Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ Discussion Thread V6, Infinity Display - Boundaries Removed

mhhee
post May 28 2017, 06:20 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ May 28 2017, 05:37 PM)
Mind to share whr u get it?my sp that comes with the starter kit is getting slight lift..so might need to replace soon
QUOTE(benson92 @ May 28 2017, 05:53 PM)
Looks nice, please share where to get it biggrin.gif
Look at his sign, obviously coming for business. Haha.
mhhee
post May 28 2017, 06:25 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ May 28 2017, 06:21 PM)
Haha, be careful...
No lar. Just another way to promote business. 😀 Much better than ppl who keeps telling clear coat no matter which threads he went.

This post has been edited by mhhee: May 28 2017, 06:28 PM
mhhee
post May 29 2017, 08:56 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 28 2017, 10:40 PM)
got people from Mobile Outfitters promote clear-coat gah? Never seen before in s8 thread. Whats the username?
Mostly I see ppl talking about cc is from ppl who have used it and recommending it.
QUOTE(benson92 @ May 29 2017, 08:31 AM)
haha damn agree with u  biggrin.gif
Better keep my mouth shut. Ppl butthurt & reported my post. Childish... doh.gif

Anyway, it's amazing that S8 has something new to me, it can learn how to save battery & now my battery is better than newly installed. With same apps & same settings, last time it drained 12% overnight & now only 6%. biggrin.gif
mhhee
post May 29 2017, 09:03 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ May 29 2017, 08:57 AM)
by setting battery mid saving mode? mine still hover around 12-15% during sleep  sad.gif
Nope. I didn't set anything or using battery saving mode, just let it learn to save battery by itself. From time to time, it prompts me that it has put some apps to sleep, then my overnight drain is getting lesser daily. Cool huh? biggrin.gif

My experiences of Android in battery is getting worst by worst daily after so many apps installed but this one reversed. Haha.
mhhee
post May 29 2017, 09:18 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ May 29 2017, 09:04 AM)
ya i noticed it will put some app to sleep but i din open any app so..not sure how the phone learn itself  hmm.gif
It took me more than 2 weeks to settle down for better battery life.

My biggest problem last time is overnight drain, reset my phone more than 3 times oledi but still the same, in the end I just give up & let it be. Who knows it turns green now. doh.gif

Also, I installed lotsa China apps which like to autostart in background so my battery life is tough for most of the phones. Not many phones can control those apps effectively without compromise battery life, at least now S8 get my respect.
mhhee
post May 29 2017, 05:40 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 29 2017, 05:33 PM)
I want to uninstall it as System App and install it from the PlayStore. The Facebook app preinstalled is weird and wonky. I have the app on homescreen and when I exit using back key the homescreen wallpaper will zoom in and out. Notification also like didn't receive on time.  bangwall.gif
No diff. Eventually ur FB will be updated in Play Store into latest version when there is an upgrade.

May be u can try disable it then restore to factory version, then do update again via Play Store see whether it can fixed ur issue or else?
mhhee
post May 29 2017, 06:46 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ May 29 2017, 05:46 PM)
try setting ur wallpaper at home screen without motion-effect
QUOTE(ace-user @ May 29 2017, 05:54 PM)
What do you mean by motion effect? How to disable it?
Tested just now. Samsung default theme issue, change to other themes no such issue.

mhhee
post May 29 2017, 07:28 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 29 2017, 07:16 PM)
Mind sharing what theme u tried? I'm not using stock theme but problem still there.
This one. I just tested between default theme & this.

mhhee
post May 30 2017, 08:29 PM

1,310 posts

Samsung Malaysia : Give less warranty bising, give more warranty also bising... What do u want?
mhhee
post May 30 2017, 09:38 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 30 2017, 08:49 PM)
no la, i have no issues with it. Just dont like it when such thing occurs.

regardless, its still 1 year and 2 weeks the warranty period that they gave. 29-04-2017 to 12-05-2017 is still 1 year 2 weeks, same as 04-05-2017 to 17-05-2017, 1 year and 2 weeks.

The issue that I raised up here was never regarding the 1 year and 2 weeks period, like all of you as long as its 1 year as stated in B&W im fine.

Now where my issue is, is why did they have to backtrack the date 5 days earlier. The reason of "shipping to our dealer", what kind of reason is that. Never have I purchased an item that the warranty activates even before you unbox the product that you're purchasing.
I just checked mine on mySamsung & CyberService, still the same. U mean using SMS e-warranty is 5 days earlier compared to last time? Haha... So which warranty system we should follow then?

SMS? mySamsung? Or CyberService?

CS can give u whatever reason based on their mood so called SOP,, truly can't blame them at all. No matter what, just keep our invoice & argue with SC if anything wrong. I never believed what CS said in 100% becoz sometimes they dun even know what're they talking about.

mhhee
post May 30 2017, 09:41 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(ttztorc @ May 30 2017, 08:51 PM)
My notification LED has died. Has anyone else experienced the same?
Dead by itself or after installed Light Flow? XDA lotsa ppl kena... Some becoz of LED control app but some just dead by itself.

mhhee
post May 30 2017, 09:59 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(ttztorc @ May 30 2017, 09:49 PM)
Dead by itself. It was working fine up till around 5pm.

I don't use any LED light managers or colour changers.
Congrat. U got new phone again. 😅

Just kidding, no choice but have to send to SC. I believe u oledi did whatever u can to test out.
mhhee
post May 31 2017, 01:16 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 31 2017, 01:10 PM)
Dropping 1% every 5 mins is fine to u I guess? I'm only posting here to see if anyone here have any suggestions for my problem.

I've messed with a few settings in the connections setting and battery seems to be better.
Install GSAM battery monitor to trace down ur usage, simple as that. Never failed me in tracing my battery standby drain.

My primary battery standby drain due to bad telco (UMobile) reception. doh.gif

Remember to to enable battery stat access for it.
mhhee
post May 31 2017, 01:32 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 31 2017, 01:24 PM)
Ya I've installed gsam but no root. Go back home use adb to grant access.
Ya I think poor reception could be one of the problems. But the native battery section in the settings app can't view sad.gif
That's why u need GSAM phone signal graph to trace on the telco signal. App battery drain is monitoring & controll by Samsung App power monitor so it won't make big impact.

Poor reception is not minor problem, it could drain ur battery faster than u can imagine compared to apps. sweat.gif
mhhee
post May 31 2017, 03:08 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 31 2017, 02:28 PM)
UMobile really hopeless. They are increasing their subscriber base but not upgrading their network infrastructure.  doh.gif
Yup. Not sure why, last time I can talk clearly while sitting my chair. Now have to find place near windows to get better reception. doh.gif Ppl getting improve but this fellow backward...

mhhee
post Jun 1 2017, 12:14 PM

1,310 posts

Why suddenly became Telco thread oledi? doh.gif
mhhee
post Jun 1 2017, 02:23 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Jun 1 2017, 02:18 PM)
it depends on the freebies.
Like mine I manage to sell of my freebies for around 400.

so my phone cost is rm29xx, and I get to use it even before official launch..

Rm29xx and now gonna 1 month since launch, the price now is around rm27xx-rm29xx but it doesnt come with the samsung protection plus plan.. if you minus the protection plan price from my cost, means its rm 26xx only...

So preorder deal is still the best, in my case.
lol. U have repeated this many times. notworthy.gif
mhhee
post Jun 2 2017, 11:13 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jun 2 2017, 11:00 AM)
Actually I check a few person on XDA also complaint about standby time. I'm normally not that particular about battery, but maybe cause I have AOD turned on so I can keep seeing the battery decreasing.

I used smart switch to transfer from iPhone 7 Plus when I set up my new S8+, so that might cause some problem. Will reset the phone tonight or tomorrow.
After enabled battery stat still can't figure which section drain ur battery? Placebo effect? I found AOD in S8 is draining more compared to S7E & Note7 that I have used before.

If 2%/H still consider OK for AOD on in standby mode.

Reset ur phone sure help at first, but after u setup & install all the apps that u wanted then same scenario came back. I tried this 3 times until I give up & let it be. Who knows it learns to control well now... doh.gif

Also, u can also try to reset battery gauge using dialer on code *#0228#, see whether it helps or else?
mhhee
post Jun 2 2017, 04:46 PM

1,310 posts

Anybody using Google Photo app can help me one thing? I just need to clarify on this, is ur Google Photo app have profile photo or blank photo like below?

mhhee
post Jun 2 2017, 07:39 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(jegley23 @ Jun 2 2017, 04:57 PM)
mine got photo
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 2 2017, 07:15 PM)
Got photo, depends on you set it or not.
Hmm... I tried with other account also same. Reinstalled many times oledi. All other Google apps in my phone has my profile photo but only Google Photo is blank. Even the background is synced but not profile photo.

I tried in my Mate 9 & Xiaomi Mipad no issue. Wondering what's wrong.

This post has been edited by mhhee: Jun 2 2017, 07:40 PM

0.2164sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:41 PM