Photography DIY 12% and 18% gray card, Will cost you 1-2 4X6 print

TSAlamakLor
post Mar 21 2007, 02:46 PM, updated 19y ago

9,856 posts

White card doesn't work too well for me, my pictures still carry a small amount of yellow tint. Didn't wanna waste $$ on buying grey card so I thought maybe I could do this:

1) launch photoshop
2) create a new layer
3) click on the color picker and choose CMYK 12% or 18%
4) get the picture developed in a matt photo paper

viola, your gray card is done, and will cost you no more than a 4X6 print...of course unless you decide to print it at larger format laugh.gif now hopefully the photolab's machines comply with ANSI standard.

I haven't done this, but will be doing it....still looking for a reliable photolab here.
R a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 21 2007, 03:55 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Mar 21 2007, 02:46 PM)
White card doesn't work too well for me, my pictures still carry a small amount of yellow tint. Didn't wanna waste $$ on buying grey card so I thought maybe I could do this:

1) launch photoshop
2) create a new layer
3) click on the color picker and choose CMYK 12% or 18%
4) get the picture developed in a matt photo paper

viola, your gray card is done, and will cost you no more than a 4X6 print...of course unless you decide to print it at larger format laugh.gif now hopefully the photolab's machines comply with ANSI standard.

I haven't done this, but will be doing it....still looking for a reliable photolab here.

haha that's a good idea! biggrin.gif thanks for it! nod.gif

Mavik
post Mar 21 2007, 04:02 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I tried that before last time when I was working with JVC on video cameras.

A few considerations when making DIY grey cards.
When printing on matt paper, just note that the grey cards/professional charts you buy have a certain reflection rate.

Remember that certain paint can absorb light. Also ensure that the reflection rate is at a 90degree angle so that means when printing on the paper/cardboard the paint has to be sufficiently level.

Next item to consider when using photoshop, make sure that photoshop is calibrated to the printer you are going to the video studio to print at.
HenryLow
post Mar 21 2007, 04:33 PM

liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
4,336 posts

you need WhiBal...

This post has been edited by HenryLow: Mar 21 2007, 04:34 PM
TSAlamakLor
post Mar 22 2007, 02:41 AM

9,856 posts

What you see on photoshop doesn't matter at all because you are not arbitrarily picking a grey color depending on your monitor, room lighting, and etc (just load up sRGB color profile in photoshop). Setting the CMYK at the respective % will give you precisely the % of grey regardless of what you see on your monitor. The most important part is, of course like I mentioned, the photolab better have their machines calibrated according to ANSI standard, if they do, you'd get the the % of gray you set in photoshop. You can always make a few prints from different shops and see if they come up pretty much the same. And also, the photopaper quality do matter. Some of the shops here use some really crappy Kodak photo paper, they are so thin that you can see through the photo...

But anyway, the precise % is not really important, after all, some argue that camera manufacturers don't really use 18% gray to tune the meters.

EDIT: oh btw, this is assuming that you are developing the photo at a photolab, I thought that was very apparent, but if you wanna print them at home, you do need to calibrate the printer properly.

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Mar 22 2007, 03:11 AM
Mavik
post Mar 22 2007, 02:58 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

But still the paper being printed on, we can't just use any photo paper. No matter what kind of % setting which we can set in Photoshop, once printed using varying ink and photopaper, the whole effect would be off already.

But if I am not wrong, a Kodak grey card doesn't cost that much either. I think it was in the region of RM38.
vincent_audio
post Mar 22 2007, 09:13 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 22 2007, 02:58 PM)
But still the paper being printed on, we can't just use any photo paper. No matter what kind of % setting which we can set in Photoshop, once printed using varying ink and photopaper, the whole effect would be off already.

But if I am not wrong, a Kodak grey card doesn't cost that much either. I think it was in the region of RM38.
i agree, don't expect wat u see on the monitor is wat you will get on the paper. It hardly turn out to be the same. Something around 90% near is the best the printer can do. You'll spend more time tweaking it.

And printed on an A4 and an A1 sometimes look different mainly due to the larger % of reflection/absorb on larger paper and the type of paper used.

0.0166sec    1.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:20 AM