Fat-Tailed Gerbils! V1, Come and be a part of our family!

blurjoey
post Dec 28 2007, 10:08 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Wondering where to get healthy fat-tails instead of those big pet shops...

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Dec 28 2007, 10:36 AM
blurjoey
post Jan 1 2008, 11:05 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

What is the lifespan of a duprasi? Is it same like hamster? 2-3 years?
blurjoey
post Jan 4 2008, 09:05 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

What size wheels can duprasi use?
blurjoey
post Jan 4 2008, 11:46 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Rena,

Can you post some pics of his habitat there? I want to get a rough idea on what is required. Planning to get a duprasi from Reanna later.
blurjoey
post Jan 7 2008, 05:01 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

The pet shop in Giant Cheras have told me that the price for gerbils have doubled to RM400-500 shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif The owner said can order for me if I want shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif But I think it's the mongolian gerbil she is mentioning not fat-tails.

Reanne: March 2008 ar? Keep me posted. Should have saved enough for the fat-tail and it's new home.

This is what I compiled for fat-tail:
- 2 feet tank or zoozone1 (since fat-tail can't jump like their cousins the mongolian gerbils then can get the zoozone1 due to the cover with bars on top about 2cm wide)
- Drift wood
- Prestige Hamster
- Beddings (BC or the Aspen I bought from Foo)
- Ceramic bowls x2 (1 for food and 1 for bathing sand)
- Bathing Sand
- PVC T-pipe or ceramic/wooden house
- Water bottle
- Sanko wild 21cm silent wheel (optional)

Er... Hope I didn't miss anything...

Not yet calculate meal worms and fresh veges and fruits. Can they eat dog food like hamsters?

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 7 2008, 05:13 PM
blurjoey
post Jan 7 2008, 05:38 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

I am getting from you but need to relieve the wallet first. Wait. Can get everything in my list from you ar?

Not Giant itself but the shops underneath it. There are 2 pet shops there. We bought a black banded syrian there. We saw the owner does play with the pets there.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 7 2008, 05:38 PM
blurjoey
post Jan 7 2008, 05:50 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

I thought you meant can get everything from you... Kakaka... tongue.gif
blurjoey
post Jan 9 2008, 08:55 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Then I should take the wheel out then. Save $$$.

Which brand of dog food do you recommend? I'm not sure as I'm a noob to dogs.

I've recently bought 2 packs of aspen from Foo so I think there should be enough. What about BC? Not good? Haven't scout for the PVC pipes yet.

I don't think sangels will touch the crickets or mealworms or superworms. Hahaha...
blurjoey
post Jan 9 2008, 12:03 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

We been searching for the sample dog food Joan gave but all the packs are so huge! Bigger than a pack of Prestige Hamster. Didn't dare to buy as we don't have dogs to give the food to...

Currently we have aspen, corncob, timothy hay and recycle paper bedding available to use. Was thinking of getting BC but sangels said we already have too much bedding.

blurjoey
post Feb 20 2008, 11:51 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 20 2008, 04:19 PM)
Wahhaa... Announcement! 3 little wrigglies were born yesterday! By Pokey and Brewsky. They're both the active and smaller line, the other line no results yet.
Congrats rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
blurjoey
post May 28 2008, 11:19 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Reanne,

Can duprasi eat Foo's smoothie?
blurjoey
post Jun 3 2008, 10:29 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

kelvin_faye,

We never have mogolian gerbils for pets before so we are not sure it is better than their cousins or not.

Anyway its a new feel cause duprasi is totally different from syrian hamsters. Still learning.

blurjoey
post Jun 3 2008, 11:15 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 3 2008, 10:59 AM)
Different rite? Hehehe.... your Echo dunno full grown or not but very cute.
Very different. The fella don't eat as much as syrian. Just nibble here and there only. Tried the mealworms and Echo just walk on them to death sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif Anyway will try to get crickets. I wonder how much in fish shops are selling crickets. Sangels will running around with the crickets around. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Do they eat dog food? Don't think will be getting any cat food as we got to feed syrians also with it. I read that duprasi if too much high water content veges and fruits will give them diarrhea. So not sure how much vege or fruits to give Echo. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

I'm also not sure if he is fully grown or not. I wonder Reanne can help us with this.
blurjoey
post Jun 3 2008, 11:26 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

How many crickets can a duprasi eat a day?

Offtopic - Can syrian eat crickets too? Since got 25 to 30 crickets for RM1.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 3 2008, 11:27 AM
blurjoey
post Jun 3 2008, 11:07 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jun 3 2008, 09:18 PM)
if you keep crickets at home, they will sing together for you every night sangels.. laugh.gif
you can keep them in sound proof container..lol Jk
Sound proof container also means air tight container. So in the end all the crickets will be dead before can feed to the duprasi sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
blurjoey
post Jun 10 2008, 02:37 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Need to ask. Whenever I stick my finger into Echo's hideout to get him out, he will grab my finger and bite it. Not sure why but it's happening every time. Tried with forceps he will also grab and bite.

blurjoey
post Jun 10 2008, 03:02 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

No wonder. Sangels also got bitten by him.

Now I would just pour him out of his hideout the Ikea kitchen pot.
blurjoey
post Jun 10 2008, 04:34 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Jun 10 2008, 03:47 PM)
Where do you buy the kayu thing?
The driftwood? Bought from Pets Family for less than RM10.

Added on June 10, 2008, 5:24 pmHun and Reanne,

How often should we feed Echo his crickets?

Sometimes he eats them. Sometimes he play with them until they die and don't eat them. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 10 2008, 05:24 PM
blurjoey
post Jun 10 2008, 07:36 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Jun 10 2008, 06:42 PM)
Yea, may i know wheres Pets Family? Going to KL soon.
Check the pet shops thread for the address.

It's in Taman Megah PJ.
blurjoey
post Jul 2 2008, 10:27 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Nice setup. I also want to change the plastic 2 feet tank to a glass tank but scared it's too heavy when cleaning. Where you get the drift wood?

I'm scared you will be changing the bottle and the food bowl soon as duprasi like to chew on things. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 2 2008, 10:28 PM

0.0377sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:04 AM