6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ Discussion Thread V6, Infinity Display - Boundaries Removed

ace-user
post May 29 2017, 03:57 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 29 2017, 03:33 PM)
yours still new
give some time.. charge few cycle..
then should be stable already tongue.gif
I surely hope so! But luckily it charge quite fast.
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 03:57 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(maviko @ May 29 2017, 03:18 PM)
my 3 week old S8+ admitted to service center liao.  cry.gif

The phone suddenly is unable to connect to the telco network to make/receive calls - everything else works fine, wifi, gps, apps, no red tint issue.

Initially thought was a faulty SIM card, so got it replaced by DiGi, but the same issue persists.

Brought to the service center, they checked and confirm its a hardware fault. The manager offered a 1-1 device replacement under warranty.
got the new replacement on the spot?
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 05:27 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

Hey guys, does ur unit come with Facebook preinstalled? I can't uninstall my Facebook app.
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 05:33 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 29 2017, 05:30 PM)
You can choose to disable it instead.
I want to uninstall it as System App and install it from the PlayStore. The Facebook app preinstalled is weird and wonky. I have the app on homescreen and when I exit using back key the homescreen wallpaper will zoom in and out. Notification also like didn't receive on time. bangwall.gif
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 05:42 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ May 29 2017, 05:40 PM)
No diff. Eventually ur FB will be updated in Play Store into latest version when there is an upgrade.

May be u can try disable it then restore to factory version, then do update again via Play Store see whether it can fixed ur issue or else?
tried already, still having issues. You try adding your Facebook to ur homescreen. Use the app, and then hit the back button. Your homescreen wallpaper will zoom in and out in half a second. Very weird.
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 05:54 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ May 29 2017, 05:46 PM)
try setting ur wallpaper at home screen without motion-effect
What do you mean by motion effect? How to disable it?

ace-user
post May 29 2017, 06:00 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ May 29 2017, 05:52 PM)
I disabled Facebook with package disabler pro n replace it wth Swipe for Facebook app. This app looks similar to Facebook. It loads faster and reportedly less power hungry. I use it in all my Androids.
I can't find it on PlayStore, have to use laptop to initiate the download. Once download can't login, the app will force close bangwall.gif
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 06:19 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(maviko @ May 29 2017, 04:03 PM)
Well, initially they were reluctant for an exchange, saying it can be fixed and estimated to take around 2 weeks. I did not agree and had to talk nicely to them and negotiate.

In the service center, I observed there are also a number of s8 users with various other issues.

This experience opens up the perspective and possibility to me that the new phone sold by certain resellers with an attractive low price below Samsung's RRP could be refurbished units which was returned.

My phone condition is flawless and can easily passed off as a new set once its repackaged.
which service centre u went?
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 06:20 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 29 2017, 04:54 PM)
Here's my S8 at exactly 1 hour 51 minutes SOT as well Bro, which is why I think your S8+ should be doing better.

Edit: Turned off charger at 11pm last night, then max battery saving mode till 6am this morning.
[attachmentid=8858177]

[attachmentid=8858178]
do u have AOD on? what are ur settings?
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 07:16 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ May 29 2017, 06:46 PM)
Tested just now. Samsung default theme issue, change to other themes no such issue.
Mind sharing what theme u tried? I'm not using stock theme but problem still there.
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 07:16 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ May 29 2017, 06:49 PM)
how fast does it drain? mind share ur batt consumption table? can see after a few charge does it change?
Will update again in a few days. Let me try out first.
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 09:10 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

My bad.

This post has been edited by ace-user: May 29 2017, 09:14 PM
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 09:55 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

Hey guys, any option to raise to wake or double tap to wake the screen?
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 09:59 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 29 2017, 09:56 PM)
AOD?
Except for AOD, cuz AOD still consumes a bit of battery. Want to save as much juice as possible haha
ace-user
post May 29 2017, 10:21 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(pendekar7 @ May 29 2017, 10:01 PM)
just press bottom screen with a bit pressure to wake up.
Thanks for the tip!
ace-user
post May 30 2017, 09:18 AM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 30 2017, 09:03 AM)
If you buy from Samsung preorder, then give them a call. My cousin who bought from S7e preorder also said the certificate took about a month to arrive.

If you buy from Lazada or 11street, you can call Bintang Maju and give them your email. I already received the certificate from them.
I bought from a forumer a sealed preorder unit with the screen warranty and also extra one year warranty. Need to call Samsung oso?
ace-user
post May 30 2017, 05:35 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

Battery life not really very good. S8+, 3rd day using ady.

ace-user
post May 30 2017, 06:46 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ May 30 2017, 06:32 PM)
4 hours + not good on screen? U want how long 10 hours?
I don't game or use intensive apps, I expect a lot more to be honest. Saw a lot of people can get 6-7 hours SOT. Mine just half of that. Standby time not that good oso.
ace-user
post May 30 2017, 07:08 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ May 30 2017, 06:48 PM)
It depends on individual settings.

Brightness? Sleep app?
Auto brightness, GPS on battery saving, AOD on, data and WiFi half half, sync on, a lot of useless features such as edge lighting turned off. I was expecting a lot more cuz exynos should be battery friendly. But that's not the case atm.
ace-user
post May 31 2017, 09:27 AM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ May 30 2017, 08:10 PM)
What do you expect actually. Just curious.hehe.
Assuming 2hrs 45 mins on with 50% left. By the time reach 0%, 5.5hrs SOT.
If 100% on wifi perhaps average or not that good, if with current state mixture with 4G like 30-40% wifi, balance on 4G consider pretty good.
QUOTE(angel-girl @ May 30 2017, 08:27 PM)
AOD drains battery.  smile.gif
QUOTE(eddmecha @ May 30 2017, 07:27 PM)
Actually ur phone still haven't learn your usage pattern and if u didn't touch the optimisation setting ur phone will start to put ur less active apps to sleep as default is 3 days.btw like velocity said,it depends on users,u can never achieve 6 hours sot if you don't stare at your phone for 6hours a day.unless ur work is depending on ur phone then u might get ur "expectation" result.just use and enjoy ur phone to its max instead of scare of batt drainage,the phone also charges twice as fast.
QUOTE(haziqmck7 @ May 30 2017, 08:08 PM)
Bos. If u just leave the phone ideal then hard to achieve 5 to 6 sot. Try play game or you tubing. For sure achieve..just relax and enjoy your phone. Haha.
My point is that the standby is really poor. I'm can leave my phone for a while not touching it and it drains quite quickly, hence less battery to get better SOT. I was expecting better standby time given Samsung even have their own battery optimisation and nougat got doze feature but still the standby time is terrible.
I recalibrated my battery yesterday by draining it to 0 and recharge back to full. Will see how it goes.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:06 AM