Sending my phone for 1 to 1 exchange at The Mines Samsung CS.
Very helpful malay guy.
Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ Discussion Thread V6, Infinity Display - Boundaries Removed
May 26 2017, 05:06 PM
240 posts Joined: Sep 2016 |
Sending my phone for 1 to 1 exchange at The Mines Samsung CS.
Very helpful malay guy. |
May 26 2017, 05:16 PM
May 26 2017, 06:55 PM
May 26 2017, 10:32 PM
Mobile Outfitters told me no more discount for clear coat.
May 26 2017, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 26 2017, 10:50 PM) kesian me, kena bash in v3 and v4 because people didn't believe when I said they will accept 1 to 1 exchange if you are unhappy with your phone, no questions asked. Thanks for the heads up bro, i will check properly.But now more and more people have posted that they have managed to get 1 to 1 exchange.. Within 3 days of purchase, can do 1 to 1 at the Store you bought it from itself. After 3 days, you can do 1 to 1 at Service Center. Am happy for everyone who manage to claim 1 to 1 exchange. Together we can enjoy our phone that we paid so much for. EDIT: btw the only concern for doing 1 to 1 at SC is they may be giving you refurbished units and not brand new sealed units, because of the amount of people going back to SC to do 1 to 1 exchange.. So its best if you check your phone properly at the shop you bought it from and if any issues arises, request for an exchange there and then itself. I did ask the one who attended me, he said brand new unit as replacement but I'll make sure to check the seal on the box, the seal is the one i should be looking at right? Or is there anything else? |
May 26 2017, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 26 2017, 11:15 PM) yes the seal is an indicator, but its best if they cut the seal in front of you. I am sending my phone in on Sunday and it will take maximum 2 weeks or less.How did the exchange process go? Mind to share more info.. Like when u return the phone and they check, then when they give green light for exchange, they brought out a new box? Did they cut the seal in front of you? Or was it already opened when they bring it to you? I am required to bring everything that is included in the phone box and receipt then he will process the 1 to 1 exchange for me. I will specifically tell him not to cut the seal until i am there and see it with my own eyes. EDIT: Today he used checkered box to check the red tint and confirmed then GPS issue he said technicians can't do GPS repairs so he offered me 1 to 1 exchange. This post has been edited by Nick Zelos: May 26 2017, 11:22 PM |
May 26 2017, 11:27 PM
May 27 2017, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(SirNewbee @ May 26 2017, 11:34 PM) I have insider info that most of the S8 or S8+ the SC have are "refurbished" units. They will check the phone for any problems, then do some software fixes, if still not solved then only they change the problematic hardware component. Usually what's the value at for brand new phone's *#15987# function? Mine was at redish -6, PO unit.Once changed hardware, they will do the necessary checks like water test, etc.. If all pass as well, then they will repackage the phone. Im guessing this means putting on new stickers for front screen and back glass of the phone and also sealing back the box with new tamper-proof stickers. But this "refurbish" is not as bad like iPhone refurbish unit you get because most or basically all the S8/S8+ sets are still very brand new, and the volume of people coming in to exchange is quite a lot. So no way to truly 100% tell if your phone is "refurbished" or brand new from factory as the tamper seals on the box and plastic films on the phones can be replaced.. Just think for a moment, how and why you think different phones when unboxed have different values set in them in the *#15987# function then? QUOTE(angel-girl @ May 26 2017, 11:35 PM) I think that was when they purchase and exchange on the spot. |
May 27 2017, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 27 2017, 12:24 AM) its random I believe, have unboxed sets with 0, -2, and -4. Never come across any -6 (maximum) though.. Ah icic.That is pre-update values. After software update the values changed to 0, -3, -6 and -9 (maximum) Regarding the 'refurbished' units, how to differentiate whether its new or not? |
May 27 2017, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(Max2006 @ May 27 2017, 12:43 AM) Don't think there's a way to differentiate. But you can try to use this app to check the status. It will tell you if your unit is refurbished. Ahh, cool. Better than nothing, thanks man.https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...guyen.phoneinfo QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 27 2017, 12:46 AM) that one i have no idea, i dont think you can differentiate unless you are the technician working in Samsung SC. Doubt front desk staffs even know as well as they just pick a box from storage.. Righto, will check thoroughly. Gonna DL the app as stated above.Just check your new phone after done exchange. QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 27 2017, 12:49 AM) wonder if that app would still be useful if its Samsung themselves configuring it? Maybe and maybe not, difficult to tell.I would think Samsung have the tools to reset everything right hmm |
May 27 2017, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(haziqmck7 @ May 27 2017, 04:36 AM) I think u can check ur fon is new ir not under setfing. About phone. N status. Just check for the up time. If the counter really start from zero. Or while turn on a few second pass. Then its new. Thanks for the info mate.I assume switching off the phone, the time counter still runs or it resets? |
May 27 2017, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(haziqmck7 @ May 27 2017, 12:01 PM) That one im not so sure. But if really new. Then the counter should start from zero. Like my set last time. Still in second before turn into minutes. Kk.The app suggested in 1-2 pages before should help as well. But ya, i will just the check the phone body and necessary functions etc etc, that will do. This post has been edited by Nick Zelos: May 27 2017, 12:11 PM |
May 27 2017, 06:19 PM
May 27 2017, 07:50 PM
Which mobile outfitters branch u guys go to for clear coat?
May 27 2017, 08:32 PM
May 27 2017, 09:00 PM
May 27 2017, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 27 2017, 09:11 PM) I did mine at Sunway Pyramid branch too, staff service quite good but they are currently out of clear coats at both branches and only have the matte ones, clear coat stocks are estimated to arrive next week according to them. QUOTE(eddmecha @ May 27 2017, 09:14 PM) Imo pyramid far better,bcoz i experience many times went to pavillion there 1 guy always being sarcastic towards customer's. Alright, thanks guys! I'll visit sunway branch. |
May 27 2017, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(t3n @ May 27 2017, 09:34 PM) Same here, -6.QUOTE(t3n @ May 27 2017, 09:41 PM) Yesterday CS showed me checkered box function to check for red tint but i dunno what's the code. |
May 27 2017, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(Velocity @ May 27 2017, 10:33 PM) Looks alright but picture doesn't help much for us to tell haha. |
May 27 2017, 11:17 PM
| Change to: | 0.0180sec