Buying used gaming pc

TSjc120208
post May 23 2017, 06:15 PM, updated 7y ago

131 posts

Hi

Noob here. Planning to get a used gaming PC

But was considering about the 'longetivity' or life span of it.

I mean gamers would at times push it to the max when gaming (overclock, systems heat etc) as compared to a normal daily usage PC

So was wondering about the wear and tear of those parts.

Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks.
TSjc120208
post May 23 2017, 06:24 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(terry5285 @ May 23 2017, 06:22 PM)
if considering about life span, dun get used PC. Get new.

better and faster
Limited budget bro.
And also I can help out to those who wana let go their used rig so they can upgrade to better toys. Haha
ifourtos
post May 23 2017, 06:39 PM

1,884 posts

Xeon 1231v3
16gb ddr3
Gtx 970
Gigabyte h97D

All petg hard tubing custom loop water cooling
Gpu and cpu

SSD 256GB

This post has been edited by ifourtos: May 23 2017, 06:39 PM
TSjc120208
post May 23 2017, 06:48 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(terry5285 @ May 23 2017, 06:26 PM)
maybe u can mention out which game you gonna play, how much budget etc. let the pro reply u which rig u should go and get.
I want to play shooter / 3rd person games. For a start i wanna play games like Batman Arkham Knight

Budget 2k+
Something like this https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4281093&hl=

But as I mentioned, wondering about the used gaming PC's life span lo

This post has been edited by jc120208: May 23 2017, 06:49 PM
TSjc120208
post May 23 2017, 06:49 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ May 23 2017, 06:39 PM)
Xeon 1231v3
16gb ddr3
Gtx 970
Gigabyte h97D

All petg hard tubing custom loop water cooling
Gpu and cpu

SSD 256GB
Not looking to build one. Looking to buy a used one.
Lurker
post May 23 2017, 07:05 PM

L U R K I N G
4,285 posts

All based on trust - if u believe your seller
And

Luck-electronics can fail anytime after warranty period for numerous reasons
ifourtos
post May 23 2017, 07:26 PM

1,884 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ May 23 2017, 06:49 PM)
Not looking to build one. Looking to buy a used one.
This is my rig
I m offering one

Whats ur budget
TSjc120208
post May 23 2017, 07:32 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ May 23 2017, 07:26 PM)
This is my rig
I m offering one

Whats ur budget
Oh ok ok.
Mentioned earlier. Around 2k je. Can do?
bangaubagus
post May 24 2017, 08:44 AM

193 posts

Just hunt from garage sales.
For 2k you can build good ivy bridge setup (i5 2500) onward.

Honestly i think longevity is relative, it is all depend on luck.

*edit - The one you link is superb, if i in the hunt, i would grab that. plug n play already

This post has been edited by bangaubagus: May 24 2017, 08:45 AM
TSjc120208
post May 24 2017, 09:11 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(bangaubagus @ May 24 2017, 08:44 AM)
Just hunt from garage sales.
For 2k you can build good ivy bridge setup (i5 2500) onward.

Honestly i think longevity is relative, it is all depend on luck.

*edit - The one you link is superb, if i in the hunt, i would grab that. plug n play already
Thanks bro. I did some research and noticed that motherboard is abit old. Since 2011

Can you and other sifus help me to choose which is the best buy for these. Within my budget.

1.) https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=278&t=4296286
2.) https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=278&t=4286241

This post has been edited by jc120208: May 24 2017, 11:19 AM
bangaubagus
post May 24 2017, 12:14 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ May 24 2017, 09:11 AM)
Thanks bro. I did some research and noticed that motherboard is abit old. Since 2011

Can you and other sifus help me to choose which is the best buy for these. Within my budget.

1.) https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=278&t=4296286
2.) https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=278&t=4286241

Definitely the 2nd one, however gpu is a bit off, but acceptable to current standard, you can upgrade later on.
TSjc120208
post May 24 2017, 12:22 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(bangaubagus @ May 24 2017, 12:14 PM)
Definitely the 2nd one, however gpu is a bit off, but acceptable to current standard, you can upgrade later on.
Oh. I was leaning towards the first one

Why the second one better?
bangaubagus
post May 24 2017, 12:29 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ May 24 2017, 12:22 PM)
Oh. I was leaning towards the first one

Why the second one better?
proc : i5 4670K rm600 - Oveclockable CPU, which mean price drop is smaller
mobo : Maximus Impact Z87 rm500 - Asus top mobo, ull have most features here, albeit itx
RAM : Kingston Fury 1866Mhz 8GB DDR3 x 1 (RED) rm250
GPU : MSI Gaming GTX 960 2GB rm500
SSD : LiteON mSata 128GB with 2.5inch enclosure rm150 - super fast boot
HDD : WD Green 2TB rm200 - 2tb is humongeous size
PSU : Thermaltake SE 750w rm200 - 750w mean this PSU will last longer
Cooling : 2 x ID Cooling Fan (RED) + ID Cooling Cooler SE214x (NEW) rm100

I would buy this, if i got money now lol
TSjc120208
post May 24 2017, 12:42 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(bangaubagus @ May 24 2017, 12:29 PM)
proc : i5 4670K rm600 - Oveclockable CPU, which mean price drop is smaller
mobo : Maximus Impact Z87 rm500 -  Asus top mobo, ull have most features here, albeit itx
RAM : Kingston Fury 1866Mhz 8GB DDR3 x 1 (RED) rm250
GPU : MSI Gaming GTX 960 2GB rm500
SSD : LiteON mSata 128GB with 2.5inch enclosure rm150 - super fast boot
HDD : WD Green 2TB rm200 - 2tb is humongeous size
PSU : Thermaltake SE 750w rm200 - 750w mean this PSU will last longer
Cooling : 2 x ID Cooling Fan (RED) + ID Cooling Cooler SE214x (NEW) rm100

I would buy this, if i got money now lol
But the other one is i7 and with GTX 970. Better gaming performance no?
Overall asking price is lower some more. Haha
bangaubagus
post May 24 2017, 12:45 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ May 24 2017, 12:42 PM)
But the other one is i7 and with GTX 970. Better gaming performance no?
Overall asking price is lower some more. Haha
Yeah in you do not intent to OC the cpu, but overall look of your pc will be different. Believe me on this. TBH go and checkout asus website on mobo looks and casing. It is important too.
TSjc120208
post May 24 2017, 12:48 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(bangaubagus @ May 24 2017, 12:45 PM)
Yeah in you do not intent to OC the cpu, but overall look of your pc will be different. Believe me on this. TBH go and checkout asus website on mobo looks and casing. It is important too.
Ya noob. Dont intend the OC
The look? So you are talking about cosmetic now ah bro?
bangaubagus
post May 24 2017, 01:06 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ May 24 2017, 12:48 PM)
Ya noob. Dont intend the OC
The look? So you are talking about cosmetic now ah bro?
Yes, i used to have i5 6500 with MSI B150 Bazooka. Sold both cuz i want mobo that looks better.

zorbyss.
post May 25 2017, 02:33 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

QUOTE(bangaubagus @ May 24 2017, 01:06 PM)
Yes, i used to have i5 6500 with MSI B150 Bazooka. Sold both cuz i want mobo that looks better.
But for only 2k. I would suggest to go for performance first. You can also upgrade later. eg add LED, custom sleeved cables.
I think what he can do for cosmetic now is just casing. biggrin.gif
abubin
post May 25 2017, 03:18 PM

10,423 posts

well in another word, TS is looking for best bang for bucks which everyone is doing when they buy something.

Here are some advice:
1) if possible get all the parts in a bundle. Not separately. Cause sometimes when you assemble used parts, it will have compatibility issue. Getting them all from previous seller in working condition is best.
2) longetivity is how great a system you can get with your 2k.
3) get at least an i5
4) get at least a gtx960
5) reserve some extra cash for buying new SSD and new keyboard/mouse

TSjc120208
post May 25 2017, 06:01 PM

131 posts

Edited

This post has been edited by jc120208: May 30 2017, 02:34 PM