TV Shows American Gods (2017), Neil Gaiman Babe!!!!

TSMov_freak
post May 24 2017, 12:01 AM, updated 7y ago

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

American Gods is an American television series based on the novel of the same name, written by Neil Gaiman and originally published in 2001. The television series was developed by Bryan Fuller and Michael Green for the premium cable network Starz. Fuller and Green are the showrunners for the series. Gaiman serves as an executive producer along with Fuller, Green, Craig Cegielski, Stefanie Berk, and Thom Beers. The first episode premiered on the Starz network and through their streaming application on April 30, 2017. In May 2017, the series was renewed for a second season.

Premise

The series focuses on Shadow Moon (Ricky Whittle), a man serving three years in prison. With only days remaining in his sentence, Shadow is given an unexpected early release after his beloved wife Laura is killed. Taking a plane back home to her funeral, Shadow finds himself next to a man named Wednesday (Ian McShane), who offers Shadow a job. Wednesday appears to be nothing but a con artist who needs Shadow as a bodyguard, but is in fact the god Odin. Wednesday is making his way across America, gathering all the old gods, who have now incorporated themselves into American life, to confront the New Gods, including Media (Gillian Anderson) and Technical Boy (Bruce Langley), who grow stronger.

(Excerpt from Wikipedia)

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 24 2017, 12:06 AM
TSMov_freak
post May 24 2017, 12:04 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Season 01 Episode 01

Paint me intrigue.

Based on Neil Gaiman's book and originally, HBO wanted to developed this and have to add they fail to get the script right.

Starz took over and here is the product.

Very Bloody and VERY Atmospheric

There is plenty of stuff here to keep me interested.

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 24 2017, 08:33 AM
gabriel.l
post May 24 2017, 12:07 AM

479 posts

Nice series to watch, just don't watch it with your kids.
TSMov_freak
post May 24 2017, 12:08 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(gabriel.l @ May 24 2017, 12:07 AM)
Nice series to watch, just don't watch it with your kids.
Correct and stated in my comment, very bloody and apparently there are .... "adult situations" in the series as well.
6so
post May 24 2017, 02:05 PM

121 posts

If you are still at lost with what the hell is going on???
Here are the official after show recap with the actors and creator talking about what you've just watched.

Then you have this rather informative breakdown on the lores behind the characters.

Down the road you just need to be prepared to do after show research cause the book itself didn't really explain a lot of things clearly. It's the re-read and wikipedia research that connects the dots in regard to the identity of the old gods. Pay extra close attention to Mr.Wednesday, usually his smart aleck quippings that felt like a lie usually is that one thing to take seriously.
TSMov_freak
post May 24 2017, 02:27 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 24 2017, 02:05 PM)
Pay extra close attention to Mr.Wednesday, usually his smart aleck quippings that felt like a lie usually is that one thing to take seriously.
Erm... he is

6so
post May 24 2017, 02:37 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 24 2017, 03:27 PM)
Erm... he is

His identity is not the biggest plot detail. It's someone that you don't think of at the moment. They already drop a very important player in the first episode but I doubt he will appear for the rest of the season. When the main event happens then you will see the brilliance of it.
TSMov_freak
post May 24 2017, 02:58 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 24 2017, 02:37 PM)
His identity is not the biggest plot detail. It's someone that you don't think of at the moment. They already drop a very important player in the first episode but I doubt he will appear for the rest of the season. When the main event happens then you will see the brilliance of it.
Okay

Like everyone else, I only have 24 hours a day

I only managed episode one yesterday

Will keep you guys posted as I go along
8adele
post May 24 2017, 06:33 PM

upto episode 4, enjoyable, but how is it connects to the real world of US regarding to immigration confused.gif

This post has been edited by 8adele: May 24 2017, 06:45 PM
vivienne85
post May 24 2017, 11:45 PM

360 posts

Like the storyline and some of their scenes look like they are out from noir graphic novels thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
And yes, I Wiki-ed a lot of those characters when watching the series
Those adult scenes are interesting brows.gif brows.gif
noir7559
post May 25 2017, 08:59 AM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

Ian McShane is awesome as always, one of the reason i'd follow this new series

but so far Orlando Jones definitely stole the show with his limited time appearances...what an awesome speech in that Dutch's slave ship

Peter Stormare was great too...u know shit gonna get real when he stare at ya with his "killing intent" looks laugh.gif
6so
post May 25 2017, 09:41 AM

121 posts

For me personally do watch watch out Media, she's my favourite in the book. Gillian Anderson has reached the status of "I will watch her in anything". Also next episode is the debut of Mr.World the leader of the new gods. Some weird characterization guaranteed by Crispin Glover.
atong
post May 26 2017, 06:11 AM

93 posts

stop watched at the gay scene. beh tahan liao
+Newbie+
post May 28 2017, 07:57 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

Hyper stylized. Fearless. Humor. Twists and turns. Great mythos. So far so good I should say.
SUSFlizzardo
post May 28 2017, 10:09 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

its getting more and more interesting! but only 8 episodes for season 1? damn
6so
post May 29 2017, 10:36 PM

121 posts

Media is the bomb.Ziggy Stardust and Marilyn Monroe impersonation really stood out for me.To be fair Mr.World not too shabby at all.They present the conflict has more urgency and dynamic in comparison to the book.All in all a thoroughly engaging episode.Dead Laura pretty sweet as well.
torreto
post Jun 4 2017, 05:17 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 24 2017, 02:37 PM)
Low key ? brows.gif
6so
post Jun 5 2017, 03:22 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Jun 4 2017, 06:17 PM)
Low key ?  brows.gif
Huh...Who is Low Key???laugh.gif
Me see no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil.biggrin.gif
MohdPuskas
post Jun 5 2017, 04:09 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(atong @ May 26 2017, 06:11 AM)
stop watched at the gay scene. beh tahan liao
Why ? You gay and turn on by the scene ?
wodenus
post Jun 5 2017, 04:29 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Seems boring to me.. didn't much like the book either.

0.0186sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:51 PM