be avoided.
TSnexona88
post Jun 20 2017, 11:57 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 20 2017, 11:53 AM)
the edge too has been putting a buy call on FGV. either one must be crazy to take the high risk bet or wallet is packed full of money. either way any company that has a high debt because of mismanagement should be avoided.
Spot on..

Wish good luck those still dare to go in notworthy.gif
SUSlowya
post Jun 20 2017, 11:58 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 20 2017, 11:45 AM)
FGV can huh???
hmm.gif

Too much problems...
avoid at all cost.

250 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top