Fat tail gerbils.... damn poisoning. I got 2 from Reanne, you can ask her if she has anymore. I love how they don't smell and how squishy and sausage-like their tails are.
Fat-Tailed Gerbils! V1, Come and be a part of our family!
Dec 28 2007, 10:18 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
Fat tail gerbils.... damn poisoning. I got 2 from Reanne, you can ask her if she has anymore. I love how they don't smell and how squishy and sausage-like their tails are.
Dec 29 2007, 01:16 PM
Here are some cute pics of my Pumpkin@Fei Poh
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jan 5 2008, 12:24 AM
Hhaha... you all poisoned liao.
I think Rena's Habitat got little wooden houses heheheh. Mine, I use drift wood and my duprasi Fei Poh and Fei Chai loves it. They climb, gnaw and sleep on the drift wood. Fei Poh likes to pose like Lion King on her piece of wood hahaha. Duprasi never smell. My tank never smells at all. They love sand bath and will roll and roll in the sand. They do not need a wheel.... there is a chance that they will chew it up into pieces. |
Jan 8 2008, 01:37 PM
Duprasi for RM400? A Mongolian for Rm400? LOL... that price is cacat already. Try and not get from shops, coz they aren't really healthy and who knows how old they are anyway.....
Sales, go to Reanne's thread, don't discuss here. |
Jan 9 2008, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 9 2008, 08:55 AM) Then I should take the wheel out then. Save $$$. You can take away the wheel from your check list. Both my duprasis chew plastic..... Which brand of dog food do you recommend? I'm not sure as I'm a noob to dogs. I've recently bought 2 packs of aspen from Foo so I think there should be enough. What about BC? Not good? Haven't scout for the PVC pipes yet. I don't think sangels will touch the crickets or mealworms or superworms. Hahaha... Dogfood, you can actually buy Orijen, or go Pet Shack lah, ask got any good quality samples or not. Coz you don't need much as they mostly sell at 1kg to 3kg for starter packs. Or you can always get Royal Canin small packs, that's like 500g or 400g for the cat variety, also suitable for them. BC is ok.... but they love lots of hay. My Fei Poh and Fei Chai really make nest using their hay, looks so cozy and really looks like those rounded arm chair look hahaha.... see I can take a pic or not. Corn cobs is ok, with Aspen, is great! BC is good too as I do mix with my shavings and corncob. Ah, give crickets, they love it so much. I like to see both of mine hunt for their crickets. |
May 28 2008, 11:24 PM
Can. Duprasi can eat veggies just like hamsters and gerbils. But they love mealworms and crickets more since they require more protein than hamsters.
Jun 1 2008, 11:47 AM
Heheh... cute cute. Now you have a fat tail.
Go aquarium shop and get a nice piece of drift wood. My female sleeps on her drift wood while my male sleeps under the driftwood. |
Jun 1 2008, 11:58 AM
The bathing sand is alright. Sometimes they would pee in the sand but rarely for me. They are not like hamsters loh. But no smell! I change my bedding like once in 3 weeks.... they love wood shavings so no choice, have to use wood shavings for them but really odourless and they pee very little compared to hamsters. Fat tails require more protein so need more mealworms and crickets. I saw your lil Echo yesterday, but then when you arrive, I had to leave liao.
Jun 1 2008, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(sangels @ Jun 1 2008, 12:02 PM) Oic. I thought I'll see you too as you said you'll be there. I can feed him mealworms but Reanne he don't really like mealworms but crickets, but I'm afraid of it Ahhh...normally they like crickets better. You gotta try and catch them. Just use hand hahah... but forceps also ok lah. Just catch and put in the tank.Your fat tail got a tail with fur... smooth fur. My fat tail, according to Reanne, they are different line or subspecies... so mine have pink more naked tails LOL. |
Jun 3 2008, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(sangels @ Jun 1 2008, 12:21 PM) Naked tails??? That's interesting. Anyway, I love Echo's tail, I touch and play with it's tail and he have no response and just let me play, sooo...cute Mine don't eat alot as well. Their appetite is not like hamster coz they got a fat reserve mah. Their tail is fat to help to keep them alive if there is no food or water around. As long your Echo's tail is always fat, you no need to worry much. Just put a bowl of food in and let it be. They love crickets more loh. Mine sometimes would eat veggie.I really no courage to catch those crickets by hand... Maybe can try with gloves on... Wonder Fat-Tailed can go gai gai with us? Hamters will get stress if travel, how about Echo? Can I bring him to go out to places like Ikano today? Added on June 3, 2008, 12:43 amJust wonder, how come Echo eat so little? He seems do not eat.... I'm worried... how can I pump him to be bigger and fatter or he is already fully grow? Thanks for the answer in advance. QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 3 2008, 08:09 AM) Wow, finally u get a duprasi liao.. congrats lo.. so, hows the new fell behaving?? syok r?? better than gerbils not? Different from normal gerbils. Duprasi got longer life span, 7 years ah.... then different line/subspecies will have different personality. My 2 are the bigger variety, so they don't struggle when I hold them. I can hold them for more than an hour in my palm and it won't move. Normal mongolian gerbil don't like to be handled so long. Duprasi needs to eat more protein than mongolian gerbils, so need more mealworms and crickets.QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 3 2008, 10:29 AM) kelvin_faye, Different rite? Hehehe.... your Echo dunno full grown or not but very cute.We never have mogolian gerbils for pets before so we are not sure it is better than their cousins or not. Anyway its a new feel cause duprasi is totally different from syrian hamsters. Still learning. |
Jun 3 2008, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 3 2008, 11:15 AM) Very different. The fella don't eat as much as syrian. Just nibble here and there only. Tried the mealworms and Echo just walk on them to death Some duprasis don't eat mealworms. Mine actually like crickets more as well.Do they eat dog food? Don't think will be getting any cat food as we got to feed syrians also with it. I read that duprasi if too much high water content veges and fruits will give them diarrhea. So not sure how much vege or fruits to give Echo. I'm also not sure if he is fully grown or not. I wonder Reanne can help us with this. Shop sells RM1 for 25 to 30 crickets. Yes, can eat dogfood too. About fruits and veggie.... you really need to limit. I would say keep it to leafy veggies, and for fruits, better just give those high in fiber like apple. |
Jun 3 2008, 11:42 AM
Can... but I think syrian won't be so happy with crickets LOL. Remember must gutload but use veggie and dogfood to gutload crickets.
You can give a few a day. 3 to 5 a day, depends on how many echo wants to eat. I only feed crickets twice or once a week since I never buy daily. |
Jun 8 2008, 07:25 PM
eheh... Echo is cute. If you didn't come, I think I would kidnapped him hehehe.
I hold crickets and mealworms using my fingers. So used to it. They don't feel icky at all. |
Jun 10 2008, 02:50 PM
This is normal coz they are quite territorial. I dunno bout Reanne but for me, when I wanna get my 2 duprasis out, I will use a cup to pick them up. If I put my fingers or forceps, they also would bite it.
Jun 12 2008, 10:04 PM
I feed twice a week coz my cricket supply don't last. Sometimes I feed once a week hahaha.... I buy Rm6 of crickets, and in 1 day RM6 habis.
Jul 2 2008, 10:32 PM
Hahah... glass is heavy. I can barely wash mine. I just do an occasional wiping with a wet cloth.
Drift wood, big ones can get from shops that really are into planted tanks. I think Natural Aquatic at SS19 got alot, but the bigger and nicer shape it is, the higher the price. Yah, food bowl gotta change. I also lost many bottles..... |
Jul 2 2008, 10:49 PM
You need to put more hay. And try and put your drift wood in a way that it got look like a cave. They actually prefer to hide in things.... so I make my driftwood look like cave.
Yah, your piece is a great bargain. The shop near my place all various prices. Small ones Rm5, big ones RM15.... curvy ones got different price. Added on July 2, 2008, 10:52 pmThe red bowl glass meh? Mine is plastic wor.... coz I got similar looking bowl. This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jul 2 2008, 10:52 PM |
Jul 4 2008, 09:32 PM
My fat tails love hay. Would chew and use the hay to build nest to sleep.
Aug 30 2009, 11:28 PM
Fat tails enjoy insects. That's how they gain their bulk.
Dec 2 2009, 09:54 PM
Bring to a vet. If the tail shrinks, that is a bad sign already.
| Change to: | 0.0235sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:03 AM |