Choosing Life Insurance, Advice Please!!!

light0range
post Nov 24 2014, 06:11 PM

70 posts

sifu @wongmungkeong & @wild_card_my, any opinions on perkeso / SOCSO as replacement for Life/TPD insurance? I honestly have not much info, but the following is my situation and why I am considering to subscribe to perkeso

I am single, 27, non smoker, a bit overweight, working in oil & gas, no dependence (do give ~RM 500 to my mom a month for expenses but I have 3 other working siblings & my mom has a village house no loan etc), I also have an MRTA 400k home loan which I believe sorts of leaving behind that much (not liquid) money behind if/when I die. Some EPF also after 5 years of working, should be enough for short term.

As mentioned, working in O&G, good company medical card & coverage, so I have yet to get any medical card or insurance. That also puts me in high risk occupation (go offshore/on site). Last I checked with an agent that means I have to pay around twice of other office workers for same coverage.

Bottom line, should I subscribe for SOCSO & should I also look into life/ TPD of conventional insurance as well? I am just starting to increase my savings beyond the emergency fund right now. Any flaws in my assumption & potential trap/risk, disadvantages of SOCSO etc, thank you very much

0.0256sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:10 PM