24,453 posts

QUOTE(ngweiyang @ Sep 7 2017, 09:22 AM)
I am also considering upgrading my TV Box from MaxQ to one of the following:

Egreat A10
Egreat A5
MINIX X8H PLUS 4K Android TV BOX
Himedia H8 Octa-core 3D4K Android TV BOX
Himedia Q1 Quad Core 3D4K Android TV BOX

Which one do you all think is suitable for a 65" 4K TV?

I appreciate your help very much and thank you in advance.
to get the "best picture", u need great source->great player->great tv.

and great AVR for great audio.

advertised specs may appear the same but the devil is in the details.

choice of box can also depend on what else u r looking for besides playback - streaming apps, networking, utilities...

can also read pages 1-2 here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4200167
ngweiyang
post Sep 7 2017, 01:54 PM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 7 2017, 11:19 AM)
to get the "best picture", u need great source->great player->great tv.

and great AVR for great audio.

advertised specs may appear the same but the devil is in the details.

choice of box can also depend on what else u r looking for besides playback - streaming apps, networking, utilities...

can also read pages 1-2 here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4200167

This post has been edited by ngweiyang: Sep 11 2017, 11:20 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 7 2017, 02:19 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(ngweiyang @ Sep 7 2017, 01:54 PM)
Thanks. I am only keen for great playback experience as I really enjoy watching movie. Other criteria like streaming is secondary to me.
ok.

it is hard for most people to comment on which one on a list or your list is best for you.

becos most people use only 1 box, haven't used the others, can't really say much.

u can google to read expert reviews or consult sellers.

or read the individual box threads and ask detail questions.

i would ask about picture quality, autoframe switch, bluray menu, audio capabilities, etc. - these are impt for large high grade videos.

anyway, this is Egreat thread, let's not derail it.

ngweiyang
post Sep 7 2017, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 7 2017, 02:19 PM)
ok.

it is hard for most people to comment on which one on a list or your list is best for you.

becos most people use only 1 box, haven't used the others, can't really say much.

u can google to read expert reviews or consult sellers.

or read the individual box threads and ask detail questions.

i would ask about picture quality, autoframe switch, bluray menu, audio capabilities, etc. - these are impt for large high grade videos.
anyway, this is Egreat thread, let's not derail it.
ok thanks
ngweiyang
post Sep 11 2017, 02:46 PM

Just got an A5, very happy with the product.

Just a question. I already successfully connected to WIFI and Internet. Why the movie poster download was not successful? I can see it tries to download to populate the poster wall, but always and never successful. Thanks for your help.
Fusion
post Sep 11 2017, 04:05 PM

.:ATI:.
1,201 posts

for the A10, can we use Astro Go with this unit?
AVFAN
post Sep 12 2017, 11:07 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(ngweiyang @ Sep 11 2017, 02:46 PM)
Just got an A5, very happy with the product.

Egreat... i would hv thought u will go for the latest A11!

for anyone's reference - a quick comparison... egreat, zidoo, himedia.
http://www.futeko.com/navpage/media-box-comparison.php

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 12 2017, 11:07 AM
ngweiyang
post Sep 12 2017, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 12 2017, 11:07 AM)
Egreat... i would hv thought u will go for the latest A11!

for anyone's reference - a quick comparison... egreat, zidoo, himedia.
Is ok, A5 at affordable price mah. In future, can always upgrade to A11.

Anyone knows how I can overcome the poster wall population issue? Thanks.
AVFAN
post Sep 12 2017, 01:21 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(ngweiyang @ Sep 12 2017, 01:11 PM)
Is ok, A5 at affordable price mah. In future, can always upgrade to A11.

Anyone knows how I can overcome the poster wall population issue? Thanks.
that feature, i hv read about it.

but no, i don't know it, can't help.

will need someone using same egreat to comment...
Fusion
post Sep 21 2017, 10:21 AM

1,201 posts

i just got the Egreat A5 and i am facing several issues

1. when i use 4K24, i could not select YCBCR 4:4:4 10 bit. i am only allow to use 10bit wheni view 1080P resolution. any way to select 10bit for 4K?

2. i encounter micro stuttering when i play certain files especially 10bit encoding files. all files and played using USB3.0 external hdd. Anyone facing similar issue?

3. The player would hang when i try the option (Force 3D)

Anyone is facing such problem?
puchongite
post Sep 21 2017, 10:31 AM

33,608 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Sep 21 2017, 10:21 AM)

1. when i use 4K24, i could not select YCBCR 4:4:4 10 bit. i am only allow to use 10bit wheni view 1080P resolution. any way to select 10bit for 4K?

2. i encounter micro stuttering when i play certain files especially 10bit encoding files. all files and played using USB3.0 external hdd. Anyone facing similar issue?

May I know which player software you are using ?

Fusion
post Sep 21 2017, 10:39 AM

1,201 posts

i am using the beta firmware 1.2.3.9.
AVFAN
post Sep 21 2017, 01:19 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Sep 21 2017, 10:31 AM)
May I know which player software you are using ?
he is using egreat box native player.
some brands have their own player - egreat, zidoo, himedia.
others dun hv, use kodi, customized kodi, mx, vlc.
the generic free players are obviously not as good as the native or customized ones.

QUOTE(Fusion @ Sep 21 2017, 10:21 AM)
i do not hv egreat but a himedia q10pro.
egreat A and himedia Q series use the same HiSilicon 3798CV200 chipset.
same soc, native player with imprex v2 engine, DTSX, HDR10 capable.
diff is the firmware.

i hv no problem setting to ycbcr 444 10bit when base setting is 2160p 24hz.
try to set to 2160p 60hz first, see if that allows u to do ycbcr444 10bit.
if not, can try ycbcr420 10bit where u will not lose anything real.

if u encounter mircostuttering, likely cause is the autoframe switching not working or not turned on.
this will happen if the setting is 24hz and video is 25 or 30hz.
there should be a place where u turn on "auto frame adaptation".

lastly, check firmware updates.
it is possible latest firmwares, incl android7 based have removed some bugs.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 21 2017, 01:25 PM
Fusion
post Sep 21 2017, 04:35 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2017, 01:19 PM)
he is using egreat box native player.
some brands have their own player - egreat, zidoo, himedia.
others dun hv, use kodi, customized kodi, mx, vlc.
the generic free players are obviously not as good as the native or customized ones.
i do not hv egreat but a himedia q10pro.
egreat A and himedia Q series use the same HiSilicon 3798CV200 chipset.
same soc, native player with imprex v2 engine, DTSX, HDR10 capable.
diff is the firmware.

i hv no problem setting to ycbcr 444 10bit when base setting is 2160p 24hz.
try to set to 2160p 60hz first, see if that allows u to do ycbcr444 10bit.
if not, can try ycbcr420 10bit where u will not lose anything real.

if u encounter mircostuttering, likely cause is the autoframe switching not working or not turned on.
this will happen if the setting is 24hz and video is 25 or 30hz.
there should be a place where u turn on "auto frame adaptation".

lastly, check firmware updates.
it is possible latest firmwares, incl android7 based have removed some bugs.
Bro...thanks for the reply.

i think i will go with the YCBCR420 10 Bit. i agree that we would not lose much by using 4:2:0 as all 4k Blu ray are coded in 4:2:0 sampling anyway.

i will try out the auto frame adaptation later tonight and see if it works.

another problem i face is the image is much darker when i play 4k HDR BDMV compares to 1080P BDMV.

my JVC supports HDR and i tried the projector using OPPO and it doesnt have this problem. is the Himedia image darker when you view HDR material?

AVFAN
post Sep 21 2017, 04:58 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Sep 21 2017, 04:35 PM)
Bro...thanks for the reply.

i think i will go with the YCBCR420 10 Bit. i agree that we would not lose much by using 4:2:0 as all 4k Blu ray are coded in 4:2:0 sampling anyway.

i will try out the auto frame adaptation later tonight and see if it works.

another problem i face is the image is much darker when i play 4k HDR BDMV compares to 1080P BDMV.

my JVC supports HDR and i tried the projector using OPPO and it doesnt have this problem. is the Himedia image darker when you view HDR material?
Those snapshots... from The Martxxx?

I hv that, not so dark.

But i am not impressed with those so called 4k hdr bdmv.

Becos i do not believe anyone has fully cracked aacs2.0.

Lets not discuss these too much as they are illegit stuff. tongue.gif
Fusion
post Sep 21 2017, 05:55 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2017, 04:58 PM)
Those snapshots... from The Martxxx?

I hv that, not so dark.

But i am not impressed with those so called 4k hdr bdmv.

Becos i do not believe anyone has fully cracked aacs2.0.

Lets not discuss these too much as they are illegit stuff. tongue.gif
understood.... tongue.gif tongue.gif

then should be that issue because i dont find this issue watching Netflix HDR or original Bluray
sonerin
post Sep 21 2017, 06:20 PM

8,739 posts

Just chipping in, I am playing back from oppo with 4k media file and the same issue of shuttering and colour is totally off. When play back ori disc is all perfect
puchongite
post Sep 21 2017, 08:55 PM

33,608 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Sep 21 2017, 06:20 PM)
Just chipping in, I am playing back from oppo with 4k media file and the same issue of shuttering and colour is totally off. When play back ori disc is all perfect
Oppo is not a good benchmark. Dedicated media boxes are supposed to be more capable than a general purpose handphone, especially when the phone is not making a claim to be able to handle 4k media.
sonerin
post Sep 21 2017, 08:56 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Sep 21 2017, 08:55 PM)
Oppo is not a good benchmark. Dedicated media boxes are supposed to be more capable than a general purpose handphone, especially when the phone is not making a claim to be able to handle 4k media.
Sorry I am confuse, what phone ? I am using my oppo 203 as media player.
puchongite
post Sep 21 2017, 10:18 PM

33,608 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Sep 21 2017, 08:56 PM)
Sorry I am confuse, what phone ? I am using my oppo 203 as media player.
Haha tot you refer to oppo phone.

Oppo 203 media player is unable to handle it then you have been over sold on the box already. wink.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0260sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:10 PM