Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ Discussion Thread V6, Infinity Display - Boundaries Removed

attw
post May 31 2017, 11:12 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ May 31 2017, 10:57 AM)
Price drop like a rock. Now its a good time to buy 2nd hand .
Which could explain why Samsung had the audacity to put a retail price of 2,999 for the Tab S3, ha ha.
attw
post May 31 2017, 11:39 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 31 2017, 11:13 AM)
I'm using the S8+. I'm staying in a condo, and I unplug from charger before I get out of home, so it's fully charged 100%. By the time i reach condo carpark, already drop to 99%. By the time I reach office which is half hour away, 98%. Simply not acceptable. I'll let it settle for few more days, today ady 4th day using.
That's really strange. It's like a 1% drop in standby in less than 5 minutes? Mine doesn't drop that much and it's a regular S8 and not even an S8+.
attw
post May 31 2017, 11:54 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 31 2017, 11:40 AM)
but during that time... i already felt note 2 note 3 is very good already... in fact better than the iphones thousand miles in term of flexibility of usage and the pricing... and the battery is quite impressive for a smart phone for that time....
Note 3 was good in the beginning. 6 months down the road I had all sorts of problems with it. Battery drain, software issues, Overheating, etc. It was a half-baked product then, but I certainly would not call any Android flagship a half-baked product now. The ecosystem is just a matter of individual preference.
attw
post May 31 2017, 11:59 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(haziqmck7 @ May 31 2017, 11:41 AM)
Ya. Imagine one of them ask for trade their 7plus with my s8plus. Then i need to topup 2.5k. What the....talk of over valued
Your listing drew my interest bro, I would have considered had I not gotten myself an S8 already smile.gif
Still not sold?

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 31 2017, 11:36 AM)
Yes, non believers especially Iphone fanboys would never believe how far android has come since their note 2 note 3 times.  laugh.gif
Ya, everyone should really have both iOS and Android devices and keep a balanced view of both, ha ha...
attw
post May 31 2017, 12:01 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 31 2017, 11:58 AM)
Ya, doze like didn't kick it. I'll use gsam battery to monitor app usage.
Ok. Could be some rogue app then. Do give us an update later.
attw
post May 31 2017, 12:03 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(t3n @ May 31 2017, 12:01 PM)
I am waiting for oneplus 5.. then i will trade off my s8 for that... rclxm9.gif
I was waiting for the Tab S3 but after learning of the official RRP price yesterday I nearly puked. Ha ha...

If only Microsoft incorporated a 4G sim slot into a Surface Pro...
attw
post May 31 2017, 12:09 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(haziqmck7 @ May 31 2017, 12:05 PM)
Learnt from s8 price. Haha. Hold a week or two. Then price sure drop. Must keep patient in check. Haha
No, not going to, probably wait for the next Note instead. Samsung gotten greedy, ha ha...
attw
post May 31 2017, 05:36 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(advgamer @ May 31 2017, 02:15 PM)
coming Sep 2017 my Note 3 will celebrate 4 years old, still remember i bought this units during preorder period.
note 3 is my only daily drive phone since unbox until today.
i play COC and CR, gaming time would varies from few minute to 1-2 hour. not facing any issue so far.
change 2 times new battery throughout the usage, now is thinking of change the 3rd times.

currently my N3 running custom N7 port MM rom and add on the wireless charging receiver.
it still manage to hander latest software and TW MM firmware smoothly with acceptable speed no lag.
N7 Spen feature with N3 pen sensitivity.
(due to old hardware limitation, is not possible to behave as fast as latest gadget)

N3 is design with wireless charging port ready. with the receiver it can preform with avg. 680mA wireless charging current.(just have fun in terms of tech, not really practical in terms of daily use. too slow for 3200mAh capacity battery)
Reception of Maxis 4G band 3 and 7 serve enough fast data speed, extendable memory card slot available too for 2016p video shooting. 

For me, i think Samsung are design in a lot of latest tech compatible module/feature in their flagship product which available in market whenever they launch the phone. at least it can ensure flagship phone to survive several year in fast moving HP industry. i believe my wife phone S7E and this year S8/+ also the same good design product from Samsung.

i own ipad and ipod as well, not purely Samboy/fan hehe.
Wow, good for you bro. Better you than me smile.gif
attw
post May 31 2017, 05:41 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 31 2017, 05:23 PM)
Greenify is good for older android versions. Current Nougat has proper and efficient ram and battery management already.
Agree on this. I'm pretty impressed with the S8 thus far compared to the Note 5, which was my last Samsung device. Battery management is better. Not spectacular, but better.
attw
post Jun 1 2017, 08:50 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(haziqmck7 @ Jun 1 2017, 12:51 AM)
Qoo10 just release 500 ringgit coupon. Planning to buy one. But torn between doughnut guy or itronic. Itronic cheaper
At this rate, I seriously wonder who would pre-order the next Samsung flagship if no discounts were offered.
attw
post Jun 1 2017, 09:27 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 1 2017, 09:16 AM)
Online purchase is a risk and not everyone do online purchase.
True Bro, but the online prices are affecting the phone's value in the overall market. So many good deals in our Garage Sale smile.gif
attw
post Jun 1 2017, 09:39 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jun 1 2017, 09:31 AM)
the price in garage sale literally makes me sweat.
I know right? Saw a S8+ listed at 2,950.

Just a month after launch.

That's pretty incredible.
attw
post Jun 1 2017, 09:59 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mchjkl @ Jun 1 2017, 09:48 AM)
Seriously? S8+ for rm2950? New or used?
Used one, of course smile.gif
attw
post Jun 1 2017, 03:10 PM

32,468 posts

Say, anyone has delayed Whatsapp notifications on their S8?
attw
post Jun 1 2017, 06:14 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Jun 1 2017, 03:13 PM)
i saw someone complained about it before just few pages back. havent experience any delay myself.

is it on the phone only>? or when you use whatsapp web?
It's happening on the app itself. Only get the notifications when I launch the app. Hmmm...
attw
post Jun 1 2017, 06:17 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ Jun 1 2017, 03:53 PM)
i think it's network issue
does it say 'whatsapp may have new message" or something like that?
had it before on my note3
Nope. Doesn't say anything. Just no notifications until I launch the app. Very strange. Just noticed this happening the past two days. Am on maxis.
attw
post Jun 2 2017, 08:05 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(xchris @ Jun 2 2017, 07:42 AM)
guys, I am thinking of either getting a S8 or Mate 9 . What worries me about the S8 is the battery life. How is the battery life of the S8 with FB , whatsapps on the whole day but no gaming? Can it last 6.30-11pm?
Should be able to. Mine does.
attw
post Jun 2 2017, 08:10 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(yayiyu99 @ Jun 2 2017, 07:50 AM)
Very beautiful. No wonder many S8 owners want to exchange their phone with this beast.
I wouldn't exactly call it beautiful, but logically it represents better value at 3,099 with 6GB RAM and 128GB storage. That said, if you are one of those who bought the S8 at 2,7xx, then the S8 is a better buy smile.gif

Two things that holds me back from buying HTC: -

1. After-sales service sucks (from my personal experience).
2. Difficult to find 3rd party accessories.
attw
post Jun 2 2017, 10:10 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jun 2 2017, 08:27 AM)
Not really if u say spec u can get one plus 3t for just merely 2k. Why pay till 3k.
Yes I remember the hassle I need go to hello station to exchange one old HTC because phone lag so much and m8 wanna change the casing dot matrix accessories all official store no more

For a flat screen and shiny back and thick bezel nah not worth 3k
In all honesty a flat screen is probably easier to manage in terms of protection and casing, ha ha. And looks are fairly subjective, to each his own smile.gif

I'm not into those China brands, so One Plus 3T is not a consideration for me.
attw
post Jun 4 2017, 10:32 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jun 4 2017, 12:57 AM)
Yeah, something must have farked up my battery during the first setup. Maybe because I use smart switch to transfer files and apps from my iPhone.
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 4 2017, 01:11 AM)
Never ever do apps transfer or backup from others phone, even though it can but it never did great. I always start as new. Only restore from backup if it is came from same model phone.
Ya I also experienced this before. So now I only trust iTunes to restore an older phone data to a new phone. For all my Android devices I always set up as new.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0825sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:19 PM