Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ Discussion Thread V6, Infinity Display - Boundaries Removed

TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 12:20 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(t3n @ May 31 2017, 12:12 PM)
what improvement u want? edge screen? haha at least they have super quick charge and dual camera for now.. most importantly, finger print sensor still in front...
Ip68 waterproofing and a better screen with smaller bezels like the S8.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: May 31 2017, 12:22 PM
TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 02:28 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ May 31 2017, 01:16 PM)
Install GSAM battery monitor to trace down ur usage, simple as that. Never failed me in tracing my battery standby drain.

My primary battery standby drain due to bad telco (UMobile) reception.  doh.gif

Remember to to enable battery stat access for it.
UMobile really hopeless. They are increasing their subscriber base but not upgrading their network infrastructure. doh.gif

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 31 2017, 01:18 PM)
Guys chill out and enjoy some black and white homescreen instead.

Nice. Saves on battery usage too.
TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 03:11 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ May 31 2017, 03:08 PM)
Yup. Not sure why, last time I can talk clearly while sitting my chair. Now have to find place near windows to get better reception.  doh.gif Ppl getting improve but this fellow backward...
Greedy operators lor.. apa lagi?
TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 03:40 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(t3n @ May 31 2017, 03:29 PM)
Anyone using Greenify?
No need for it. Android's own battery management is good enough. These kind of app actually utilizes your ram while running quietly in the background.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: May 31 2017, 03:41 PM
TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 05:23 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(H4CK3R @ May 31 2017, 04:14 PM)
It doesnt slow down your phone or anything although its utilizes your ram. What for is ram if youre not using it. Better to have one good app that use maybe 1% of ram to monitor n manage unused background app than having 10-20 apps running without it.
Greenify is good for older android versions. Current Nougat has proper and efficient ram and battery management already.
TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 06:20 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 31 2017, 06:06 PM)
Still different as iPhone, iPhone mute is real awesome mute everything included gaming. I very miss the mute button where mute all gaming sound in iPhone.
Oneplus 3 Alert slider then.... tongue.gif
TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 06:31 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 31 2017, 06:23 PM)
Not interesting with OnePlus phone. rclxs0.gif

By the way you sure it also mute the gaming sound or just normal mute like others Android phone with physical button only.

I no need physical mute button but I prefer a way one click to mute all include all gaming sound.
There are 3 different level of mutes that could be customized according to your needs. Interested now? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: May 31 2017, 06:32 PM
TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 10:12 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 31 2017, 06:50 PM)
Ohhh! Still not because no edge to edge display. rclxs0.gif
Not everyone is in favour of the edge screen. nod.gif But yeah, Oneplus does lack in the LED and display department.
TOMEI-R
post May 31 2017, 11:14 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 31 2017, 11:04 PM)
That assessment for UMobile hahaha. I personally never tried their service because I have enough friends around me complaining about them.
Only one thing you cant fault about UMobile is their pricing.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: May 31 2017, 11:20 PM
TOMEI-R
post Jun 4 2017, 02:03 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Galaxy S8 trolling Apple at its best at Apple Store Singapore, Orchard. tongue.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jun 4 2017, 02:04 PM

TOMEI-R
post Jun 5 2017, 05:43 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(hersa_wex @ Jun 5 2017, 04:03 PM)
Question: How much RAM is S8+ has for MY local Set? How to check?
Your S8+ has only 4GB Ram in it.
TOMEI-R
post Jun 6 2017, 08:26 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(sleepz @ Jun 5 2017, 08:51 PM)
i think 4G consume more battery power than wifi  hmm.gif
SOT on wifi 6 hours + , SOT on 4G 4 hours + only  hmm.gif
Yes, especially when you are in an area with bad celular coverage.

QUOTE(ivanchingkl @ Jun 5 2017, 10:41 PM)
Want to ask, our fast charging cable is 2.4A or 3A?
I bought a 2.4A cable and when I plug with original charger it does support quick charge and the charging time exactly the same as per original cable
You have to use back the original cable to get fast charging. Sub standard cables or inferior cables will affect charging times quite significantly.
TOMEI-R
post Jun 7 2017, 04:10 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(aral3005 @ Jun 7 2017, 04:04 PM)
S8 for normal people, 'enough'
S8+ for tamak people

Hope this helps
A lot of people will be offended by your statement. You would might want to 'rephrase' that.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jun 7 2017, 04:13 PM
TOMEI-R
post Jun 7 2017, 04:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(aral3005 @ Jun 7 2017, 04:19 PM)
Tamak for bigger battery, bigger screen

U can put it as craving

But beware

Ur tamak will attract people with bigger ego, bigger enemy, other bigger phones to compare with urs
Hahah... I'm already used to that already.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jun 7 2017, 04:42 PM
TOMEI-R
post Jun 8 2017, 04:43 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(mchjkl @ Jun 8 2017, 12:51 PM)
Anyone experience mobile network connectivity issues? My maxis should get 4g signal all the time. Since using samsung s8+ The signal would drop to h/h+ sometimes and very slow to switch back to 4g. Restarting the phone will immediately get 4g signal back. Any idea how to fix this?
I had always felt the signal reception of this phone is a bit weaker than previous gens of Galaxy's.

QUOTE(powerangah @ Jun 8 2017, 12:58 PM)
Yeah, I'm getting massive standby drain even after reset, do you think the service centre will entertain battery exchange?
Mine still does, occasionally. Have you tried a hard reset? I would suppose, if you hard reset without restoring the apps and still the phone drains like mad, you could send it back for RMA. But then again, how to prove because we cant be using the phone without restoring the apps. Overnight drains could be as bad as 10% for me, but with wifi on searching for access points.
TOMEI-R
post Jun 12 2017, 12:15 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(orangegurl @ Jun 12 2017, 11:59 AM)
well s8 design is amazing, but i think xzp is more focus on the hardware inside the phone  brows.gif
XZP? What overall improvements did it bring ? hmm.gif
TOMEI-R
post Jun 14 2017, 04:32 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(t3n @ Jun 14 2017, 02:06 PM)
Help colleague buy s8+ from Lazada.. the phone come with unseal box but everything fine here, screen no red tinted or dead pixel.. But warranty was registered 2 days earlier than my order date...

Is there any other fishy things i miss?
Nothing to worry about actually. Just that you got an "opened' box instead of a sealed one. Why not try to return and ask for a sealed one?
TOMEI-R
post Jun 14 2017, 10:38 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Jun 14 2017, 09:50 PM)
I think it is Maxis network problem with Google Play updates. When I am on wifi, no issue updating the apps but can see that the updates are very slow but at least it updates.

Anyone on Maxis having same issue?
Seems like even someone with a OPO3T over at the OPO3 thread had the same problem with Maxis. I would say now most likely it is a network issue with the said network provider. He settled the issue by connecting to a VPN first.
TOMEI-R
post Jun 15 2017, 10:31 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(pohsze @ Jun 15 2017, 10:08 AM)
after using less than a month of s8, its listed for sale, for those interested kindly check this WTS s8 out
QUOTE(attw @ Jun 15 2017, 10:10 AM)
Ha ha... this ad looks so familiar though biggrin.gif
Why not have a price war? Easier to sell ma. tongue.gif
TOMEI-R
post Jun 16 2017, 09:45 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 15 2017, 10:20 PM)
Since no update, I just finish spamming the Samsung Malaysia Facebook site.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Mine updated already loo... whistling.gif tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0821sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:27 AM