Rakuten Trade, A new online trading platform
Kar Weng
Dec 20 2017, 03:45 PM
I just opened my 1st CDS account on Rakuten and saw this forum post. Now that I know it's a nominee account that can't purchase IPO, what's the point for me?
Can I open another Direct CDS account under some other bank now that I already have a nominee CDS account with Rakuten?
Please help. Thanks in advance.
Kar Weng
Apr 12 2020, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(thecurious @ Apr 11 2020, 04:03 PM) Its cheap only if you planning to buy in large quantities of below RM 1k stocks... Any other range, its competitive at best. In your opinion what would be the best brokerage platform for trading 10k & above?
Kar Weng
Apr 12 2020, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(ywliang96 @ Apr 9 2020, 05:27 PM) Hi guys, today I login to my account and rakutentrade prompt me to input my taxpayer code. Anybody receive this? I received that too few weeks ago. Is it mandatory if we're not planning to use the contra/margin account and just want to continue with our cash upfront? I did not input anything and so far has not seen the prompt/pop up again.
Kar Weng
Apr 12 2020, 06:25 PM
I’ve been using Rakuten Trade since the end of 2017 and I just realized today that it’s not under Bursa’s list of registered brokers (trading participants) here: https://www.bursamalaysia.com/trade/trading...ng_participantsIt is said that to be 100% risk-free it’s best that your trading platform is included on the above list. In the case of an unlikely event, such as the bankruptcy of your brokerage company, at least your investment are protected (similar to how PIDM protect a bank’s customer). I understand that Kenanga Futures Sdn Bhd is in the list but it’s an entirely different company if we look at the corporate structure of Kenanga Investment Bank Bhd: https://kenanga.com.my/who-we-are/corporate-structure/How safe are we in a highly unlikely event (remember Lehman Brothers in 2008)? Any thoughts on that? Thank you in advance for any valuable input! PS: Would love to upload some images to illustrate my points but the uploading server is currently down.
Kar Weng
Apr 13 2020, 02:54 AM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 12 2020, 09:51 PM) Firstly u are using the wrong list. Trading Particpaints refer to Futures Trading brokers. For equities broker, find the list called Participating Organisations, this is where u will find all the IBs and other securities broker. Having said that Rakuten is not on the PO list too as it is not a full fledged PO. Rakuten has a special license granted by the SC, and is a JV between Kenanga IB and Rakuten Japan. How safe is ur money if this JV go bust? I think reasonably safe coz Malaysian securities laws are pretty strict when it comes to client money and shares. The same law applies to Rakuten. Also Lehman went bust because a lot of prop trading positions. Rakuten is pure execution broker. P/S I do have Rakuten account, but it's not my primary brokering acount. Thanks for the clarification. Apologies for being on the wrong list! The correct list should be here: https://www.bursamalaysia.com/trade/trading...g_organisationsAnyway, while Rakuten Trade Shd Bhd is still not on the list, its parent company KENANGA INVESTMENT BANK BHD (which is on the list above and owns 50% of RT, since it's a JV like you said) is. So from here we can conclude that we're relatively safe. May I know what is your primary trading account?
Kar Weng
Apr 13 2020, 02:55 AM
Kar Weng
Apr 22 2020, 12:58 AM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 13 2020, 03:41 PM) My main account is CGS Cimb itrade, which has global trading. Other than the ability to trade US stocks (I assume so since you mentioned global trading), what are the benefits of CIMB iTrade compared to Rakuten? What are the trading fees like in the 1k-9.999k and 10-50k tier?
Kar Weng
Apr 22 2020, 08:26 AM
Hey everyone, just being genuinely curious here. So we all know that short-selling has been suspended by Bursa temporarily until April 30th.
I’ve never done a short-sell all my life. I wrongly thought that maybe doing intraday trade without waiting for the T+2 settlement means it’s a short-sell. Just to be sure I remember calling Rakuten Trade to ask if there’s any changes I should be aware of when short-selling was suspended. The person on phone told me RT has never offered any feature to perform short-selling.
Since it seems like a popular phenomenon in Malaysia, so much so that it required a temporary suspension, what are the brokerage platforms that offer such service? Does most banks (like cimb itrade, HLe broking etc) offer this? Or is it something rather rare?
Do note that I’m not interested to do it or encouraging anyone to do it here, just something I’m wondering. Hope someone can enlighten me. Thanks!
Kar Weng
Apr 27 2020, 03:13 AM
QUOTE(ywliang96 @ Apr 24 2020, 04:22 PM) let say 30k, do u need to fill in a form or something? I never try withdrawing large amount before (30k and above) Kinda worried to keep DCA every month and not knowing about this haha Wondering about the same thing too, any sifu can clarify on this? Is the 30k withdrawal limit a daily or monthly limit? BTW if anyone new wants to create a Rakuten Trade account do PM me or drop me a message on whatsapp (much faster response) to get a referral code for free 500RT points upon activation!
Kar Weng
Apr 29 2020, 07:04 AM
QUOTE(JaniceWLV @ Apr 27 2020, 06:07 PM) So I did my first stock purchase today. Made a wee bit of profit selling back on the same day. I noticed that I can setup price alerts. But is it possible to setup a stop loss order in the system? As far as I know there's no such function in Rakuten Trade as of now.
Kar Weng
May 1 2020, 03:13 AM
QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Apr 29 2020, 02:16 PM) actually how to check the price of our stock when we 1st bought it? i forgot last time i buy time is how much. In the iSPEED app, check the average acquisition price on your portfolio by tapping on green bars directly below your "Realized / Unrealized L/P". It will toggle between different infos of the stocks you bought, one of them will be your buying price.
Kar Weng
May 1 2020, 03:14 AM
QUOTE(DjKenji @ Apr 30 2020, 11:22 PM) today after 5pm, system is under maintance till until now 11pm That's what I find REALLY annoying about Rakuten Trade. They should pick better time to do their maintenance because that's exactly when we need to check on our portfolio.
Kar Weng
May 15 2020, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(thecurious @ May 15 2020, 01:56 AM) Anyone know if we have stocks bought at different prices. Are we able to select which stocks bought at a specific price to sell first? Or is it first in first out? It becomes average acquisition price
Kar Weng
May 18 2020, 08:02 PM
Our Rakuten Trade trading platform will be undergoing enhancement for the next 2 weeks. As such, you may experience intermittent connection issues during peak periods. We deeply regret this but rest assured we are working hard to ensure a much smoother experience with our platform. Your patience and support is indeed very much appreciated. If you should experience these issues, do WA or FB message us immediately (We are trying not to tie up the phone and email lines… just in case).
DAMNNN
Kar Weng
May 19 2020, 09:20 AM
Unable to use Rakuten at all after placing order. WTF? They boast themselves as the best online trading platform and their server can't even handle a slight increase in traffic?
Kar Weng
Jun 7 2020, 09:25 AM
Forever having maintenance but never improving
Kar Weng
Jul 30 2020, 09:17 AM
 Every. Freaking. Time
Kar Weng
Jul 30 2020, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jul 30 2020, 09:11 AM) Anyone can login? Seriously la.. this rakuten really shitty Any other brokerage offer deposit on the spot? Would love to know that too
Kar Weng
Oct 29 2020, 04:06 AM
"All deposits placed with the Company are not insured under the Malaysian Deposit Insurance System or Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia (“PIDM")."
Found this on the fine print in Rakuten Trade's General T&C.
Is there any brokerage out there that offers PIDM coverage on our deposits in the trading account?
Kar Weng
Jan 29 2021, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(ehwee @ Jan 25 2021, 07:04 PM) Works well for me recently, no major networks delay occur. I heard there is some hiccup and server down for M+ users, luckily not happen on rakuten trade. Rakuten is okay as long as it doesn’t have to handle too much traffic. Tbh it’s the kind of platform you want to avoid when it’s too popular.