Tesco Malaysia want to close down operation? Chat
TSxpole
May 29 2017, 10:48 PM, updated 9y ago
I wonder, is Tesco Malaysia want to close down their Malaysia operation? I went to Tesco Setia Alam, Shah Alam just now, I saw many area that lack of product assortment especially at their milk section. It's empty and left unpopular products that no one want to buy.  I go other sections also same, lack of product assortment. They complained in The Star newspaper that their sales are going down the drain, seeing the store condition, it's not a suprise their sales are low. How about Tesco in your area guys? Is it okay or not? This post has been edited by xpole: May 29 2017, 10:50 PM
kkk8787
May 29 2017, 10:49 PM
Tescogot
vanpersie91
May 29 2017, 10:50 PM
Tesco at my area lagi kesian product sorting and arrangement macam nobody care dah la customer attitude macam sampah. simply take any stuff anf just leave them anywhere they like tak ada basic manners especially frozen stuffs handling - dah bukak peti aiskrim simply just let them opened bangang betul. dari top management sampai end consumer
TSxpole
May 29 2017, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ May 29 2017, 10:50 PM) Tesco at my area lagi kesian product sorting and arrangement macam nobody care dah la customer attitude macam sampah. simply take any stuff anf just leave them anywhere they like tak ada basic manners especially frozen stuffs handling - dah bukak peti aiskrim simply just let them opened bangang betul. dari top management sampai end consumer  Tesco management is getting worst i guess. I can see the differences. Last time there's a big liquor section, they close the section and put the liquor item at some small area. Lack of cashier. So many counter closed. I was like wtf is this.
SUSAmeiN
May 29 2017, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(xpole @ May 29 2017, 10:48 PM) I wonder, is Tesco Malaysia want to close down their Malaysia operation? I went to Tesco Setia Alam, Shah Alam just now, I saw many area that lack of product assortment especially at their milk section. It's empty and left unpopular products that no one want to buy.  I go other sections also same, lack of product assortment. They complained in The Star newspaper that their sales are going down the drain, seeing the store condition, it's not a suprise their sales are low. How about Tesco in your area guys? Is it okay or not? Tesco egate penang, 1/3 already give to some hardware shop.
vanpersie91
May 29 2017, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(xpole @ May 29 2017, 10:52 PM) Tesco management is getting worst i guess. I can see the differences. Last time there's a big liquor section, they close the section and put the liquor item at some small area. Lack of cashier. So many counter closed. I was like wtf is this.  and I heard they were indeed wanna cease their operation in Malaysia. edit: correction - LTAT never take over tesco...wrong info i read somewhere. thanks to Faidzal for pointing it out This post has been edited by vanpersie91: May 30 2017, 07:39 AM
TSxpole
May 29 2017, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(AmeiN @ May 29 2017, 10:53 PM) Tesco egate penang, 1/3 already give to some hardware shop. They need to renovate back their store. Try follow Aeon as example. See Aeon Midvalley and Shah Alam. Looks modern and fresh. It attracts customer to buy more.
dadurtyz
May 29 2017, 10:57 PM
If not mistaken, tesco setia alam, their use outsource assortment, their only stock up at night time. But yes tesco is sucks! I rather go mydin and Aeon
TSxpole
May 29 2017, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(dadurtyz @ May 29 2017, 10:57 PM) If not mistaken, tesco setia alam, their use outsource assortment, their only stock up at night time. But yes tesco is sucks! I rather go mydin and Aeon I think Mydin is better than Tesco, I went Mydin USJ, not bad. At least there's alot product available at there.
wokies
May 29 2017, 11:01 PM

tesco bukit tinggi and skyn 13 still okay for me..good condition...always got promo and got promo stall with cute girl..haha..sometimes got until 5 stall..free food..nice also..
typicalsite
May 29 2017, 11:02 PM

tesco ampang here stock still ok, but the only problem is the increase in prices. absolute ridiculous. once, a soy milk was sold RM2.20 without promo. now suddenly increase to RM2.70. gila. soy milk wei. better go 99mart only RM1.90.
howszat
May 29 2017, 11:03 PM
Too many Tescos, not surprised if some close down.
smallcrab
May 29 2017, 11:05 PM

Tesco used to be the best hypermkt around.
Now definately has changed for the worse
SUS~Sherlock~
May 29 2017, 11:15 PM
Now even Giant feels better than Tesco!
heavensea
May 29 2017, 11:17 PM
Good, selling barang mahal than aeon and 99speedmart.
Noyoudontcare
May 29 2017, 11:18 PM

Tesco is expanding its Asian presence with the opening of new stores in Thailand and Malaysia.
The supermarket is set to open 100 more Tesco Lotus stores in Thailand by the end of this year - including hypermarket, supermarket and convenience formats - to take its total estate to 2,000.
It will also renovate 18 stores in its existing estate, which covers 73 Thai provinces.
Tesco Lotus online sales grew at a triple-digit rate over the past year, it revealed this week, but still remained a small percentage of total sales.
“We see an improvement in consumer spending power and feel confident the Thai economy will rise this year,” said John Christie, CEO of Tesco Lotus.
Tesco is also due to open six new stores in Malaysia this year, four of which will be a smaller format.
The supermarket had initially concentrated on opening hypermarkets in Malaysia but is currently downsizing stores in its 56-strong estate to reduce the number by more than 60,000 sq m.
Online accounts for just 2% of Tesco’s sales in Malaysia, having launched in the country two years ago.
“Consumers still want the physical aspect of grocery shopping. They want to touch, see, smell and pick groceries by hand,” said Paul Ritchie, CEO of Tesco Malaysia.
Tesco entered the Thai market in 1994 and the Malaysian market in 2002.
mattsynyster
May 29 2017, 11:19 PM

tescogot
silent_stalker
May 29 2017, 11:20 PM
Monday loorrr. They usually restock on thursday coz sales usually start on friday - sunday
arthurlwf
May 29 2017, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(xpole @ May 29 2017, 10:55 PM) They need to renovate back their store. Try follow Aeon as example. See Aeon Midvalley and Shah Alam. Looks modern and fresh. It attracts customer to buy more. It's time for Jusco to buy over Tesco Malaysia? Maybe call Beon....
dr0olingb0at
May 29 2017, 11:34 PM
My area ok je. I went yesterday.